Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Namie Amuro – CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK/Ningyo February 15, 2009

Filed under: Namie Amuro — solarblade @ 1:15 am
Tags: , , ,

 cantsleepsanteatimsick

Track Listing

  1. CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK
  2. Ningyo
  3. CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK (Remix)
  4. CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK (Instrumental)
  5. Ningyo (Instrumental)

1. CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK

I just adore how the single opens with blaring saxes.  Namie’s trademark urban style finally begins this era’s hardcoreness with this amazing track.  There’s a lot of squeaks and rhythms that accents Namie out pretty well and her English is nice here.  It’s funny that the sax line rarely changes out for a different sound but this is such a nice, and chill track. 

2. Ningyo

Would you really have notice that it’s a cover of an old NOKKA track?  It seems very different from the usual Namie stuff we get.  It’s got such a calm and lullaby feeling and the whole arrangement is like that too.  I mean if it’s a cover of an enka track, it definitly wouldn’t come off like that.  Well, the chorus comes off like it, but other than that it’s just very dreamy and surreal.  Great cover and B-side.

3. CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK (Remix)

I honestly don’t think the A-side should’ve been given such a remix.  Trading the more jazzy urban style for a heavy electronic beat doesn’t really give the song more justice.  You still here the sax parts but it’s covered by the new parts.  Yeah, this just wasn’t that good of a remix…

 

 

This single was definitly a hot one.  The main A-side is definitly in Namie’s comfort zone and was it filled with attitude and flair.  Ningyo was definitly an interesting yet sweet listen and I’m kind of disappointed in the fact that it’s not on the album.  The remix though is forgettable though…

 

One Response to “Namie Amuro – CAN’T SLEEP, CAN’T EAT, I’M SICK/Ningyo”

  1. kineda Says:

    I like her new song Wild. Can you believe Namie was so young when she was with SuperMonkeys?
    http://japansugoi.com/wordpress/namie-amuro-with-super-monkeys-video-vault/


Leave a comment