Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Ceui – Labyrinthus July 17, 2012

Filed under: Ceui — solarblade @ 9:04 am

Track Listing

  1. Labyrinthus
  2. Tenohira no Tsuioku †Interlude†
  3. Centifolia
  4. Little Garden
  5. Kiri no Naka no Utsukushii Shoujo †Interlude
  6. Tenshi to Akuma no Sinfonia
  7. Last Inferno
  8. Truth Of My Destiny
  9. Ichiru no Houseki †Interlude†
  10. Watashi ga Tenshi ja Nakunaru Hi
  11. Hikari to Yami to Toki no Hate
  12. SIROSUNA
  13. Inori Mau, Tenjou no Sougen †Interlude†
  14. God Bless -Anata ni Hikare Are-
  15. Stardust Melodia
  16. Energy

1. Labyrinthus

Opening the album right up, Labyrinthus really has qualities that seem familiar to KOKIA, Haruka Shimotsuki, and Akiko Shikata with the airy vocals mixed with folkish and anison qualities all the same and I kind of find it really intriguing.  Ceui’s vocals really are soothing but thin in certain places like most of the high notes she hits.  I still do find this song soothing and a pretty cool opening song!

2. Tenohira no Tsuioku †Interlude†

Seems that Ceui has a lot of interludes on this album which is surprising of her to include.  Our first is about a minute long and features spoken dialogue from her.  Not sure how it ties into the album (and same for the other interludes here).  Tenohira no Tsuioku is a mysterious sounding interlude and kind of moves into something a bit better.

3. Centifolia

This album otherwise is filled with a lot of old and already released songs starting with Centifolia which was the first A-side released for this era.  Unlike “Labyrinthus”, Centifolia is a bit more anison heavy but a slower tune overall which kind of works with Ceui’s vocals.  I liked it for what it was but it seems like there’s more I like from her.

4. Little Garden

Makes sense that “Centifolia’s” B-side would come after it.  Just like the track before it, it’s also a bit on the slower side of things but this caters more to the folkish side to Ceui’s music and I find myself being charmed from it all.  I love the simple arrangement and Ceui’s vocals as well.  Definitely pleasant and makes me wonder why this wasn’t an A-side.

5. Kiri no Naka no Utsukushii Shoujo †Interlude†

We move into our next interlude and we get a continuation of the creepy spoken dialogue from Ceui.  Though it seems her voice is distant and it kind of echos in front of some ad-libbing/chanting.  Nothing that I can really opinionate on.

6. Tenshi to Akuma no Sinfonia

I don’t know if this is new or not but I’m happy to hear Ceui’s sound including dance beats like here but aren’t the main attraction.  It seems the intro stems from the interlude and this has more of a gothic light to it but I kind of enjoyed this song quite a bit.  I do think she’s singing a bit too light for her good but the song is quite strong on this album and stands out in the first half.

7. Last Inferno

The third A-side comes up next (or 4th but “Prism” isn’t on here so it’s 3rd) and Last Inferno comes in quite surprisingly with an interesting sound.  It’s also kind of quick when compared to the rest of the first half which is cool and I like Ceui’s vocals because she’s not singing in her airy vocals like she has been.  She has a bit of power and it sounds solid!  Definitely one of my favorite Ceui songs since getting into her music.

8. Truth Of My Destiny

Moving back a single to her second A-side released for this album, Truth Of My Destiny isn’t as powerful as “Last Inferno” but it kind of lies in between that and “Centifolia”.  It’s definitely got that anime intro feel down and it flows nicely with a solid performance from Ceui.  Though I don’t find it memorable in any way and just kind of falls by the wayside for me.  I guess after a while it seems to try to stick to me, but it’ll definitely take a while.

9. Ichiru no Houseki †Interlude†

Another interlude to kind of kickstart the second half, the shortest of the interludes, Ceui kind of whispers the dialogue behind a little bit of music…46 seconds of just that so it’s nothing to really note about it unless you can understand what she says.

10. Watashi ga Tenshi ja Nakunaru Hi

Going into two more new tracks, Watashi ga Tenshi ja Nakanaru Hi has this flowing style akin to “Labyrinthus”.  Meaning it has this folk style going and the layering of vocals are just the same as well…kind of sounds actually like more of an Akiko Shikata song on how it works.  Solid track though and it suits her quite nicely.

11. Hikari to Yami to Toki no Hate

Hikari to Yami to Toki no Hate kind of breaks the mold but it seems that it had a tie-in to an anime hence it’s obvious feel and the fact it’s her 4th single.  It’s definitely the slowest song I’ve come across the album so far and it kind of just flies by me without much of anything to remember it by. 

12. SIROSUNA

Things start to really halt to a crawl when we get into SIROSUNA (which was the B-side from “Truth Of My Destiny”).  If I thought the previous song was forgetful than this song beats it in boredom because it really is only Ceui and piano here.  As much as I wanted to really enjoy the song (even after the included violin), it just didn’t fix things for me…very monochrome for me.  Though the build-up towards the end was nice…just didn’t save the song in the end.

13. Inori Mau, Tenjou no Sougen †Interlude†

The final interlude comes in and is the longest almost reaching 2 minutes.  Inori Mau isn’t too much different from the other ones…so there’s not much to really report on besides the same things I’ve said before.  I do think the piano melody is kind of nice though.

14. God Bless -Anata ni Hikari Are-

The final new track, God Bless does kind of have a slow start to it but once the beats of the tune are added in, it becomes rather nice to listen to and kind of gives me a pleasant windy feeling and I felt it worked together as a package to be honest.  Soft but has a lot of colors fluorishing through it so I think it brought the album back up after “SIROSUNA”.

15. Stardust Melodia

Moving into the 4th A-side, I can say I’ve reviewed its single at least!  Stardust Melodia is how I feel for the rest of the A-sides (except “Last Inferno”).  I mean it’s a nice track and all but it sounds like any other anison song to be honest.  I guess it sounds a bit more better since Ceui is singing with more power behind the voice but it doesn’t excite me still.

16. Energy

Closing the album out is the B-side from “Last Inferno” and sadly it’s a lot like “SIROSUNA” it seems because it’s a ballad and doesn’t really seem to go anywhere at first.  It does have more life in it so it kind of turns out that it’s a bit more like “Centifolia”.  It’s a nice track though and closed the album smoothly.

Tracks Recommended

  • Last Inferno
  • Tenshi to Akuma no Sinfonia
  • Labyrinthus
  • Watashi ga Tenshi ja Nakanaru Hi
  • Little Garden

Song of Avoidance

  • SIROSUNA

Ahhhh we’re at Ceui’s second album under Lantis huh?  Well it felt like it was two seperate ideas here with the new tracks being more folkish while her singles were mostly anime-styled.  Labyrinthus is quite laidback of an album though since only two tracks were considered upbeat tunes.  It was nice and she has a pleasant voice but she should sing with her stronger tone since it sounds amazing.  Not bad but could be better.

 

Leave a Reply

