Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Morning Musume – Pyocopyoco Ultra January 24, 2012

Filed under: Morning Musume — solarblade @ 8:54 pm

Track Listing

  1. Pyocopyoco Ultra
  2. Kanashiki Koi no Melody
  3. Pyocopyoco Ultra (Instrumental)

1. Pyocopyoco Ultra

I know I haven’t stated my opinion on anything that revolved around Pyocopyoco Ultra but this is my time to talk bout it hahaha.  I’m all for rejuvenating Momosu after their rather LONG line of solidarity…but since “Maji Desu ka Ska!”, it’s been an odd line though good shift of singles.  When I saw the covers/outfits for the single I was actually shocked because I knew they were dealing with 8 young members and all…but dressing them up like poor allusions to Chocobos was a BAD decision.  Even the elder members were kind of bleh at it.  As for the song, It’s not terrible but it’s definitely their cutest song since “Hyokkori Hyoutanjima” and actually sounds more like a S/mileage tune than a Momosu one.  I will say that it’s nice to hear most of the members get a solo line or two (though Kanon and Erina got royally screwed).  It’s not their worst song but it’s definitely on the low spectrum for me…>.>

2. Kanashiki Koi no Melody

However, I’m loving the B-side of the single and I’m surprised in recent times they’ve been getting better B-sides than A-sides >.>  Even better, all the members get a solo line and it actually works because they put as groups with their respective group like Gaki, Reina, Sayu, and Aika together and the kyuukies and jyuukies.  We also get better sounds from the new members mostly and I have to say Ayumi and Haruka sound great, Masaki has good S/mileage-tinged vocals but it works oddly enough…and well Haruna needs work…in time though…As for the song it reminds me of “Heroine ni Narou ka!” but lighter I think.  Still SO MUCH BETTER THAN PPU.

 

 

I have to say I kind of wished Tsunku didn’t take the group into S/mileage mode for this single.  I mean “Kare to Issho ni Omise ga Shitai!” was one thing but it didn’t sound like their younger sister group.  Pyocopyoco Ultra is just a slam on the brakes and way too oddball for them.  Like awkward actually.  Kanashiki Koi no Melody though is the MUCH preferred song…danceable and has good vocals and equality for the most part.  Yeah this was an awesome song.  As a whole?  PPU shouldn’t have been promoted (and it’s weird being the opening theme to their math drama)…

 

6 Responses to “Morning Musume – Pyocopyoco Ultra”

  1. Lex Says:

    And it’s flopping! Bwahaha

    • Kylee Says:

      Ehhhh, not really
      The sales are a bit lower than normal, but it’s not a total failure
      It’ll still hit the 30-45k range

      • Lex Says:

        Stay delusional, bb.

      • Kylee Says:

        As of now, Pyoko Pyoko Ultra has reached 31,094k in sales.
        It beat Mikan, Momusu’s lowest selling single of all time. It will probably even reach higher.
        I’m not delusional at all. In fact, I was spot on. I said I’d reach between 30-45k and it did.
        Instead of saying it’s flopping, actually look at the number of sales first. At least do that much before you troll

  2. minimidicomposer Says:

    I think your review is spot on: b-side > a-side. BTW, how in the world can you tell whose voice is whose? I mean, they all sound different to me, but I couldn’t tell you who was singing… But listening to the song, I think I know which one is Haruna…LOL.


Leave a Reply

