Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Q;indivi starring Rin Oikawa – Happy Celebration December 8, 2010

Filed under: Q;indivi — solarblade @ 10:34 pm
  

Track Listing

  1. Happy Birthday To You
  2. Someday My Prince Will Come
  3. Happy Birthday
  4. You Can’t Hurry Love
  5. Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You
  6. Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go
  7. Over The Rainbow
  8. Hymne à l’amour
  9. Liebestraume
  10. Ave Maria
  11. Ode To Joy
  12. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Family Ver. -Mom & Dad, Sister & Brother-)
  13. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Parents Ver. -Mom & Dad-)
  14. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Sister & Brother Ver.)
  15. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Child Ver.)
  16. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Darling & Honey Ver.)

1. Happy Birthday To You

As cheesy as it is, we begin the next chapter of the “Celebration” series of albums with the song that EVERYONE should know whether or not.  Happy Birthday To You, is probably the most sung song with no doubt and with Rin Oikawa back at the reigns of lead singer, it really didn’t help much for her.  The music is of course just like everything they’ve released in the previous albums, minus “ACASIA;”.  I do like the fact that Q;indivi went the extra mile to put in new lyrics.  Still, just by the sound of the song, I know I’m gonna be pretty disappointed.

2. Someday My Prince Will Come

As if happiness couldn’t have been more obvious, our next song comes from that ever famous Disney movie, Snow White.  While given that I’ve not seen the movie since I was very little and KH:BBS didn’t really have the song, Someday My Prince Will Come kind of just goes over my head since I clearly don’t remember how it went.  Anyways, the new version is kind of cute, but when Rin speaks the words, it sounds very mechanical and very stupid to listen to.  At least when she sings, it’s passable, but still…

3. Happy Birthday

It’s not the one I just reviewed, but I’m guessing since this is a cover album, Happy Birthday sounds a bit more like something that would describes what it is.  I will admit that chorus is so very annoying since it just contains the same words said over and over again.  I did like the arrangement of this one however since there’s more synths and new things to add to the usual suspects.

4. You Can’t Hurry Love

At least You Can’t Hurry Love actually sounds familiar now, but I can’t remember who originally sung the song.  While Rin’s vocals still seem way to airy to cover such a song, she does try and it kind of sounds like a wintry tune and she keeps the song sounding upbeat and easy to dance to.  It’s one of the seemingly better songs from the album.

5. Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You

Another cover of this classic?  My goodness, how famous is this song in Japan really?  While once again, it does lengthen the song since the original is actually quite short.  Q;indivi’s actually begins with the chorus before the verses which was an interesting twist.  While I know the song is danceable, this one seems too light to be danceable, but it’s cute and Rin’s English is better off in this song.  It’s an alright cover, but I still prefer Seira’s and Tomoko’s takes.

6. Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go

LOL, Rin opening the song with the ~jitterbug~ bit is just pure gold XD  Anyways, since this is clearly a cover of WHAM!’s big song, Wake Me Up… is just gay and I mean that in the way that it’s just way happy and way positive.  What surprised me though was that Rin actually took the risk to sing a purely high note that I didn’t think she could hit.  It’s actually not too bad of a cover and it does keep me feeling happy I guess >.>

7. Over The Rainbow

Yep, it’s the one…that song from The Wizard of Oz.  I actually don’t know what to think of Q;indivi’s take since it’s still very typical sounding of them, but what else could you really do with them around.  I do like that they play around with the vocal melody so it won’t sound so bland and repetitive, but Rin’s vocals don’t sound good here even though there’s places she’s not sounding so airy as she usually is.

8. Hymne à l’amour

Wait, didn’t Hikki JUST cover this song recently?  Oh well, at least it’s anything but not like Hikki’s since this is an English cover of said song.  I like the kind of nature-y sound it gives off, but c’mon…it sounds actually kind of boring even though it stands out since it’s a ballad and not a dance cover. 

9. Liebesträume

So we go from a French song to a German one huh?  I’m not sure why, but this actually sounds relatively nice and something I would’ve expected on their albums (before the “Celebration” series).  It’s kind of catchy and the kind-of celestial feel to the song is very refreshing at the least.  I’d say it’s probably the best from the album to be honest and works with the melody of said song.

10. Ave Maria

NOOOOO, not another one of Ave Maria!!!!  Add the fact that Rin’s vocals are just too airy for this song and it shows quite immensely and I become very bored with the song as well.  Not much else to say really about this cover since it did nothing for me.

11. Ode To Joy

I kind of like the fact there’s a music box included in the final main song for the album and the melody is very easy to remember.  Though giving the melody lyrics is a bit risky to do and while the lyrics are adorable and such, it’s another one of those (why did u add lyrics to this?).  Still it’s a very sweet and actually cute songs from the album so hmmm.

  • 12. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Family Ver. -Mom & Dad, Sister & Brother-)
  • 13. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Parents Ver. -Mom & Dad-)
  • 14. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Sister & Brother Ver.)
  • 15. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Child Ver.)
  • 16. Happy Birthday To You (My Sweet Darling & Honey Ver.)

Was it really needed that we had to get 5 more versions of the damn “Happy Birthday To You”?  The only major difference is the topics which are given by the extra title next to it and the slight change of lyrics in the chorus, otherwise it’s the same damn tune over and over and over again.  I’m sorry but this was just a low blow to the album and was a very poor idea and executed.

Tracks Recommended

  • Liebesträume
  • Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go
  • You Can’t Hurry Love

Song of Avoidance

  • Ave Maria

OMG, will you please stop releasing these cover albums, Q;indivi!  I’m tired of these Celebration albums simply because you don’t change your sound at all between them and it’s getting very old very fast…please release an actual album with Rin and not these blah ones!!!

 

Leave a Reply

