Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kalafina – After Eden September 20, 2011

Filed under: Kalafina — solarblade @ 2:45 am

Track Listing

  1. Eden
  2. sandpiper
  3. Magia
  4. Kugatsu
  5. in your eyes
  6. destination unknown
  7. neverending
  8. Koto no wa
  9. magnolia
  10. Kagayaku Sora no Shijima ni wa
  11. Mune no Yukue
  12. snow falling
  13. symphonia

1. Eden

My first thoughts with the members opening the album, it sort of reminded me of damn Glee.  It’s pretty light and fluffy and pretty upbeat like some of their folkish tunes (but not too cheery like “Hikari no Senritsu”).  WAKANA does lead this song with KEIKO as the secondary vocals while HIKARU follows behind.  It’s really pretty and the breezy feel of the song really didn’t make the song feel very long even though it was 5:40.  Still pretty awesome of a song!

2. sandpiper

Whoa, I love their more ethnic-based tracks and sandpiper fills that gap quite early on the album.  It sounds so mysterious and feels like an adventure in the Sahara or something.  KEIKO knows how do these kind of songs and mixing it with HIKARU, it’s an amazing palatte of colors.  Do I consider this a ballad?  Perhaps…but damn it’s quite beautiful and relaxing.

3. Magia

I think moving from the mysterious, yet slow “sandpiper” to the evil and aggressive Magia.  I have to say that this song has cemented a place in my all-time favorite songs.  First off HIKARU is definitely the leader of this song while KEIKO has a small solo in the middle.  I don’t know why HIKARU isn’t implemented more because her vocals are just powerful and deep and it’s always amazing in the songs she’s featured prominently like “progressive”.  There’s just no doubt that this song is going to be remembered for a long time because it doesn’t sound like anything in their A-side collection.  Oomph, it’s just epic and perfect!

4. Kugatsu

After all that excitement through the first three songs, Kugatsu puts a stop with the album’s first ballad.  Kugatsu is simple with piano and a twinkling background.  KEIKO and WAKANA takes the verses before HIKARU joins in the second part of it.  Problem of recent times though makes it that if you’ve heard one Kalafina ballad, you’ve essentially heard them all.  It does try to stand out with marching drums and flutes later on…then a choral section afterwards.  I guess it gets way better towards the end.  Does remind me of “Kagayaku Sora no Shijima no wa” I guess in a way.

5. in your eyes

It just seemed so random to put “Kugatsu” in between this and “Magia” but it wouldn’t help the rift that’s already there.  I don’t think I’ve heard an uppity and fun song and that was missing from “Red Moon” which I noticed.  It reminds me of “love come down” but a much brighter feel and mood and since WAKANA and KEIKO leads it’s still pretty awesome and they give the song a youthful sounding life!  Even HIKARU smooths it out as well!  It is long funny enough at six minutes though.  Why is this album surprising me?!?

6. destination unknown

I didn’t know what to expect out of this song because the title could mean so much.  It actually feels like “Mata Kaze ga Tsuyokunatta” from their first album with more of an rock-type arrangement and it’s fast-paced and aggressive (not so much like “Magia” though).  I don’t think this stands out as much as the previous ones.  I will say HIKARU did a great job keeping up and the other two members as well.  I think the drums are just a little much in the chorus but that’s my only disappointing factor in the song itself because otherwise this was pretty cool.

7. neverending

Strings begin our next song and it cools things down after the excitement (once again) but this isn’t as radical as it was for “Magia” to “Kugatsu”.  WAKANA leads again for this one and neverending is more of a mid-tempo folk song but I don’t seem to mind it much since it flows quite smoothly.  However, after a while I seem to forget what this one sounds like unless I play it and then I all of a sudden remember this is the mid-tempo folk song hahaha

8. Koto no wa

As the album’s interlude, Koto no wa sounds creepy for some reason but like other interludes, all three members sing together.  The arrangement doesn’t have a lot going on so it leaves a rather longing feel and yet feels sad.  Short but compelling…beautiful interlude!

9. magnolia

When I saw the tracklist for the album, I saw a certain was missing and that was “adore” from the “Kagayaku Sora no Shijima ni wa” single and was disappointed at a heavy dance track would be missing.  However, I was surprised that there was one in a new song called magnolia.  I love this style from the trio + Kajiura.  Even better is HIKARU leading the song.  She always has the perfect vocals for dance tracks.  When the ladies clash their vocals together, it’s just heaven on earth and makes the song pop out at me.  LOVE THIS!

10. Kagayaku Sora no Shijima ni wa

As short as this era has been, Kagayaku Sora no Shijima ni wa was my least favorite (of only between two singles…).  Like I said earlier on the review, “Kugatsu” reminds me of this track because of the similarities with the instrumentation and mood going on.  I honestly don’t know which of the two I liked more to be honest…they’re clones!!!!  At least it’s known more because it was an A-side.

