Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

AAA – 777 ~TRIPLE SEVEN~ September 4, 2012

Filed under: AAA — solarblade @ 7:40 am

Track Listing

  1. 777 OPENING
  2. Charge ▶ Go!
  3. 777 ~We can sing a song!~
  4. SAILING
  5. Perfect
  6. Lights
  7. Last Love
  8. I$M
  9. Sorry, I…
  10. Still Love You
  11. WISHES
  12. Thank you (39 ver.)
  13. We Are! (bonus track)
  14. Special Summer Medley (CD only)

1. 777 OPENING

Hey. props to AAA for opening the album with a fanfare of sorts.  For being a near 2 minute intro, 777 OPENING actually kinds of sounds a little out of place.  I mean the instrumentation and melody screams Disney for all its worth or Kingdom Hearts in that direction.  I recognize the melody is of one of the songs of the albun but I’m not sure quite yet.  Odd introduction but fancy.

2. Charge ▶ Go!

Makes sense that their first vocal song is actually the first A-side released for the album (and oddly enough was a digital single as well before the single release).  I kind of liked that they began the song on a slow and ballad-like atmosphere but then things seem to change into an upbeat and dance heavy tune.  It’s a big difference between the two parts so it does feel a little strange.  Hidaka’s rap still feels awkward so that messed it up and it’s just a long song overall….I like it, but in moderation basically.

3. 777 ~We can sing a song!~

As the pseudo title track AND 4th A-side released, 777 is still pretty good for being a summer song.  If you were looking for that summer song that AAA has been known for doing, this song would answer that with no fault which is the good point for me.  All the members sound upbeat and peppy which adds to this happy-go-lucky nature.  Plus it’s always good when there’s saxophones in the arrangement…this has actually grown on me since the single review not too long ago.

4. SAILING

As the 2nd A-side released, SAILING was always be the sentimental track because of it’s positive lyrics and overall mid-tempo synthness it has.  I will say that Hidaka’s opening line of ~vortex makes me hard~ still manages to make chuckle every time I listen to it LOL.  It still is a pretty good song but I still feel as if the chorus felt out of place when put against the verses.

5. Perfect

The first of 3 brand new songs on the album, Perfect comes first and I feel like this should’ve been placed in between “777” and “SAILING” because it felt like it has the summery vibes from the former and the synth usage of the latter.  What’s interesting is that this song is sung by only Nissy, Urata, Shinji, Shuta, and Hidaka (who raps of course),  It’s pretty basic of a song but it’s not bad.

6. Lights

As the secondary A-side from “Charge ▶ Go!/Lights”, I was kind of surprised this song made the album cut though at the same not since it is an A-side and all that.  After “Perfect”, it just slows to a snail’s pace for the song which kind of bored the hell out of me.  I guess I liked it back then because it featured all of the members equally, but now it kind of just blows right by without too much notice.

7. Last Love

To pick us up from the slump of the slowness from “Lights”, Chiaki and Misako get their own song in Last Love which is quite a bump in a dance style and I kind of like it for some reason.  It does remind of some K-pop girl-groups out there but I kind of found myself enjoying this either way around. 

8. I$M

I found it that AAA chose I$M (B-side from “Still Love You”) and made it the promo song for the album.  It’s still a strange song for me but I think it’s one of their more unique efforts in recent times.  I also seem to love that all 7 members get a big chunk of solo lines  in the song which gives a big effect of distribution here.  I have to admit that Hidaka sounded AMAZING in the song lol.  This is probably one of the best B-sides they’ve ever done as a group…I’m happy they chose this to promote the album.

9. Sorry, I…

Which is great that the last brand new song comes after because it’s another thumping dance track!  Add that it’s the lone group track that’s new for them, they tackled it pretty well.  I actually think it fits perfectly between the two songs since it has things that are taken from both “I$M” and “Still Love You” but adds a dubstep breakdown.  It’s funny though that I’m not too bothered by it because Hidaka works his magic around those parts.  I’d say it’s my favorite of the new tracks.

10. Still Love You

If they’re A-sides of the era had this much power, it would’ve been a great experience.  Still Love You is really good and just has all the things that made a song like this work!  Plus I love hearing the verses with everyone singing during it.  Hidaka also sounds really cool during his part.  Definitely fits with their better dance numbers out there (which is quite a lot). 

11. WISHES

I like the slowing down for the end of “Still Love You” kind of rolls into the B-side from “SAILING” since this is kind of a brick wall back to a ballad.  Kind of like “Lights”, the song kind of just moves at a very SLOOOOW pace.  I have made the previous connection on the single review, so this still kind of feels like a clone more than anything to me.  I just remember hearing a lot of Urata and Misako and not much else beyond that lol.

12. Thank you (39 ver.)

Strange seeing this song here.  Actually it was released digitally way before “Charge ▶ Go!” was released.  Then it found its way being released on their B-side compilation, “Another side of #AAABEST”.  Now, we find it towards the end of the album as a new version and it’s quite apparant that it is a new version as well.  The original had quite a bit of charm which I enjoyed but the new version kind of took it out and left us with a another piano ballad.  I’m basically disappointed because it took out the good things about the original.  I guess the good thing that came out of this version is that the members sound a bit better, but that’s a small thing.

13. We Are!

The first bonus track, is a cover of Hiroshi Kitadani’s big theme for the anime, One Piece (or as many people would recognize more when Tohoshinki covered it).  Which by the way, reminds me of Toho’s version because it’s loud and full of summer vibes all over (hmmm shouldn’t “777” been here since they kind of ride the same vein and all.  I actually like We Are! so AAA gave the song good justice and everyone seemed to have a lot of fun here!

14. Special Summer Medley

  • SUNSHINE
  • No End Summer
  • Summer Revolution

They’ve released so many medleys during this era that it isn’t funny.  As this is the 4th medley, AAA stuck to a motif this time around by giving three of their summer songs time to shine.  First is SUNSHINE which was updated back on “No cry No more” so I am not surprised that it started things off! It’s still a pretty fun song to listen to and just amps you up in a good way.  Moving on, it smoothly transitions into No End Summer which was a song that I haven’t paid much attention since I haven’t reviewed much in the “AROUND” era quite yet.  It’s a bit more funkier and has a light reggae touch to it when compared to the two other songs here.  Then it quickly breaks into one of the more recent tracks, Summer Revolution which is sung by Chiaki and Misako and sounds like it uses a lot of the original arrangement which is great since the synths were so cool.  Even though it doesn’t have a long length time, the choruses did make for a good closing to the album!  Overall, this was a nice medley, but they could’ve used a lot more summer songs IMO

Tracks Recommended

  • Still Love You
  • I$M
  • We Are!
  • Sorry, I…
  • 777 ~We can sing a song!~

Song of Avoidance

  • WISHES

After leaving the hands of Tetsuya Komuro from “Buzz Communication”, they returned with their 7th studio album 777 ~TRIPLE SEVEN~ and I’m kind of disappointed but I can say that this is better than “depArture”.  I kind of have mixed feelings because it started out kind of slow, picked itself up at Last Love and lost it at WISHES to come back in a meh way minus the cover song.  The good thing is that this is the first album where all 7 members sung on equal terms which is such a blessing and much better than when they started when it was just Urata, Nissy, Misako, and Hidaka while the other three (and Yukari) were just shoved to the back, this shows a lot of equality and I praise that.  I do wish they had better A-sides, but this wasn’t bad, just kind of under the weather.  I actually think it kind of ties with “Buzz Communication” in how it turned out.

 

Leave a Reply

