Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Tohoshinki – Catch Me September 27, 2012

Filed under: Tohoshinki — solarblade @ 10:07 am

Track Listing

  1. Catch Me
  2. Insaengeun Bitnatda (Viva)
  3. Destiny
  4. Binucheoreom (Like a Soap)
  5. I Don’t Know
  6. Kkum (Dream)
  7. How Are You
  8. Getaway
  9. I Swear
  10. Gorgeous
  11. Good Night

1. Catch Me

Interesting that THSK doesn’t start things off with an intro of any kind…Moving on, as the promo track for the album, Catch Me is pretty damn awesome if I say so myself.  I mean coming off from “Keep Your Head Down” and how hard that song was, Catch Me is a bit lighter but it’s still danceable and fierce in its own right.  However, like “ANDROID” it features dubstep breakdowns which I once again starting to loathe in songs because it’s just following the times.  I will say I’m impressed with Changmin….he’s just showing off these power vocals that came out of nowhere, such strong high notes (where was this in “LAST ANGEL”?).  Awesome way to kick things off!

2. Insaengeun Bitnatda (Viva)

Getting into the tracks I haven’t heard prior to the release, Viva kind of has this cool hip-hop thing going on with Yunho since he fits this style quite nicely.  Once the chorus and Changmin join the song, it kind of becomes this chant-worthy track which is awesome.  Though it breaks into ANOTHER dubstep breakdown which makes me frowns a lot.  Actually the dubstep might not be long, but it’s messy that’s for sure.  I just can’t get into this one.

3. Destiny

Well a simple beat opens up our next track and tones things down after the previous tracks.  Changmin’s vocals come first and while his tone is pretty unique and easy to catch, I liked it here…but Yunho sounds so much smoother and fitting for this R&B tune.  Even though it might not resonate much with the fans, I really enjoyed this song…very cool and I remember the chorus a LOT!

4. Binucheoreom (Like a Soap)

Knocking the tempo up slightly, Like a Soap is kind of charming in its own level on the album.  I like the acoustic arrangement and really let the duo use a better tone of vocals like “Destiny”.  I really love hearing Changmin and Yunho making harmonies the priorty here because it just sounds so perfect! 

5. I Don’t Know

Oh is this a Korean version of the B-side from their Japanese single, “Superstar”?  Yup, it most definitely is.  Back on the last two times I reviewed the Japanese version, I really did like the sexier glow of the song which is retained here.  I still have problems dealing with Changmin’s yelling in the chorus, but it sounds a little softer?  I don’t know but I’m not finding it as much of a bother than I used to.  I guess it’s growing on me since this isn’t bad but it’s a little sudden after the last two tracks.

6. Kkum (Dream)

I find it funny because Kkum is so ODD to me.  It really sounds like some anime theme with the way it’s handled.  I mean opening with the chorus that leads into a string-led instrumental…it just SCREAMS ANIMEEEEEE!  It’s just really strange to see this on a Korean album of all things because this is ridiculously cheesy and VERY much is the sore thumb. 

7. How Are You

After that rocky bit of the album, How Are You seems to things down again and we see the duo focusing on harmonizations again which is sounding SO very smooth here.  It’s a pretty solid song even though it’s another “Destiny”.  I don’t mind that though because it’s just so calming!

8. Getaway

When was the last time we’ve seen Tohoshinki doing a rock track like this…way back then when the 5 guys were sporting that ridiculous V-kei-ish look?  I’m a little surprised at how aggressive and pissy it sounds because you can tell Yunho and Changmin are just pissed off and it’s different from “Viva” where it felt a little fake in places.  I’m unsure if I really enjoy it, but it’s so different and it’s been so long since they’ve done something like this.

9. I Swear

After such a hardcore song, comes the quietest song on the album in I Swear.  I found this to be a little too sudden and random, but it’s whatever.  As a ballad, I Swear is your kind of typical Korean ballad, but with nice vocals from the guys.  Nothing really that stands out otherwise.

10. Gorgeous

I kind of assumed the song was going to be a ballad, but nope this is ranking with the other dance tracks on the album.  It’s kind of heavier and has a stronger pulse as well and I kind of liked the grittyness for some reason.  It’s a pretty hip song and the guys do a pretty awesome job here.  One of the better songs on the album!

11. Good Night

Finally, we end the album with Good Night which sounds like a very heavy, but slow R&B track which probably would’ve fit earlier on the album rather than as the final track.  If there was a song that actually kind of disappointed me, it would have to be this one because it just felt bland and a copout to make 11 tracks…plus I guess “Gorgeous” would’ve been weird as an ending track, cut out the R&B stuff and this would’ve been nice.

Tracks Recommended

  • Catch Me
  • Destiny
  • Binucheoreom (Like a Soap)
  • Getaway
  • Gorgeous

Song of Avoidance

  • Good Night

You know, I haven’t really been totally charmed by TVXQ ever since they became a duo, but with Catch Me, I’m totally sold.  Even though there are some meh songs, most of them were of high quality and really showcased both Yunho and Changmin in a positive light, moreso the latter…I’ve never heard him THIS good and I’m liking it a lot!  Minus the gross cover, this is an album you should check out *RECOMMENDED*

 

One Response to “Tohoshinki – Catch Me”

  1. cris Says:

    Muy buen album, yo también lo recomiendo!!!!


Leave a Reply

