Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

the GazettE – DIVISION September 6, 2012

Filed under: the GazettE — solarblade @ 7:30 am

Track Listing

  1. [Depth]
  2. Ibitsu
  3. Kago no Sanagi
  4. Hedoro
  5. Kagefumi
  6. Yoin
  7. [Diplosomia]

CD 2

  1. [XI]
  2. DERANGEMENT
  3. REQUIRED MALFUNCTION
  4. DRIPPING INSANITY
  5. ATTITUDE
  6. GABRIEL ON THE GALLOWS
  7. [Melt]

1. [Depth]

As the intro to DIVISION, [Depth] has an unsettling kind of sound that kind of fits with the band’s V-kei motif.  It’s kind of rather eh and it doesn’t seem to really leave a mark as the intro to the album but whatever.

2. Ibitsu

At least with Ibitsu, the band kicks things off quite loudly.  The song is quite heavy and pretty much a safe start since it’s the band with no synths and randomness goingh on.  I really liked it oddly enough and RUKI sounded pretty nice…Basically it’s a straightforward rock track from the band and it turned out pretty well!

3. Kago no Sanagi

When we get into the song, Kago no Sanagi kind of reminds me of their last single, “REMEMBER THE URGE” because it’s a bit brighter on impact and things seem to be working a lot better than I thought.  RUKI sounds so good when he’s singing deep and it just gave this track a sinsiter but cool sound.  Definately one of the strong tracks on the album.

4. Hedoro

I was wondering when the band would come in with something wild and Hedoro is pretty loud and in your face.  I have to say the arrangement to me sounds a bit strange to me since there’s some weird whipping songs going on that I’m just not used to by them.  Add in that RUKI gets filtered in a couple places and it’s giving Hedoro a unique sound.  Though the chorus is a bit of a downer to me…kind sounds bland.  Still I do give it props and the guitar solos are sweet!

5. Kagefumi

Calming things down a little bit, Kagefumi rolls in and it’s a bit strange as the lone mid-tempo tune on the disc.  Unfortunately, the song is ultimately a bore for me as they move a little too slow through the song and I’m just left with a melancholic look on my face.  I guess it’s doing its job, but it really is the low point for the album here.

6. Yoin

As the final vocal track on Disc 1, Yoin seemed like it was going to start like a ballad, but Yoin oozed evil throughout which is a total surprise here.  It has the same mid-tempo atmosphere to it but RUKI sings in his uber deep tone and the dramtic strings and heavy sound in the chorus just blows me away.  This was what I wanted to hear from the band and they executed it very well!

7. [Diplosomia]

As the outro on the first disc, [Diplosomia] kind of goes full circle back to “[Depth]” with the weird intro with the far-away chanting schpeel.  However, at the midway point, the song gets this buzzing synth going and it’s kind of randomly placed (especially when it’s at the end of the disc and all that). 

CD 2

1. [XI]

I guess it makes sense now how “[Diplosomia]” kind marks the end, but also makes sure the beginning of the second disc is out of place.  What I mean is that the second disc begins with an intro, but is heavily electronic for them.  I fast beat and a repetition of ~break the connection~.  I love the electro stuff (which is kind of borderlining dubstep) but it’s still a fast pace tune and an interesting way to open the second half up.

2. DERANGEMENT

I was wondering where the group’s experimentation would be and it seems they shoved all those ideas in the second disc.  Starting with DERANGEMENT is quite something because RUKI is under auto-tune for this heavy song and I oddly find myself enjoying some of it.  However, all of a sudden, RUKI does his growling and it kind of bothers me in the song which coincides with the squeaky synths lines.  I also feel like they’re singing the song in poor English here…At first, I thought the song was great, but then after a while it started to sound VERY messy and all over the place.  Oh well…

3. REQUIRED MALFUNCTION

It seemed they took out the synths for the next track but left the auto-tune in full supply in the track.  REQUIRED MALFUNCTION is a lot like the previous song but with some cooler chords and a little much more from RUKI.  The growling is also present, but it’s not as detrimental as the ones in “DERANGEMENT”.  Not bad, not bad.

4. DRIPPING INSANITY

I’m kind of at the point where I’m just slightly bored of what we’re getting out of the second disc, but DRIPPING INSANITY is one of the songs that breaks the mold and fits in between both discs because it has the synthwork flying around, but it’s also toned down on the vocal issues which made this the easiest song to swallow.  I really enjoyed this oddly enough ^_^

5. ATTITUDE

If there was one song that drove me insane, ATTITUDE would be the “PSYCHOPATH” of the album because it’s just a lot of RUKI screaming the song with small parts of actual singing with a lot disc scratching and synth streaks.  It really gave me a headache and I couldn’t handle most of it (though the quiet bit with RUKI singing under filters was AWESOME)…lol sad that that is the only remotely good thing about the song.

6. GABRIEL ON THE GALLOWS

With a rather intriguing title, GABRIEL ON THE GALLOWS kind of goes back to “Ibitsu” with his hard sound and heavy action and it sounds like all kinds of rage is going on.  Sadly the song once again depends on RUKI’s death growls and I’m just not into the song but goddamn the rest of the song is pretty evil and cool to listen to.  *sigh* I actually am on the fence with this one.

7. [Melt]

Strange that the final track is actually 3 minutes long…Anyways, [Melt] has a dark electro arrangement which is cool and all but it goes on way too long for me.  It just kind of continues with the same arrangement with some small additions and changes but it’s still a strange ending to the album.

Tracks Recommended

  • Yoin
  • DRIPPING INSANITY
  • Kago no Sanagi
  • Ibitsu
  • REQUIRED MALFUNCTION

Song of Avoidance

  • ATTITUDE

Just like the title, it is a VERY divided album.  First off, I thought it was very strange that the band would announce the album ALL THE WAY BACK in March and then release this as both a one disc Regular edition (it lacks [Depth] and [Diplosomia] and this 2-disc edition.  It really does sound like two different identities beyond the kanji titles and the CAPS LOCK titles.  I liked songs from both sides, but I felt more comfortable with the first disc because there was nothing on their experimenting weirdness that the second was drenched in.  I just feel like it didn’t work for them and I kind of like this less than “TOXIC”. Oddly enough.

 

Leave a Reply

