Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

RURUTIA – NODE from R September 11, 2012

Filed under: RURUTIA — solarblade @ 6:12 am

Track Listing

  1. Apeture
  2. The Name Of Anger
  3. Mystic Pendulum
  4. Behind the blue
  5. Spectrum
  6. Invitation
  7. In The Majority
  8. Shin’ai
  9. Iris
  10. I Keep On Lovin’ you
  11. Rainbow
  12. Mystic Pendulum -The Rusty Veil Ver.-
  13. Hitotsubu no Tomoshibi
  14. RESONANCE
  15. Lullaby

1. Apeture

I like RURUTIA opening the album with an intro song like Apeture.  It starts with a rainstorm before moving into a nice strings/piano melody.  Though this could’ve been utilized as a full track and I would’ve been interested even more! 

2. The Name Of Anger

Our first vocal track, The Name Of Anger actually stands as the longest track of the album (only one over 6 minutes).  When I first listened to the song I couldn’t help but feel like it’s similar to “Seirios” because of the gritty synths and similar dramatics.  I will say that I liked RURUTIA’s vocals in the song and flows smoothly with the arrangement.  The only thing I would say is that it does kind of feel a bit too long and RURU’s vocals crackle sometimes…but it’s still pretty strong.

3. Mystic Pendulum

What a pretty song Mystic Pendulum is hahaha.  I think it places RURUTIA into a bit of a mainstream feel but I don’t mind that because this song has a beautiful arrangement and the drips of water and other sounds really make the song a lot more busy.  I feel like this song wants to go back to her older days and I like that push I get with this one.

4. Behind the blue

RURUTIA released two mini-albums prior to this album and all the original tracks are on the album.  Behind the blue was the first one released and its title track comes first as well.  Kind of like “The Name Of Anger” it has these synth buzzes that make it pop out to the listener but the song otherwise is mostly a piano ballad with RURUTIA lightly singing along.  I still think it is the best of the 5 tracks that she released before this album sadly.

5. Spectrum

Trying to make the album a little more uplifting and fun (somewhat), Spectrum comes along and makes me a LOT more happier.  Unlike the songs so far on the album, this ended up being her most upbeat track.  It’s definitely an electro song and RURUTIA’s vocals are under auto-tune as well giving it a unique experience.  Suffice to say that this song really stood out to me and is my favorite LOL.

6. Invitation

Which is weird that it leads into this track from the “RESONANCE” mini-album.  When I first heard it, it did stand as disappointing because it was so simplisic and just not eventful for me.  On the album, it does stand out a bit more because it is bright and soft at the same time.  It’s sort of grown on me, but it’s still isn’t at the level as most of the previous tracks are.

7. In The Majority

To pick the pace up slightly after “Invitation”, In The Majority has a similar setting and mood like the previous track, but things are moving at a brisker pace.  Once the horns enter, the song becomes quite epic and just reminds me of KOKIA a little bit.  Another great song from the album.

8. Shin’ai

Another “RESONANCE” track, Shin’ai makes for a good track coming after “In The Majority” because it has a bit more guitarwork and it also has a bit of a regular J-pop sound to it.  Beyond the arrangement, the song doesn’t stand out to me much.  I still do enjoy it once in a while but it’s nothing I’d probably favorite.

9. Iris

Weird that the next song begins with someone winding up a music box and letting it play a little bit before the full arrangement and RURUTIA enter the song.  The song overall kind of just bores me the entire time since it barely gets anywhere and RURUTIA is once again cracking her vocals for some reason and add in that she kind of pushes herself to much in the vocals, almost struggling in some parts to get certain notes out…I really didn’t enjoy this one.

10. I Keep On Lovin’ you

With all these interesting titles on the album, it seems weird to get this one for some reason.  She kind of gets even more simpler here with her vocals and acoustic guitar.  Being this vacant in arrangement does give up red flags, but I like it this way.  HOWEVER, I think another artist could’ve sung it MUCH better than RURUTIA did.  Her vocals are scratchy and some parts cause a speedbump in the song.  It’s not as disturbingly boring like “Iris” was…but those vocals…

11. Rainbow

Pipe Organ is always nice to hear in a song and Rainbow (from “Behind the blue”) comes in with this awesome intro that made me love it but opens to another lighthearted song.  It kind of does remind of “Invitation” a lot for some reason.  Add in said organ and a sweet guitar solo and you get this oddball song.  Not bad of a song, but it is a little strange to me.

12. Mystic Pendulum -The Rusty Veil Ver.-

An alternate version of Mystic Pendulum?  I’m not sure how to feel about this version of the song because it a lot lighter but also has drum rolls in which the original doesn’t have.  I guess this version has more oomph than the original which is nice…but it’s not a HUGE difference and I’m thinking this could’ve been saved for a later release (like a single or something).

13. Hitotsubu no Tomoshibi

Things seem to slow down again with Hitotsubu no Tomoshibi which acts as the anison piano ballad which is nice to hear from RURUTIA.  It kind of sounds like a night song since there’s some twinkles here and there and some light synths as well.  Not bad, but the song is slightly forgettable after a while.

14. RESONANCE

The leading track from the second mini-album is finding itself near the end and I’m just a bit meh with it.  It’s like taking “Shin’ai” and slowing it down and just throwing it out there as its own song.  I do think she sounds stronger here which is pretty good, but I still think the song is a bit of a snoozefest compared to other tracks.

15. Lullaby

Closing the album, Lullaby is well what the title describes, it’s a literal lullaby.  Like “Hitotsubu no Tomoshibi”, it has a the night sprinkles found throughout the tune which makes it more pleasant and soothing to the ears.  RURUTIA’s vocals are so pretty and light that it just fits together and makes for an appropriate ending to the album. 

Tracks Recommended

  • Spectrum
  • The Name Of Anger
  • Lullaby
  • Mystic Pendulum
  • In The Majority

Song of Avoidance

  • Iris

I can’t say much about this album when comparing to her album before “Seirios” but I can say that this album is much better than said album.  I think she was going for something more mainstream and it shows a lot on NODE from R.  I do like more of her upbeat and intricate songs more than her plain ballads for the most part which there’s of the latter sadly.  I’ve also noticed her vocals have become slightly inconsistent…which might be somewhat a bad thing, but I guess it’s a good album but a little meh in places.

 

3 Responses to “RURUTIA – NODE from R”

  1. aquagon Says:

    And as I far as I know, Mystic Pendulum is also one of the themes for Atelier Ayesha.

  2. Pirkaf Says:

    Spectrum is a horrible disco/techno song with distorted vocals, probably her worst song ever.

    • OtakuOujo Says:

      ITA, Spectrum is certainly far from her best song… so I guess the old saying is true “They can’t all be winners” which is a shame because Rurutia was on such a unwavering winning strike.


Leave a Reply

