Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Mayu Watanabe – Otona Jelly Beans July 25, 2012

Filed under: Mayu Watanabe — solarblade @ 1:01 am

Track Listing

  1. Otona Jelly Beans
  2. Saisho no Jack
  3. Koyubi no Hohoemi (Regular edition only)
  4. Itsudemo Soba ni Ite Ageru (Limited A only)
  5. Twin Tail wa Mou Shinai (Limited B only)
  6. Zannen Shoujo (Limited C only)
  7. Otona Jelly Beans (instrumental)
  8. Saisho no Jack (instrumental)
  9. Koyubi no Hohoemi (instrumental)
  10. Itsudemo Soba ni Ite Ageru (instrumental)
  11. Twin Tail wa Mou Shinai (instrumental)
  12. Zannen Shoujo (instrumental)

1. Otona Jelly Beans

Well, it’s no surprise that Mayuyu’s second A-side would’ve been a cutesy song with a title that includes jelly beans😄.  I do like it sounds relatively different from “Synchro Tokimeki” and while Mayu’s vocals are still kind of hard to take in their cute tones, it’s a little more catchy so I guess that’s a good thing right?

2. Saisho no Jack

The B-side found on all editions, Saisho no Jack is a bit like her last A-side actually but it’s a little more nicer to listen to than “Synchro Tokimeki”.  Most of the things I’ve said about her in the previous song actually fits here as well.  I still like “Otona Jelly Beans” a tad bit more though.

3. Koyubi no Hohoemi

If you want something a little more exciting from Mayuyu, then we have Koyubi no Hohoemi for the listeners which has more of a idol-pop sound with synth horns and synths.  Kind of typical but it has a little more going on in its arrangement so that it avoids being to bland.

4. Itsudemo Soba ni Ite Ageru

I guess our next track seems to be the ballad on the single which is cool and all but Mayu shouldn’t be using her cute vocals for ballads.  I mean she should’ve used her “Saba no Kanzume” voice since I felt it would’ve been more appropriate here.  Otherwise, the song is pretty and I guess Mayu does sound OK in the song but once again the other ballad still stands out more than this one.

5. Twin Tail wa Mou Shinai

I noticed that when I saw this, it was credited as Mayuzuka46…yeah…it sounds like a parody of Nogizaka46 but with Mayuyu leading the troupe I guess.  Twin Tail does kind of sound like a Nogizaka song which is a bit absurd for me but it’s kind of cute and the style is fun to listen to.  Not much else to say about the song, but it’s nice.

6. Zannen Shoujo

The final track on the single is actually a solo version of a Team B song ^_^.  Funny enough the song has the strongest arrangement because it sounds like an anime intro song with its heavy use of electric guitars.  I don’t think a solo version is suitable because Mayu’s vocals aren’t totally selling the song but the arrangement is a plus. 

 

 

To be honest, I think Otona Jelly Beans didn’t take as many risks overall than what “Synchro Tokimeki” did which to me was disappointing.  I do think the songs were alright but nothing that really stood out this time around.  I guess it’s a suitable second single but I hope she does something random for her next single.

 

One Response to “Mayu Watanabe – Otona Jelly Beans”

  1. viyemellexdolcemelodies Says:

    Nice review! I’ve been looking forward to this single, though that’s only because I love Mayuyu…I do find her singles so far to be mediocre at best. Thanks for sharing!❤


Leave a Reply

