Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas – Just Awake August 2, 2012

Filed under: Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas — solarblade @ 9:03 pm

Track Listing

  1. Just Awake
  2. Break Out Your Stained Brain

1. Just Awake

As it’s my first song from the band and reasoning is from ORICON, Just Awake is an interesting mix of different ideas like electropop, rock, and screamo which might not be to everyone’s tastes.  To be honest, I’m not liking the fact that So (their vocalist) is under heavy auto-tune and add that Minami (another vocalist) is doing the emo screams, plus So does too…It really makes the picture look disjointed and kind of messy. I will say the instrumental is quite exciting and the jazzy piano interlude was random.  So many ideas clashing into one another…there’s parts that I really like but others that I just despise.

2. Break Out Your Stained Brain

I didn’t know what to expect coming into their B-side, but it sounds a lot more darker than “Just Awake” and has a lot more coming from the band rather than just the keyboards.  At first I was thinking I was listening to DIR EN GREY with how Minami was just exploding with his screams.  Though I think I hear So doing the screams as well.  Though I found it weird that there is parts where So is (auto-tuned) singing but it feels so out of place!  I don’t know >.>

 

 

I really don’t know how to feel about the band to be honest.  I can hear that there’s genius to be found in the group but it’s muddled by those ideas clashing and just ending up as odd and messy songs just by this single.  I will say I do prefer Just Awake because it was brighter and there was less of a mess going on but that B-side is just too much for me.

 

Leave a Reply

