Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Morning Musume – ⑬ Colorful Character September 13, 2012

Filed under: Morning Musume — solarblade @ 5:02 am

Track Listing

  1. One・Two・Three
  2. What’s Up? Ai wa Dou na no yo~
  3. Be Alive
  4. Lalala no Pipipi
  5. Dokka~n Cappricio
  6. The Matenrou Show
  7. Zero Kara Hajimaru Seishun
  8. Ren’ai Hunter
  9. Chikyuu ga Naiteiru
  10. Namida Hitoshizuku
  11. Waratte! YOU
  12. Pyocopyoco Ultra

1. One・Two・Three

I think it was a smart decision to let Momusu actually kick things off with the single that bossted them back into popularity in a big way!  One・Two・Three is still an amazing song to listen to and just has all the elements that I was wanting (well maybe not so much on the line distribution).  I love how electronic it can get and hearing Reina and Riho (and Sayu) sing the song gives off a cool vibe.  It still is a shame that anyone besides those three are left with one syllable for the most part…but Ayumi and Masaki stepped out oddly enough ^^.  SOOOOOOO good of a song!  Definitely deserved the sales it got!

2. What’s Up? Ai wa Dou na no yo~

The first new song on the album and first track that we got a preview from, What’s Up? could’ve also begun the album as well because it such a strong intro vibe to me.  I’m loving the fact that I hear Sayu and Mizuki actually come out to the front alongside Reina and Riho who are oddly enough rapping in the song as well.  I feel like it’s refreshing for some reason.  The biggest surprise though is in the last chorus where I hear Masaki sing….dang…she ‘s standing out quite a bit!  I really enjoyed this song a LOT and that’s a surprise to me!

3. Be Alive

Our next track was also previewed earlier since it’s used in the 11th Gen Auditions as the vocal test (while “What’s Up?” is the dance test).  At first the song didn’t really stand out because it started like a ballad and with just Reina and Riho singing it was starting to rattle me out.  Once the chorus comes in, the tune basically turns into “Seishun Collection” 2 because of the similar structure and feel.  It’s all right, but nothing I’d really return to.

4. Lalala no Pipipi

So come to find out, the Rokkies get solo tracks on the album!  Sayu’s is first and of course it’s a lot like “Suki da na Kimi ga” in which it’s electro and sugary cute (and that title really screams Koharu for some reason) *shudders*.  For me I don’t find myself getting into this one like I did with Sayu’s last robo-musume song and I don’t know why…maybe there isn’t much of a hook for me to grab on, but for now this is ok at best.

5. Dokka~n Cappricio

I guess we needed our “OK YEAH!” on the album and we get it pretty early with Dokka~n Cappricio and the energy is pretty much off the wall.  I am curious as to what the lyrics all mean because I hear a lot of ~sexy~ being thrown around.  No, this isn’t Ayamen Japan but this is still pretty feisty.  I’m not sure of who’s singing what but I hear so much Reina in the song for some reason.  Also, it’s the shortest song (a little over 3 minutes).  I also don’t find this song very memorable but it’s there.

6. The Matenrou Show

Oh lord, the mysterious A-side that didn’t get a true PV…or did it?  The song has slightly grown on me after the single was released, but I still feel sorry for the girls that aren’t Riho and Reina because the 8 members get SHAFTED so harshly in this song.  I have to say that Riho’s performance was shaky and I just wished someone else took over her lines.  That is until recently when a short clip of Gaki was singing Riho’s lines (Pachinko tie-in and the fact that the 9th and 10th gen are too young too participate) I really want to hear the Gaki/Sayu/Reina version of this.  The arrangement as I’ve said before sounds a lot like other H!P songs (mostly “Busu ni Naranai Tetsugaku”) but I have grown to somewhat enjoy it.  Still my least favorite of the A-sides released for the album.

7. Zero Kara Hajimaru Seishun

After “The Matenrou Show” it’s just strange to come into song.  Add in that I’m shocked to hear Masaki sing first and then Sayu to come after…I wasn’t expecting that at ALL!  It kind of acts as the cute song of the album (even though Seishun do Mannaka” does more for that style.  Then again I think everyone gets lines in some fashion so that’s pretty good to hear, but the song is a slow burner for me.  I’m pretty sure this will grow, but as it stands right now…it’s a little forgettable.

8. Ren’ai Hunter

Here we are at Ren’ai Hunter which as we all remember is Gaki and Aika’s final single and also the change from whatever happened on “Pyocopyoco Ultra” to this song that taps into dance, electro, and a little of dubstep.  I still love the hell out of this song as well almost bypassing “One・Two・Three” and that’s simply because Gaki is there to kick ass!  However, there aren’t solos for any of the girls who aren’t Reina, Sayu, Gaki, and Riho (not even Aika gets a line…).  I still love the hell out of the song and even the dance is charming if not the oddest they’ve ever done lol.

9. Chikyuu ga Naiteiru

Hey guitars! Where have you been all album?  It still has a dance feel to it, but the guitarwork is a nice addition to the song.  It’s kind of like their take on “Dance de Bakoon!” but still having its own identity.  I will say that I hear a lot of Reina again which isn’t really my interest but I will say she sounds different and I’m liking what I hear from her (and with this song I have a little more interest in this rock band Reina is starting).  Plus I’m hearing a little of “What’s Up?” in the area before the final chorus…hm?  Oh and could that chorus be any more dead vocally?  Liven things up ladies!

10. Namida Hitoshizuku

So Reina gets another solo and it’s another ballad it seems which is pretty much a no-go for me but once again…she’s showing improvement over “Ai no Honoo” which is good but the song she was given is kind of bland unlike her last solo.  So it’s like a win/lose situation in a way.  Leave this for Takitty to pull!

11. Waratte! YOU

The final new track is a song left for the 9th/10th gen to deal with and it kind of has a disco vibe, but not at the levels of “The Matenrou Show”.  I’m pretty impressed with the song because it seriously showed the possibilities we can have with the new members (sans Riho).  I actually liked that Tsunku gave them a rather difficult song to sing and they all did pretty well (honestly, I didn’t even hear Haruna though I’m sure she’s in there).  My favorite of the split songs.

12. Pyocopyoco Ultra

Ever since “Platinum 9 DISC” they’ve always ended with the first A-side that started the era out (10 MY ME did end with a different song but that was a pre-existing track and the tune before it was “Shouganai Yume Oibito”).  HOWEVER, I could not fathom why this song had to end the album…it just feels weird and it doesn’t make sense.  What’s even worse is that it wouldn’t fit ANYWHERE else besides the end which is sad.  I do like the song nowadays (if I don’t imagine that BADDDDD PV it got) and I find myself humming the song quite a lot.  This is also the last time you really hear Aika with a solo so take that in mind too.  The song is cute and fun, but weird as the final track.

Tracks Recommended

  • Ren’ai Hunter
  • One・Two・Three
  • What’s Up? Ai wa Dou na no yo~
  • Waratte! YOU
  • Chikyuu ga Naiteiru

Song of Avoidance

  • Namida Hitoshizuku

Morning Musume has definitely changed their sound since “12, Smart”.  I mean Takitty and Gaki left who were their powerhouse vocalists and even Aika too had moments before she left as well.  Now we’re left with the Rokkies and the newbies (and soon the 11th generation).  I would consider this to be the converting album because now they kind of have to get used to these new members and with Reina to be the true powerhouse vocalist she’s left to carry the group on her shoulders.  While this album was all right, it’s definitely a step down from their last, but I’m sure once things get going for the new members, it’ll be back to awesomeness ^_^

 

Leave a Reply

