Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

BoA – Only One August 11, 2012

Filed under: BoA — solarblade @ 5:39 am

Track Listing

  1. Only One
  2. The Shadow
  3. Nemonan Bakwi (Hope)
  4. Not Over U
  5. The Top
  6. Mayday! Mayday! (Neoege Dahgileul Ganjeolhi Oechida)
  7. One Dream (feat. Henry & Key)
  8. Only One (Inst.)
  9. The Shadow (Inst.)

1. Only One

BoA has returned in Korea again with a new album and Only One is the promotional track.  The first thing I thought of was “Eien” but not as hard-hitting.  It’s got that mid-tempo R&B feel to it and that’s nice but I probably wouldn’t have chose this to promote the album.  At least it’s a passable song from her.

2. The Shadow

Our next song, The Shadow is a bit more heavier which is a solid way to go since this song has more of a K-pop style which is cool but it’s still not an aggressive songs in the sense like “Adrenaline” or “HURRICANE VENUS”.  I like the song, but it feels like it needs more fire and the speed could’ve been better sped up too.  At least she sounds really good, especially in her whispering parts.

3. Nemonan Bakwi (Hope)

We slow back down for our next track, Hope and I find myself a little bored with the tune and it’s not simply just because it’s a ballad.  It feels like something off of “HURRICANE VENUS” but has more drums involved lol.  There’s just nothing remarkable about the song IMO and I just tune it out.

4. Not Over U

Another ballad after “Hope”?  Oh good, the song doesn’t seem to fall down flat on its face.  It starts off slow with an acoustic guitar before dance beats get added in and it grows into in this synth-fest in the chorus.  I actually like this build-up but I felt it was leading up to more, but it just gives up and moves straight into the second verse.  It’s pretty good overall though and it lasts a lot better than the previous three tracks.

5. The Top

I’m surprised that The Top is under 3 minutes (actually barely over 2 and a half minutes),  It’s the song that has the most oomph to it and I really like that about this song but it still doesn’t reach levels akin to “HURRICANE VENUS” since it kind of sounds messy too in its arrangement and vocals everywhere.  Sadly, this probably is the best song off the album😄

6. Mayday! Mayday! (Neoege Dahgileul Ganjeolhi Oechida)

I guess we have to slow things down again with Mayday! Mayday!  I was actually expecting a banger from the title, but it seems all we got is another “Hope” but has a little more going on and the song is a bit more dramatic too which is all right but it’s nothing new for her.  It’s nice and I probably would prefer this to the other ballad, but I’m still kind of unimpressed.

7. One Dream (feat. Henry & Key)

Featuring Henry from SuJu-M and Key from SHINee, the trio came together for this collaborative track and for the most part, it was a nice change but I’m surprised THIS was the shortest track (being under 2 minutes and a half).  I kind of like the upbeat and positive lyrics of the song but it’s also a bit cheesy and has this (sway your hands back and forth) kind of groove.  I think the two guys are relegated to being rappers here and BoA doing the singing.  Appropriate closing, but meh.

 

 

After “HURRICANE VENUS” / “Copy & Paste”, I would’ve thought she would’ve kept going on this streak of good releases but it seems Only One is a major disappointment to me.  None of the songs really stuck and they felt like bland songs overall (add in two tracks were under 3 minutes and it’s bad).  I just couldn’t get into the album very much…I hope the repackage album has something to save this mess!

 

One Response to “BoA – Only One”

  1. It was confirmed that there will be no repackage.


Leave a Reply

