Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

lecca – Right Direction December 12, 2011

Filed under: lecca — solarblade @ 11:29 am

Track Listing

  1. Right Direction
  2. Hinkou Housei
  3. Aniki.

1. Right Direction

Kicking off the single with the A-side of course, Right Direction is kind of unusual for lecca since it’s more of an R&B ballad which I’m not used to from her since she usually sticks with reggaeton or latin music.  Not gonna lie, I’m still trying to get used to lecca’s unique vocals and the way she says ~right direction~ is quite abrasive to me.  I will say that it’s not my kind of song and I still think her last era had better A-sides.

2. Hinkou Housei

Then I’m just surprised that lecca made this the B-side because it seriously the best song off the single.  It’s hard to really explain it’s sound very well but it’s got synths for sure and a slightly darker feel to it when compared as well.  I’m also quite liking lecca’s voice here a lot more than in “Right Direction” which is odd but good nonetheless. 

3. Aniki.

The other B-side on the single is a bit more of what I was kind of expecting from lecca since it’s styled as a Reggae song.  She sounds pretty comfortable singing here and the song is pretty nice to listen to despite how simple and the song sounds.  It’s safe but pretty good otherwise.

 

 

 

As the only single representing the “Step One” album, Right Direction is a little disappointing but that’s because of the A-side.  It just didn’t really suit her very well and her vocals kind of hindered the song.  Luckily both B-sides made up for that.  One being a little aggressive and the other being nice but sticking to her sound.  I’m curious to how the album will turn out now.

 

Leave a comment