Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

FLOWER – forget-me-not ~Wasurenagusa~ August 25, 2012

Filed under: FLOWER — solarblade @ 9:27 pm

Track Listing

  1. forget-me-not ~Wasurenagusa~
  2. YOUR GRAVITY
  3. CALL
  4. Still (Limited Pressing only)
  5. SAKURA Regret (Limited Pressing only)
  6. forget-me-not ~Wasurenagusa~ (Instrumental)

1. forget-me-not ~Wasurenagusa~

As the newest GUNDAM theme, FLOWER took it upon themselves to releae something good for it and forget-me-not is probably their quickest paced track which is good but it’s still in the vein of their previous singles.  As I listen to the song it starts to feel like there’s only one girl really singing the song and that bothered me for some reason.  It’s not a bad song but I like they previous A-sides a bit more.

2. YOUR GRAVITY

When I hear this song the first thing I notice is the fact that the lead singer in this song sounds a lot like Kanayan and this kind of song is that summery and bright song.  I’m not disappointed by the song but it does feel a bit meh when compared to other songs.

3. CALL

To me, CALL is the ballad of the single and there doesn’t seem to be a concrete lead in the song.  It’s light and and takes the R&B quite nicely.  Once the chorus comes up, the song kind of goes downhill for me for some reason.  I guess it’s the synths that kind of disappoint me because they’re oh so present in most of the group’s stuff so far.  It’s a song that could grow on me.

4. Still

On the limited pressing of the edition (the one with the GUNDAM on it), it takes out the previous B-sides and replaces them with the group’s previous two A-sides.  Starting with their debut, Still is still pretty much a song that I’ve come to enjoy moer since it was first released.  I mean it is a lot like “forget-me-not” but this came first.  Definitely one of the nicer debuts I’ve heard.

5. SAKURA Regret

I used to think SAKURA Regret was better than “Still” but not anymore, I’ve started to see that the song is kind of boring more nowadays even though the vocalists are sounding so smoother.  I guess it’s a nice ballad, but I think this is becoming their weakest A-side nowadays,

 

 

FLOWER’s 3rd single and this one is starting to wear on me.  I still don’t like the EXILE effect this group has (3 singers and a bunch of backup dancers).  forget-me-not isn’t bad and is the most upbeat track yet which is something the group needed.  However, YOUR GRAVITY and CALL are just boring songs that sound like other FLOWER songs out there.  Then there’s the GUNDAM edition with all three A-sides together and I’m kind of like…couldn’t we have waited for the album?  I don’t know, but this release felt super lazy IMO.

 

One Response to “FLOWER – forget-me-not ~Wasurenagusa~”

  1. Eric Wong Says:

    I agree with u. Except “Still”, “Sakura regret” and the new one “forget-me-not”, other songs are not my cup of tea. So I am going to buy the Gundam version as I haven’t buy any CD of Flower before 🙂


Leave a Reply

