Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Buono! – SHERBET September 3, 2012

Filed under: Buono! — solarblade @ 3:12 am

Track Listing

  1. FEVER
  2. GO! GO! Gouda
  3. Hatsukoi Cider (Album version)
  4. Mirai Drive
  5. BELIEVE★★★
  6. Natsu no Hoshizora
  7. Never gonna stop!

1. FEVER

I love that Buono! started the mini with something that sounds familiar to their older sound.  FEVER is pretty cool giving their pop/rock flavor a much better aggressive sound.  Plus I love all three ladies singing here and I can tell that all worked nicely together…and Momoko isn’t squeaky like she normally is.  A great way to kick things off!

2. GO! GO! Gouda

I was surprised that thr trio would have such a short song with GO! GO! Gouda which sounds a bit more lively and fun which stands out for me for some reason.  I love the hooks of the tune and I hear a lot of Miyabi than the other two.  I’m a little surprised that it’s so short though at under 2 minutes.  It feels like it could’ve gone a LOT longer so I feel sort of disappointed but I liked what it could’ve been.

3. Hatsukoi Cider (Album version)

I’m surprised they added Hatsukoi Cider to the album but not “DEEP MIND” since btoh were A-sides and all.  According to the album we actually have a new version of the Suugoku Joshi Gakuen ending theme ^_^.  However, at first listen I didn’t really hear the difference but closer observation shows that the background has kind of got the echo effect treatment giving it more of a live version.  It sounds a bit better but also somewhat more abrasive to me.  I think I rather listen to the original where these things aren’t present. Hatsukoi Cider is still the great song I remembered earlier this year.

4. Mirai Drive

I like that they calmed down a bit for Mirai Drive which replaces the hardened guitar riffs for something a little more synth-based and light in style.  It’s a bit out of character for Buono! (like majority of “partenza”) but I feel like it works somewhat!  Different and ended up actually being the best song from the mini IMO.

5. BELIEVE★★★

After the slower “Mirai Drive” things need to get back to the goodness of Buono!’s overall sound and BELIEVE★★★ does a good job since it kind of reminds me of the songs from their first album.  It’s upbeat and has a cute undertone to it which stands out for me.  It’s a peppy little tune and fits Momoko, Airi, and Miyabi just fine. 

6. Natsu no Hoshizora

As the lone ballad of the mini, Natsu no Hoshizora is kind of another oddball song here because it is quieter and lacks the guitars and stuff.  It’s kind of like “My alright sky” but with Miyabi and Momoko added haha.  I think they did good for the song but there’s some thin notes in there that kind of screwed their melodic togetherness in the chorus, but it’s not a bad…just lacking in some areas.

7. Never gonna stop!

The final song is oddly enough the track that was used a promotion material for the album, Never gonna stop! kind of ends the same way it opens.  It’s a pretty fun song to listen to and the three sound solid in the tune which is a good thnig for sure!  I have to say, this song is quite impressive and is almost on par with “Mirai Drive” in best song.

 

 

After that little oddity that was “partenza”, Buono! sought to makes things right with their 2nd mini-album, SHERBET and it does sound like what the trio has been doing ever since their debut.  I enjoyed the upbeat rock songs and the two odd tracks quite a bit and the trio are continually sounding better with each release…The only frown would be the new version of Hatsukoi Cider…it felt unnecessary IMO.  Not bad…but where’s “DEEP MIND”???

 

Leave a Reply

