Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Chihiro Onitsuka – This Armor September 28, 2010

Filed under: Chihiro Onitsuka — solarblade @ 2:53 am

Track Listing

  1. ROLLIN’
  2. Ibara no Umi
  3. Shadow
  4. everything, in my hands
  5. Our Song
  6. Ryuuseigun
  7. LITTLE BEAT RIFLE (album ver.)
  8. Arrow of Pain
  9. infection
  10. CROW

1. ROLLIN’

I mean I’m alright with Chihiro beginning her second album with a soft pop tune with ROLLIN’ and all, but I was expecing it to be a little more exciting as he album’s first song.  Chihiro’s vocals of course sound great and even though this song for me sounds a lot like some of the stuff on “Insomnia”, it wasn’t exactly a bad song for me. 

2. Ibara no Umi

I can tell that this album has a little more synth involvement this time especailly with how our next song began.  Then again it get covered up by the main instruments of the song and Chihiro’s soft sounding vocals.  I thought this is a great ballad for Chihiro since it isn’t a boring ballad and has some personality to it.  It’s just a very pleasant song to listen to and the piccolo solo is random but nice in the interlude of the song.  Very nice and still shows that Chihiro is a great balladeer.

3. Shadow

I guess it does worry me now that Shadow (also a ballad) comes right after “Ibara no Umi”.  However, Shadow is more of the depressing and darker ballad because while it has the same instruments sans piccolo, it’s got a longing feeling and with the string bass getting some small parts, it’s like really different.  I also think Chihiro is slightly singing it differently from her normal style, but I loved this change.  Another good ballad ^_^

4. everything, in my hands

Escaping the ballad area of the album, everything, in my hands is a pleasant change of styles from dark and depressing to light and feel-good.  I have to admit that I think it’s her most upbeat song she has had so far in her career and it’s kind of funny since I don’t expect this from her.  It still sounds like the same instruments used in “Insomnia” but I think it’s done professionally and worked for me.  However, it does kind of become white noise after a while since the melody doesn’t fully move around like other songs…it’s just a very straightforward kind of song.

5. Our Song

I guess we just needed one upbeat song huh?  Our Song brings us back down to a ballad state and Our Song is actually Chihiro’s English track on the album.  I know she doesn’t pronounce things nicely, but for the most part, it’s understandable.  Also it’s got the simplest arrangement consisting of piano and acoustic guitar and it has a slight touch of country…It’s a bit too lullaby-like for me so it kind of puts me to sleep, but it’s not bad either.

6. Ryuuseigun

I know that I said that Ryuuseigun wasn’t really much of a memorable ballad coming after the first single of the era, but on the album it’s even more forgettable for me since there’s way better ballads.  I mean there’s not much for me to really pay attention since it’s like a few other ballads she’s done.  At least I really enjoyed the chorus since it brought her voice to the forefront.  I’m not sure, but otherwise the song just flies over my head.

7. LITTLE BEAT RIFLE (album ver.)

As the only A-side to have been edited…LITTLE BEAT RIFLE like “BACK DOOR” shouldn’t have been touched at all because the new version stripped away everything that was good about the original and left us with a bare piano version of the song.  I do like that Chihiro resang the song and all, but to me it’s one of those songs that’s missing something.  Even then…hi gospel-like lyrics!

8. Arrow of Pain

Wow that’s odd to see Arrow of Pain being included on the album, even though there’s a reason.  It seems that a later released song was supposed to be released, but Arrow of Pain replaced that song because the other song in question, “A Horse and A Queen” didn’t fit the theme of the album it seems.  If you remember this song is from “Gekkou” as a B-side and it’s just unusual to see a B-side make an album that wasn’t in the same era.  Now at this point of the album, I’m starting to really feel the effects of sleep popping up since it’s been ballad after ballad…it’s just so hard to keep paying attention if Chihiro’s ballads are trying to put that feeling into ya…at least it has a bit of synthplay in it like “Ibara no Umi” so it’s not as boring, but it still is at the end of the day.  It sill is best heard by itself and is still one of Chihiro’s better B-sides.

9. infection

If “Gekkou” is too “Insomnia”, then infection is to This Armor.  Both songs are very emotionally driven ballads and pretty popular songs in their own right.  infection might be more simpler but it sure hits hard and Chihiro’s vocals are just perfect for this song.  Though being after “Arrow of Pain” it just seems this came to really wake me up and it did…I love the song more than “Gekkou” to be honest.

10. CROW

I guess to make things end on a lighter note, CROW switches the sad and melancholic mood from “infection” and made it slightly lighter and hopeful.  Once again, I don’t remember the song much because I’m like really tired at this point of the album so I just kind of zone the song out.  I think it should’ve been more closer to “ROLLIN’ and “everything, in my hands” those kind of had a happier touch to em right? XD

Tracks Recommended

  • infection
  • Shadow
  • Arrow of Pain
  • Ibara no Umi
  • everything, in my hands

Song of Avoidance

  • LITTLE BEAT RIFLE (album ver.)

Since Chihiro released This Armor and “Sugar High” in the same year, it leaves me wondering what happens since there’s no single in between the albums.  Anyways, This Armor would’ve been great if there wasn’t so many ballads clumped up to each and just leaving us with two upbeat songs (ROLLIN’ and everything, in my hands).  Good thing was this album probably has Chihiro’s best ballads so that saves this album from being amazingly boring.  I guess it is slightly better than “Insomnia” but there’s just too many ballads for me to handle x.x

 

Leave a comment