Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Angela Aki – BLUE August 9, 2012

Filed under: Angela Aki — solarblade @ 9:07 am

Track Listing

  1. Aiueo
  2. Kokuhaku
  3. Foolish Love
  4. Koi no Kakehiki
  5. Cry
  6. In My Blood
  7. You and I
  8. Monster
  9. Kokoro no Tenkyohou
  10. factory
  11. Yoake Mae no Inori
  12. BLUE
  13. One Family ~Uchuu no Nagisa~

1. Aiueo

A short introductory piece to open the album with, Aiueo sounds like it’d be weird but the simplicity of the track with Angela singing is quite pleasant to listen to actually.  Though I’m not sure what the word means in this context but it’s like ~Ai Ue wo~…maybe that makes sense.  Short but sweet.

2. Kokuhaku

Our first full track is unsurprisingly the only A-side she released for BLUE and I still think it’s a unique and refreshing song to move away from her typical piano ballads.  It’s a flowing track and Angela’s vocals simply suited the atmosphere which is nice for sure!  Such a great song from her!

3. Foolish Love

Since the rest of the album is new tracks, I was wondering if she was going to keep up the momentum with “Kokuhaku” but it seems like she stepped back into “ANSWER” with the first song Foolish Love which is basically her playing the piano, some synth, and percussion/guitar/bass.  I found this song to be a little too simple for me so I just ended up passing it up.

4. Koi no Kakehiki

The plucked strings that open the song kind of reminded me of “Call Me Maybe” DAMNIT!  Anyways, if you really liked “Mad Scientist” than this song will be to your liking because it has that same style going for it but this song is in Japanese.  It’s an OK song but I prefer the former song by a bigger margin to be honest.

5. Cry

As we move on to Cry, I was hoping for heartwrenching ballad but I don’t really get that with this song sadly.  I mean it is heartfelt and really simple since it’s Angela and piano so it’s more intimate but the song doesn’t really come off as sad to me.  It grows a bit more but I don’t know the guitar solo wasn’t necessary to me…this is not Pink Floyd…Add the chorus where she hits this note really oddly, I’m not used to that note reaching.

6. In My Blood

Going into a little experiment for In My Blood, Angela sings under a filter and the song is sung in English which is a pretty awesome way to get my attention.  In My Blood is kind of a poetic kind of song to me since it has that lowkey and cool vibe to it.  After the first verse it seems things get a bit more fun.  I will say when the song suddenly slows down, it took me a little to get used to it.  It’s got a some transitioning problems but this is probably the best new song I’ve encountered since “Kokuhaku”.

7. You and I

We had the dark “In My Blood” and now we get lively and cute with You and I which starts off with Angela and ukelele.  I noticed Angela’s tone is also kind of higher but a little bit.  It’s laidback and has a cute feel to it’s arrangement except when all of a sudden there’s a random placement of Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy” that throws the song off its heels.  Was it just for the song’s humor or what…Minus that random interjection, this song actually is relaxing and feelgood.  Not bad overall. 

8. Monster

I love that Angela went with jazz for our next song to be honest because Angela fits this style perfectly.  Singing in a lower resgister, she sounds sultry and full of soul on this one and I’m just loving every moment out of this song for sure!  One of my favorites from the album just because it’s so new for her and she struck gold on this one.  Though, ~monshtah?~

9. Kokoro no Tenkyohou

Back to some good ole, piano-fronted Angela songs, Kokoro no Tenkyohou in fact might not be such a good return because I don’t find anything remarkable about this song.  It just sounds like a good “LIFE” leftover and just landed here.  It’s not really an exciting song and just flies by over my head.

10. factory

I really like how the sonstarts up with pipes clanking and such giving this ominous feeling and then WHOOSH, it’s thrown out the window as the song goes peppy and upbeat which is a bit of a downer lol.  I will say that I like the energy from this song and Angela’s relaxed voice might have bore some people but this is good, still not as amazing as a couple of other songs but it’s alright. 

11. Yoake Mae no Inori

Another ballad, Yoake Mae no Inori isn’t really exciting for me but it does act as the “Tegami” of the album with it’s positive vibes and powerful moments.  Not really an original move, but it’s alright, nothing special here either.

12. BLUE

Then we get into the title track and I’m loving the steel drums and island-y vibes out of this one.  It kind of makes me think of “You and I” but without the Beethoven reference.  It’s got charm and I like that about the song a lot!  I think it’s one of the more impressive title tracks she’s had ^_^

13. One Family ~Uchuu no Nagisa~

Remember One Family from “WHITE”?  Well, it’s once again the final song on this album but it got some touch-ups from the original.  Most the changes is from the fact that the song is entirely revolved around the strings instead of the piano and drums.  Add in that Angela resung the song (I’m guessing to commemerate her becoming a mother) and it hits a bit better and makes for an appropriate end to the album ^_^

Tracks Recommended

  • Monster
  • In My Blood
  • BLUE
  • Kokuhaku
  • One Family ~Uchuu no Nagisa~

Song of Avoidance

  • Cry

After having her baby, she returned with BLUE and honestly it’s a lot better than “WHITE” but doesn’t have the longevity that “ANSWER” and “LIFE” actually had which is surprising because she took some risks on this album, though it was half/half on how well it worked.  I think some of the album was boring as hell, but there were some nice surprisies.  So overall I’d say it was a moderately good album.

 

Leave a Reply

