Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Berryz Koubou – cha cha SING July 28, 2012

Filed under: Berryz Koubou — solarblade @ 8:34 pm

Track Listing

  1. cha cha SING
  2. Loving you Too much
  3. Momochi! Yurushite Nyan♡Taisou
  4. cha cha SING (Instrumental)
  5. Loving you Too much (Instrumental)
  6. Momochi! Yurushite Nyan♡Taisou (Instrumental)

1. cha cha SING

I found it interesting that Berryz would once again humor everyone by doing a cover song (this one is from Thailand’s own Bird Thongchai McIntyre’s “Row mah Sing”).  The last time Berryz covered a big song “Dschinghis Khan”, it went with a lot of positive comments.  The same thing can be said about cha cha SING which is incredibly catchy and random that it’s hard to see this done by anyon else but Berryz.  I’m loving the energetic arrangement and it keeps true to its Thai roots.  I’m also enjoying the different vocals styles coming from the girls (especially Miyabi, Risako, and Momoko) they were actually impressive and the other four ladies got solo lines throughout which is good too.  Definitely had me enjoying it a lot more faster than I did with “Be Genki”.

2. Loving you Too much

The first B-side is also a cover of another Thongchai song “Too Much So Much Very Much” and I was wondering if it was going to be as wild as “cha cha SING” was.  I guess my overall thought was no it isn’t but it stands out as well since I felt this could’ve been an A-side as well.  I also find myself enjoying Risako a lot more in this song funny enough.  I think the song has some hooks but none that are as memorable as the A-side.  I think what stood out the most in this song was the rapping section from the ladies…I don’t think the Berryz gals have ever rapped in a song (I know I could be wrong though).  It isn’t bad but I don’t find it as exciting as “cha cha SING”.

3. Momochi! Yurushite Nyan♡Taisou

Then comes the scariest part about this single.  Momoko got her own solo song and it’s based off her catchphrase on shows ~Yurushite Nyan!~ *and insert cat paws*.  I’m just surprised it was worth a song because this song gives me a HEADACHE.  I hate Momoko’s cute voice so putting this with a cute song is just torture.  The rest of the girls are here but they are backups and one-word quips.  It is short though being under 3 minutes…but this was just unneeded…

 

 

I have to say this single is quite weird for me.  2 Thai covers and that ugly Momoko solo and it just seems so out of the blue for me.  I have to say cha cha SING though is a pretty awesome song and definitely makes me wanna do a flashmob and dance it down yo!  Loving you Too much is alright but it lacked something to make it really good and like I said Momoko’s song is just bad…bad, bad, bad!

 

Leave a Reply

