Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kana Nishino – Love Place September 9, 2012

Filed under: Kana Nishino — solarblade @ 10:31 am

Track Listing

  1. *Prologue* ~Welcome~
  2. Watashitachi
  3. Day 7
  4. GO FOR IT!!
  5. Be Strong
  6. Happy Half Year!
  7. Love Song
  8. FANTASY
  9. Is this love?
  10. Honey
  11. SAKURA, I love you?
  12. Tatoe Donna ni…
  13. kiss & hug
  14. My Place
  15. *Epilogue* ~Love Place~

1. *Prologue* ~Welcome~

As like the other Kanayan albums, we have a prologue to get through first and of course it’s a pretty little intro.  It’s really nice and hearing Kana sing fully is really pleasant and sets the tone for a good portion of the album.  Pleasant, light, and just all around sweet to listen to….I enjoyed this intro a lot.

2. Watashitachi

Unfortunately, it leads into the worst A-side of this era.  I really had a hard time trying to remember what this song sounds like because honestly, these songs have been done numerous times by her and this is just straight up bland!  I mean her voice is nice yes, but the song is so uneventful and near 6 minutes which just draaaaags.  Yeah this is not a good way to start the album.

3. Day 7

Hahah, what a positive intro to our first new song!  Day 7 is bouncy brightness that decided to resonate with me in a nice way.  I still do feel as if the song is kind of borderlining bland just a smidge but Kana keeps the song above expectations and I kind of found myself bouncing to the beat of the song.  Not bad!

4. GO FOR IT!!

Then we get into the 4th A-side released and this kind of amps up the peppy and bright factor to an extreme.  The good thing about this song is that since I’ve reviewed the single, this song is slightly growing on me which is always a step in the right direction.  I still think the other two A-sides are still better, this is nearby ^_^.  Get it!

5. Be Strong

As the song chosen to promote the album, Be Strong was a good choice, not the best one that could’ve pushed the album better, but it’s a nice tune to listen to.  I like the piano being used a lot underneath the synths and junk.  The chorus is a little bit disappointing and doesn’t really seem to fill the song fully…which could’ve easily avoided if it had more power behind it…but not bad of a track. 

6. Happy Half Year!

OF ALL THE B-SIDES WOMAN, WHY DID YOU PICK THE WORST ONE?!?  I swear, Happy Half Year! is like punishment for the fans or something.  I don’t know why she chooses such poor B-sides for the album.  Coming from “Watashitachi”, this song kind of runs with the happy and upbeat tunes likewise before it and I just don’t like it.  This was a bit too cookie-cutter R&B/pop and I just kind of loathed the hell out of this.  The good thing…her vocals…she sounds so consistent and the higher notes she hit flawlessly…but this song is just cheesy.

7. Love Song

Getting into a nice line of new tracks, we start with the ballad, Love Song.  As it’s a ballad and not in the way like “Watahsitachi”, Love Song is kind of more quieter and easier of a listen altogether.  A very flowing and beautiful track from Kanayan.  Might come off as a bit too lame and doesn’t do much, but I like it for some reason…pretty little tune.

8. FANTASY

Things finally seem to pick up with FANTASY which is pretty unique on the album.  I mean it’s still pretty much an R&B track at its core, but this song is fun and has some interesting melodies, courtesey of the strings and some random knick-knacks here and there.  I can sense there’s a little sense of burlesque/show girl kind of deal going on but it’s a little muddled and kind of comes off as this diet coke try at that kind of setting IMO.

9. Is this love?

I was starting to wonder where the awesome Kanayan club banger was and is seems Is this love? would be the closest thing to that setting.  To me it’s kind of more towards “MAYBE” since there’s a lot more synth involvement and the song is bright and upbeat.  I still love the hooks in the bridge because she like ~K-A-N-A, Tell me what’s your name~…it’s so cute and it works!  Of course some people ended up downloading a bootleg because on some downloads, there’s a horribly (but hilarious) chinese rap section THAT ISN’T SUPPOSED TO BE THERE…if you have that…then you need to find the version without that mess. 

10. Honey

The fun continues with Honey which to me sounds like a reach back to her last album with the slight island-y pop vibe.  Or a mix of that and “Distance”.  I really like this song for some reason and it just has the theme of summer quite right here.  Definitely a little nudge to the past but I liked it for the most part ^_^

11. SAKURA, I love you?

Then we move into SAKURA, I love you? which was the second A-side of the era and I felt like this suited coming after “Honey” since they both kind of give off this summer vibe but this track isn’t really based around the season.  It’s groovy and I just love the flow of the song so much…no wonder why it’s the favorite of the era. 

12. Tatoe Donna ni…

Then we go back to the first of the era with Tatoe Donna ni… and I still find myself really enjoying this ballad (even more than newcomer “Love Song”).  After the previous track, this was actually my second favorite but that’s good for me since it made the transition to the song even sweeter.  It is a bit long like “Watashitachi” but unlike that hot mess, this actually worked since the song was engaging and Kanayan’s vocals were awesome!  Yeah, it’s that good!

13. kiss & hug

As we make our way closer to the end, kiss & hug keeps going at a slower pace which is nice.  Though the song kind of reminds me of “Be Strong” but without being too sparkly.  It’s another one of those songs where she’s done it before so its effect on me kind of flies over my head.  Though those super high notes were a little too much out of her range there lol.  It’s all right, but doesn’t have high merits from me.

14. My Place

As the final new track of the album I didn’t think I get the feel of Kingdom Hearts out of that intro (which seriously sounds like a theme from Twilight Town).  I actually think this stood out more to me than “Tatoe Donna ni…” oddly enough…then again the woodwinds and light atmosphere really worked its way around me and I just fell in love with it.  I definitely approve of seeing this and it just easily won me over.

15. *Epilogue* ~Love Place~

Like her previous albums have done, the album closes with a soft little ribbon wrap.  Like the previous track, it has a bit of a sparkly tone and it kind of goes back to the beginning with the same melody from Kanayan singing.  Though I’m a little annoyed at how she says ~love place~ as much as she does.  At least it ended on a good note!

Tracks Recommended

  • Is this love?
  • SAKURA, I love you?
  • My Place
  • Tatoe Donna ni…
  • Day 7

Song of Avoidance

  • Watashitachi

So here we are with Kanayan’s 4th album!  I’m kind of torn how I feel about the album.  I will say overall this is probably her best offering yet vocally which is pretty good.  As for the songs themselves, there were some winners and some losers but it kind of evened up by half.  The thing I missed was the cooler and groovy songs like “WRONG” and “Every Boy Every Girl” there wasn’t any of that and that saddened me a bit.  Still…for her 4th, this is moving her into a great direction ^^

 

One Response to “Kana Nishino – Love Place”

  1. rekkazan Says:

    …..I’ve always thought that rap section in “Is this love?” a bit weird.
    LOL damn :)) Thanks for the info.


Leave a Reply

