Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Tomato n’ Pine – PS4U August 28, 2012

Filed under: Tomato n' Pine — solarblade @ 8:27 am

Track Listing

  1. Train Scatting
  2. Wanna Dance!
  3. Nanairo☆Namida
  4. Nagisa ni Matsuwaru Etcetera
  5. 10gatsu no Indian
  6. Captain wa Kimi da!
  7. PS2U
  8. Odore Carnival
  9. Tabidachi Transfer
  10. Jingle Girl Joui Jidai
  11. Tameiki Pink
  12. Soshite Neru Mamonaku Solitude (SNS)
  13. Daiji na Love Letter
  14. Yume no Kakera…
  15. Wanna Dance! -strike the pose remix-

1. Train Scatting

Opening Tomapai’s first major album, Train Scatting is a rather odd choice, but a unique one at that.  It sounds like it starts at a train station and the song moves into this quirky technopop song.  Like the title implies, it also features some scatting (ad-libbing basically).  The verses were interesting because it’s a little quieter but keeps this cute side going.  This is a pretty awesome first song to be honest!

2. Wanna Dance!

Unfortunately, after the first track we get a load of old songs starting with the B-side from “Jingle Girl Joui Jidai”.  I like that they moved from the cute side from “Train Scatting” into this funky disco-like feel out of Wanna Dance! and it kind of works for some strange reason.  I do feel like the ladies don’t give much of a peppy performance which has always been a small problem for them, but they just don’t seem interested in the song. 

3. Nanairo☆Namida

Moving into the third A-side released, Nanairo☆Namida is definitely my favorite of the four with its breezy synth arrangement and more interest from the trio as well.  At first it kind of reminded me of a DAISHI DANCE remix or something Q;indivi would do put nope it isn’t.  I did notice that solo lines aren’t present (most of their songs don’t) here.  It’s light and not very risk-taking, but it’s catchy and I like the trio’s harmonies together.

4. Nagisa ni Matsuwaru Etcetera

I have to be honest, I would’ve loved the other B-sides that didn’t make the cut to have been here instead of the ones that were chosen.  However, I don’t really understand this because it was a cover of a PUFFY song as a B-side so I thought it would’ve stayed there.  On the album, I think it fits coming after the A-side it was coupled with.  It has more of a prominent beat and less of the filtering…I still think it suffers a bit from blandness but I think it’s somewhat growing on me.

5. 10gatsu no Indian

Next up is the B-side from “Tabidachi Transfer” and I also feel like this was a pretty bad choice to include the song because I still dislike the song quite a bit.  It lacks oomph and the song itself is kind of bland (though I kind of like the tropical theme it was trying to go for). 

6. Captain wa Kimi da!

Moving on, we move into the group’s first single (which was an indies release and the first release two of the three members).  Listening to the song again, it oddly reminds me of “Wanna Dance!” with it’s funky rhythms and the like.  Like I said on the single review, I do think it lacks emotion as well (except in some areas).  Not bad, but not really all that great.

7. PS2U

Might be wondering why it’s bolded, but it’s just POP SONG 2 U just under a new title (I guess to fit the sort of title track theme).  That being said it also didn’t go through any changes as well so it’s the same song from their “Captain wa Kimi da!” single.  I kind of finding myself enjoying the song more since it kind of has this Tommy february6 sound which is pretty cool.  Yeah I like this song now lol.

8. Odore Carnival

FINALLY, we get a new song with Odore Carnival which was used as the promotional song for the album.  Unlike the songs before it, it has a bit more push in its arrangement which is so good and the fact that the trio sounds more lively made me extremely happy.  I’m not sure how to describe its style but it’s upbeat and heavy on the idol part.  Still, it stands out a lot from the album against the amount of old songs that are on here.

9. Tabidachi Transfer

Back to a couple of their older songs, Tabidachi Transder is kind of like Nanairo☆Namida in the way it also has this breezy synthpop style which is cool but they sound too similar in places and this song is tad a bit too long for its own good.  I should like this more because this song came first and all, but I just can’t seem to get into it without thinking it’s a ripoff.

10. Jingle Girl Joui Jidai

Luckily the last song that’s from their singles come next and I came to the conclusion that JGJJ kind of reminds me a lot of stuff that Vanilla Beans would do since it kind of has this 60’s pop sound (but the added effect of being a Christmas song).  It’s kind of also to me showing their move towards something different from Tomapai.

11. Tameiki Pink

Now to get into the majority of the new songs, Tameiki Pink comes first and it’s a pretty song to listen to considering it’s the ballad of the album lol.  The harmonization in the song is quite pleasant to listen to, but the song is quite the sleepy tune because the arrangement is really laidback and soft.  Still it is one of a kind on the album so it might intrigue some listeners.

12. Soshite Neru Mamonaku Solitude (SNS)

Pico beats used for SNS?  I think the album went back to more of a cute direction with this song but the ladies sound rather genki for the song which is a nice change.  I’m loving the chorus where the guitars make an appearance.  It kind of does remind me of Buono! but the hard guitar melody does throw the song off a little bit…it’s kind of like BABYMETAL gone wrong IMO.  Suffice to say, this song is just a little too much and a bit too messy,

13. Daiji na Love Letter

Like “Jingle Girl Joui Jidai”, I get Vanilla Beans from this song too but also a little of “Odore Carnival” because of it’s brassy nature.  I’m noticing at this point that the new songs have a little more life to them compared to the pre-album songs.  I don’t get it, but I’m enjoying this song but for what reason is unknown to me since it has elements of their songs previous…hmmm

14. Yume no Kakera…

I also had bolded this track because while it never was on any of Tomapai’s releases, it was featured on a tribute album for ZONE (which makes sense because it is a cover).  I would also seem to place this song alongside “Nanairo☆Namida” and “Tabidachi Transfer” because it also has a breezy synth-pop style.  That being said, it’s the best of the three funny enough and this made for a worthy cover (even if it’s very un-ZONE).

15. Wanna Dance! -strike the pose remix-

I’m kind of surprised that Tomapai decided to close the album with a remix of a B-side no less.  Unlike the disco vibes from the original, the remix presents us Wanna Dance! with more of club style which sounds cool at first because the song sounds like Madonna’s “Vogue” for some reason and then it all made sense in the title that it was supposed to sounds like the classic tune😄.  Kind of chilled out but also relaxing.  I have to say though that I kind of enjoyed this a lot…even more than the original lol!

Tracks Recommended

  • Train Scatting
  • Wanna Dance! -strike the pose remix-
  • PS2U
  • Odore Carnival
  • Nanairo☆Namida

Song of Avoidance

  • Soshite Neru Mamonaku Solitude (SNS)

I hate to say it, but I’m not really feeling for Tomapai’s first major label album.  I kind of didn’t like the fact they chose most of the crappy B-sides to be added, but a lot of the songs lacked emotion from the girls (basically all the pre-album songs).  I also noticed that there were no solo lines in these songs (and if there were, they were too small of parts).  There were moments where the group is heading in the right direction which is the new songs so it’s alright, but I just can’t get into this album.

 

Leave a Reply

