Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

SPYAIR – Just Do It September 26, 2012

Filed under: SPYAIR — solarblade @ 7:42 am

Track Listing

  1. Just Do It
  2. Rock’n Roll
  3. 0 GAME
  4. My World
  5. Little Summer
  6. No where, Now here
  7. Stay Gold
  8. Break Myself
  9. Naked
  10. U&I
  11. I want a place
  12. Raise Your Hands

CD 2

  1. To
  2. I’ll be there
  3. Ai Yori Aishi
  4. Reset
  5. Come on
  6. MOVIN’ ON
  7. YOU 2
  8. Why [Acoustic ver.]

1. Just Do It

So SPYAIR begins the album with a short introductory piece which is also the title track (like their last one).  I found it funny because IKE was singing the track in English, but it’s funny to hear him say the title with such a twang lol.  Beyond that, there’s not much to really say beyond that it’s an opening track.

2. Rock’n Roll

As the only B-side to make the first disc, Rock’n Roll was a pretty solid choice to join and while I don’t think it surpasses the A-sides, it’s not a bad track.  I like the energy and power of the song for sure and IKE gave a really solid performance as well.  A fitting way to start the vocal tracks ^_^.

3. 0 GAME

Moving onto the 2nd A-side for the era, 0 GAME is probably the band’s most recognizable track as it was used in Spiderman.  It’s pretty awesome that they made “Rock’n Roll” go first since it’s perfect that it leads into this hard track from the band.  Just as edgy and powerful and stood out to me from all the songs released in the era…Great tune!

4. My World

Which is fine by me because “0 GAME” leads into My World just as awesomenly.  As the first A-side released for the album, My World might not be as heavy and powerful like the previous song, it is a song that fits SPYAIR quite snuggly.  Not bad of a song and I kind of think that this and “Naked” are a lot similar…

5. Little Summer

Finally we get to some new songs!  Little Summer tones things down after the powerhouse songs that came before it and I kind of like the direction even though I still despise “BEAUTIFUL DAYS” like crazy.  This song does a good job keeping me interested and IKE’s vocals are really nice to listen to (something I noticed since “My World” towards the end had IKE cracking like crazy).  Pretty good song for the most part!

6. No where, Now here

Interesting title aside, No where, Now here kind of has some interesting turntable effects from Enzel and I kind of got a headache from that first off.  If I decided to ignore that issue, the song actually sounds really good and has a good progressive sound to it.  I am a little surprised that it’s the album’s shortest track, but this is still pretty damn good for the most part. 

7. Stay Gold

No, not the Hikki tune people lol.  Though I am a little confused at first because it’s another acoustic leading track with electrics on the background and the song begun with some auto-tuned voice saying the title.  It’s a nice track, but the auto-tuned parts are a bit uncharacteristic and doesn’t fit the atmosphere of the song.

8. Break Myself

I guess the flow of the album kind of goes wayside when Break Myself enters the fray and it’s the hardest song off the album which is a pretty good thing IMO.  Break Myself has pounding riffs from the guitarists and Enzel’s keyboarding comes back and it just WORKS.  Definitely my highlight of the album is focused right here!

9. Naked

I still think the PV for our 3rd A-side was just downright ballsy to pull.  Listening to the song nowadays it really kind of does just sound like a clone of “My World” which is a little disappointing of the sorts but at least they’re seperated by a lot of tracks.  On the album, it’s not the most intriguing song, but it’s not bad either.

10. U&I

I kind of like the opening for U&I since it’s kind of dark but holding back in a cool way.  I was expecting something huge but it kind of builds up to it into the chorus.  The chorus is slower, but it hits heavy and has this dramatic sound plus it adds up with IKE’s strong voice.  Overall, it’s a pretty awesome song!

11. I want a place

It seems Enzel was experimenting with the group again because this song has a lot of synths and auto-tuning going on.  I kind of get this “No where, Now here” kind of feel from the song which is once again a bit underwhelming since they’re so similar.  I do like the fact that there is so much synths though, it kind of gives the song a bit of a nostalgic feel to me. 

12. Raise Your Hands

As we hit the end of the album, Raise Your Hands is a good way to close the album out in my opinion.  It kind of has this airy feel like the previous song which is good and IKE’s voice sounds good and then this hard section appears out of nowhere and I was kind of shocked and pleasantly so.  I definitely thought this was a cool track to close the album.

Tracks Recommended

  • Break Myself
  • 0 GAME
  • Raise Your Hands
  • U&I
  • Little Summer

Song of Avoidance

  • Stay Gold

As it’s the band’s sophomore major label album, Just Do It kind of builds on what “Rockin’ the World” did but cleans up some of the nuances it had but also kind of added some in place. First off, it seemed like the singles this time were the weaker tracks while the new ones took over which is surprising.  Another was the fact that some tracks did sound similar to one another but overall this album really was a step up (not a big one, but a nice step).  Oh and there’s a second disc but I won’t be reviewing it since it is mostly B-sides from the singles, the first two tracks are new versions of their old indie songs and the last track is brand new….hmmmm

 

2 Responses to “SPYAIR – Just Do It”

  1. titash08 Says:

    Wow that is a lot of music.But I like the track ‘just do it’ most.
    http://technorati.com/blogs/directory/entertainment/music/

  2. bladeblur Says:

    I don’t see how Naked is a clone of My World. Naked is a lot more positive and energetic.


Leave a Reply