11. Mune no Yukue

I’m not sure what to think of Mune no Yukue, besides thinking it would make a good wintry entry.  KEIKO seems to be singing the most in this song and she once again proves that her vocals are one of the best in J-pop…even though she is underutilized on this album.  Funny enough the members take their time before making their presence known.  It kind of has this hopeful feel and I enjoyed that about this one.  I’m still happy that all three members have solos though ^_^

12. snow falling

Really?  snow falling over “adore”?  I’m not too big of a fan of this song since like the other ballads it’s just pretty basic with the same instruments and things.  It might be a little like the next “fairytale” with the operatic vocals, but I can never remember this song.  I guess since the ladies are singing so many parts it does show a little more color on the album…but I would’ve chose the other B-side tbh.

13. symphonia

Closing the album out is the promotional song for the album (funny…it’s the last song hahah).  It actually sounds really pretty for some reason and is it that whole epic factor.  I like that KEIKO kicks things off here.  It’s pretty grand and it doesn’t sound like anything I’ve heard beforehand.  Great way to end an album!

Tracks Recommended

  • Magia
  • magnolia
  • symphonia
  • Eden
  • in your eyes

Song of Avoidance

  • snow falling

Kalafina’s 3rd album and we still don’t see them losing their spark any time soon.  To me it’s not as spazzy as “Red Moon” but comes off more like “Seventh Heaven” in the way that there’s a lot more soft songs than energetic epic tunes.  The only thing I wish for is that there needs to be more KEIKO-led tunes.  It was like she ceased to sort of exist on this album and left it for WAKANA and HIKARU to pick up the songs for the most part.  Still, it’s another entry in the top 10 of the year for sure ^_^

 

9 Responses to “Kalafina – After Eden”

  1. I actually skipped the entire article and just read your final impressions. I kind of don’t want any “spoilers”. It’s always nice to see some Kalafina love, I can’t wait to hear this album myself soon.

  2. keyinjpop Says:

    It’s a good album. Nothing less than beautiful from Kalafina.

  3. Salamander Says:

    Nice review.
    I’d switched Magia for Mune no Yukue according to my tastes. Never liked Magia, for some reason.

    I love this new album, specially the 2nd half of the tracklist. Quite a beautiful work.

    • solarblade Says:

      I mean it is the same old awesomeness which is splitting everyone’s view of the album. It’s still a lot better than most albums i tackled so far this year though ^_^

  4. I like your review! Btw, was wondering if you’re planning on reviewing FictionJunction anytime in the future? They released a new single not so long ago so even though Kajiura seems more preoccupied with Kalafina these days I’m sure they’ll still be releasing again! (Plus KEIKO and WAKANA are in it too)

  5. Chirikushi Says:

    Nice Review! Now I know why I remember Serenato with Sandpiper… both of them gave me the same feeling… exactly what you’ve described… ethnic-based… like a love story in Sahara of a modern man and a tribeswoman… longing for each other to be together… lolz… I’m kinda disappointed adorei sn’t on this one too… and I think it’s just right that the album has many refreshing songs than epical ones since epic songs are mostly found in red moon. Enchanting songs are in Seventh Heaven… Dreamy songs in After Eden… wow… different genres made us want to see them more ^^

  6. I’m fascinated with sandpiper, the way the song flows in this mysterious type of journey, and also the voice of KEIKO & WAKANA in the song is amazing. Also Eden is incredible, the solo parts, and chorus are excellent, and the powerful magia as well just strikes and bring us one of the best of Kalafina. I have to say also Symphonia became of my favorites 🙂

  7. ransho Says:

    Ehh, I don’t know why but I think you misplaced Kalafina’s singer each other. For example, Eden lead vocal is Hikaru, and Wakana do the second part. And they switch each other when singing the chorus, with Keiko as background in almost every lines. Kugatsu too, Hikaru sings the first stanza, and then Keiko comes to support her, and Wakana takes the middle part of the song til the end, until Hikaru’s yasashiku in the end. And if by lead vocal you mean someone who open/start the song, then Magnolia lead vocal is Keiko. But if you mean lead vocal is someone who sings the major part of the song in full-voice/not harmony, then in Magnolia it’s Wakana. Hikaru only take the second stanzas after Keiko. And destination unknown is far more agressive than Magia. Magia surely feels really rock, but if you look at the tempo, Magia is more like a middle-tempo song, and destination unknown is much more faster, like their Mata Kaze ga tsuyoku Natta, with the structure of progressive. And for me, Kugatsu is much more like their Ashita no Keshiki than Kagayaku Sora no Shijima ni wa..


Leave a comment