Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

kumi – Koisuru Kimi e July 7, 2010

Filed under: kumi — solarblade @ 10:28 pm

Track Listing

  1. Kimi ni Tsutaetakute
  2. Kimi ni Massugu Koishite
  3. Zutto Itsumo Futari de feat. Momo
  4. Koishikute Aitakute Itoshikute Setsunakute
  5. Kimi Shika Mienai
  6. Dokomademo
  7. Tenohira
  8. Nagareboshi
  9. Kimi wo Wasurerarenaikara
  10. Sayonara
  11. Dare Yori mo Kimi ga, Kimi ga Suki

1. Kimi ni Tsutaetakute

So we begin the album with kumi’s debut A-side.  I still kind of can’t shake off the generic sound this song have, but I do enjoy kumi’s vocals since it’s not strange nor boring as I once thought it was.  Still, I can’t help but question this song since it’s so formulaic and just so iono bland, but at least ~I wanna be your girlfriend~ sticks out in the song hahaha.

2. Kimi ni Massugu Koishite

So I found out that the single for this song was a TSUTAYA exclusive rental single so it makes sense why it’s not mentioned on her site.  Now Kimi ni Massugu Koishite fixed up what “Kimi ni Tsutaetakute” was missing and it was some energy.  I think it’s the best song she released pre-album release and the whole strings/piano/dance mix was a nice idea for kumi and it worked.  Good song.

3. Zutto Itsumo Futari de feat. Momo

How many times do I have to review this song? x.x  Anyway, Zutto Itsumo Futari de is actually a tad bit more faster than the last song, but as the 3rd A-side released in the era, this song just kind of seems a little faster, but kept the arrangement, but that’s just me.  While it might just seem like there’s some things missing, I still think it’s a good collaboration.

4. Koishikute Aitakute Itoshikute Setsunakute

For a long title like that, I was expecting something like a ballad, but it’s just a little more softer than the last few songs but still upbeat for a song.  Yeah, once again it sounds like it could’ve been a Kana Nishino song, but I think it’s a pleasant listen and the plucks of the strings were a nice inclusion to the arrangement.  Not a bad listen at all…good new song.

5. Kimi Shika Mienai

It seems that Kimi Shika Mienai kind of slips on the album because we’re back into the R&B style that bores me to know end and I’m just not feeling this song even though the strings sound a bit sadder.  Maybe the drums stood out a bit more, but otherwise it seems to be the filler song.

6. Dokomademo

Then we leave the new songs for the B-sides on the album and they’re all together as well.  So the first one seen on the album was from “Kimi ni Tsutaetakute” and yes, it’s the happiest song so far and to me it has gotten better over time because I love the way kumi flies through the song.  I think I didn’t enjoy the amount of bass and how kumi’s vocals were treated either.  Still it’s a better B-side nowadays.

7. Tenohira

Coming from the “Zutto Itsumo 2 Nin de” single, Tenohira is the closest thing to a ballad so far.  I actually really liked kumi’s emotional performance of the song which also is another reason I’ve been liking this song quite a bit more since the single.  It’s just very dramatic and she sounds the best in this song.  Good ballad ^^

8. Nagareboshi

And finally, we get into the B-side from “Dare Yori mo Kimi ga, Kimi ga Suki”.  I actually think of all the B-sides, this one kind of remained the same for me.  I liked the way she sang the song, but somehow it feels like this style has been used already so I just seemingly forget it in the tracklist.

9. Kimi wo Wasurerarenaikara

So our next new song has more fast singing I suppose.  I do like the fact there’s a lil bit more synths involved, but it’s not near to a dance track as I would’ve hoped it would’ve been.  I’m enjoying it a bit more than the other R&B tracks found on the album, but somehow it’s kind of meh at the same time since the arrangement is slightly different.

10. Sayonara

Our last new track, Sayonara is just passable.  I mean it’s pretty bland and just sounds like a whole bunch of other R&B tracks that just doesn’t cut in my book.  There’s just nothing good that really makes the song that memorable…how sad…

11. Dare Yori mo Kimi ga, Kimi ga Suki

Ending the album off with the 2nd A-side of the era, Dare Yori mo is just like “Sayonara” as it has nothing much to give the listener what we’ve already heard so far and sadly this song kind of is falling more into the meh category since I can’t remember this song besides the music box opening.  Not the best way to end the album but it’ll do.

Tracks Recommended

  • Kimi ni Massugu Koishite
  • Tenohira
  • Koishikute Aitakute Itoshikute Setsunakute
  • Zutto Itsumo Futari de feat. Momo

Song of Avoidance

  • Sayonara

Yeah, kumi’s debut album kind of flopped for me because there wasn’t enough of a variety found on the album to make it last longer than one listen.  There are a few good songs, but they still are generic when compared to stuff from other R&B artists out there.

 

Leave a Reply

