Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

SID – M&W August 20, 2012

Filed under: SID — solarblade @ 5:35 am

Track Listing

  1. Konagona
  2. Ghost Apartment
  3. Fuyu no Bench
  4. Ito
  5. Cafe de Bossa
  6. S
  7. MOM
  8. Itsuka
  9. Dress Code
  10. gossip!!
  11. Nokoriga

1. Konagona

SID opens up M&W with Konagona and wasn’t surprised that was a pretty straightforward rock track from the band.  I will say that I liked the verses and the chorus broadened things out in a good way too.  Mao’s vocals are quite nice and doesn’t seem to bore me so I felt overall, this was a pretty good first track.

2. Ghost Apartment

I really think that the album begins with Ghost Apartment because this stood out to me in a lot of ways!  I mean, I love the big band feel of the track and fits the title nicely.  I think the thing that stood out for me the most was the fact that the band just rolled with what they got and it turned out to be a winner for me…Great song here!

3. Fuyu no Bench

Moving onto the second A-side released for the album and the album’s wintry tune.  It does seem a little weird that they placed it after the exciting “Ghost Apartment” but whatever it’s still early in the album.  Fuyu no Bench has slowly grown on me over time but I still am a bit bored with the song because of its closeness to the other A-sides (sans “S”).  Mao sounds also much tamer than the previous track which is nice too.  Good rock ballad for them though.

4. Ito

Back to the new tracks, Ito is also considered a rock ballad as it’s much lighter than “Fuyu no Bench” is.  I really didn’t know what to say because I was kind of tired of listening to the slower tracks from SID and here’s another one for the album.  I do kind of think it is better than most of the other tracks on the album since it’s not boring and it does get cooler once the guitar solos kick in. 

5. Cafe de Bossa

If you wanted something to lighten things up, Cafe de Bossa comes in as a strange light-hearted tune that has that Starbucks laidback atmosphere mixed with the band’s sound.  It’s a strange mix like I said and it’s refreshing but I don’t feel like I remember this song compared to the others.  At least it doesn’t make a next track feels as random have it been after “Ito”.

6. S

About our next tune, S is their hardest track they’ve had in a long while and I’m happy it’s on the album, but it still doesn’t seem to fit very well simply because of it’s hard rock sound.  The thing about it that struck me the most is how that it harkens back to their older days which to be honest a lot more stronger than what they have been doing (even though I did like “dead stock”).  S just shows that that flame in SID hasn’t died out yet!

7. MOM

Kind of strange to see MOM come after “S”, but this song is quite funky and represents the good side to SID’s experimentations.  I was surprised to hear how much saxophone was actually present in the song and the funky guitar riffs to be added as well.  A rather good surprise for the album, not better than the previous track but MOM is probably one of the better album tracks ^_^

8. Itsuka

The oldest of the A-sides, Itsuka escaped my mind because I didn’t think it was really memorable for me.  Hearing it now, it’s like a mix of “Fuyu no Bench” and “Nokoriga” by being slow most of the time but having a quicker chorus.  Actually to be honest, it reminds me more of “Konogona”.  Itsuka isn’t a totally bad song because I do like how it flows and Mao sounds great and all, but I feel other songs surpass it. 

9. Dress Code

The shortest song at 3 minutes, Dress Code takes after “Ghost Apartment” but has less excitement going on but still kind of has a mysterious but classy glow about it that I enjoy.  The chorus is stronger and I love the piano fiddling around the arrangement.  The only thing I kind of was frowning about is the slower middle section that kind of had an awkward transition…otherwise this is good enough to be passable.

10. gossip!!

The final new song, gossip!! is pretty much a fun song to listen to actually.  I’m loving the California-esque feel of the song and Mao sounds a bit more interested in singing the song, scratch that…the entire band sounds like they’re having a blast with it.  I liked this track for it’s basically cool style.

11. Nokoriga

Appropriately enough, SID decided to make Nokoriga (the 3rd A-side) close the album out.  I find it better on the album as compared to being the single after “Fuyu no Bench”.  The main problem I had was that it sounded like the A-sides previous and really didn’t have identity on its own merit.  I still do feel the same way but as it’s the album’s conclusion…I find it oddly better.  I still do consider the 2nd A-side better but Nokoriga is slowly growing.

Tracks Recommended

  • S
  • MOM
  • Ito
  • Ghost Apartment
  • gossip!!

Song of Avoidance

  • Cafe de Bossa

I was kind of worried with M&W compared to “dead stock” this time around simply because the A-sides weren’t all that great except “S”.  The album is good for what it is, but it’s just not as good as their last album.  It just feels as it SID took it maybe a but too easy this time around and I kind of wanted more out of it. 

 

Leave a comment