Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

NIKIIE – hachimitsu e.p. April 12, 2012

Filed under: NIKIIE — solarblade @ 8:10 am

Track Listing

  1. Canary
  2. Say you love me
  3. Namida Boshi
  4. ito.
  5. 3sec.
  6. good night my sweet home.

1. Canary

Starting things on a rather nice and bright note is Canary and it’s a happy tune.  It doesn’t seem to ring anything different from her debut album which is good because I’m pretty happy with NIKIIE’s pop/rock vibes.  I also think her vocals continue to be solid and fitting for the arrangement.  Yeah, it’s a pretty solid song to kick things off.

2. Say you love me

Our next song is honestly a surprise and this early on the mini.  The second track actually has bit more of an acoustic arrangement instead of the previous song’s more bright and electric-guitar style.  Say you love me is pretty charmful and I love it but it’s weird because the whole ~say you love me~ line reminds me of “Canary’s” ~I wanna love you, love you~…it’s like weird to me but cute.

3. Namida Boshi

Moving into a ballad for Namida Boshi, I was expecting one of the songs to be a ballad at least and once again, it does seem to feel like it would’ve fit “*(NOTES)” quite snuggly since it’s a happy ballad.  NIKIIE’s vocals do sound heavenly here though so it’s definitely a plus for the song.  It’s probably one of the more impressive songs on the mini-album.

4. ito.

I like that ito. came on right after “Namida Boshi” because while it only gets a little more push with the tempo, it’s still pretty soft and the arrangement is once again coming off as bright.  However, it doesn’t sound like any of her previous work and stands out to me in a good way.  Even with that Animal Crossing-like wind instrument, the song is really charming and I’m just enjoying it’s whole Springtime feel.

5. 3sec.

Another ballad eh?  This one does sound quieter than “Namida Boshi” and I’m quite enjoying NIKIIE’s vocals but after the intro, the song moves into this poppy song with strings and acoustic guitar thrown in.  I found it to be intriguing but I felt like I’ve heard this somewhere before but not sure where.

6. good night my sweet home.

Closing this short mini-album, good night my sweet home. is just a piano ballad to close things on a sweet and soft note.  Sadly that kind of stuff bores me to death and for being nearly 6 minutes long, it really is an uneventful kind of song for me and I kind of doze off listening to it.  NIKIIE’s vocals are a bit too quiet here as well and just loses my interest altogether.

NIKIIE’s mini-album might be more or less an extension from “*(NOTES)” which carries that whole mindset of if it isn’t broken, why fix it.  However, to me that means less originality and it kind of had that heard it all before feel to it.  The exception might be ito. since it’s nothing that she’s done before but the rest is kind of there.  It’s alright but nothing spectacular.

 

Leave a Reply

