Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

SCANDAL – Queens are trumps -Kirifuda wa Queen- September 28, 2012

Filed under: SCANDAL — solarblade @ 7:33 am

Track Listing

  1. Queens are trumps
  2. Taiyou Scandalous
  3. Pin Heel Surfer
  4. Rock’n Roll
  5. Bitter Chocolate
  6. Kill the virgin
  7. Koe
  8. Rising Star
  9. Bright
  10. Welcome home
  11. HARUKAZE
  12. Right Here

1. Queens are trumps

I didn’t think that SCANDAL was going to open the album up with such a badass song in the title track because I seriously am loving that epic intro from HARUNA and MAMI…I was just loving everything about the song from HARUNA’s ~oh shit!~ line to the TOMOMI’s verses and even the auto-tuned part.  I was just loving the energy and power of the song.  It’s definitely their most hard-hitting song in their discography and I LOVED IT!

2. Taiyou Scandalous

Moving to the second A-side released, Taiyou Scandalous does bring us down from the high from “Queens are trumps” but I think the tune is still pretty much high quality SCANDAL.  It’s not as good as their last summer song, “LOVE SURVIVE” but the song works for some reason.  I still do love hearing HARUNA and MAMI in the song and while TOMOMI is a lead as well, her voice is kind of grating in the song…I was wondering where RINA was but she was prolly busy drumming away.  Not a bad track though.

3. Pin Heel Surfer

SCANDAL decided to close out the era with the 3rd A-side Pin Heel Surfer and it hasn’t even been that long since the single came out so my thoughts haven’r really wavered much from the single review.  It’s definitely the lightest of the 3 A-sides, but it also just doesn’t work for me and would’ve worked better on “BABY ACTION” if anything.  Just a weak track IMO.

4. Rock’n Roll

I guess to break back into edgier songs, Rock’n Roll begins with glass breaking and the arrangement comes barreling through (not as powerful as “Queens are trumps” but this reminds me of “Shoujo S” with it’s progressive sound.  I love that HARUNA and MAMI take lead roles again and they sound so good together.  Definitely one of the catchier songs here!

5. Bitter Chocolate

Taking things slower again, Bitter Chocolate comes in and I definitely feel like it belongs on “BABY ACTION”.  I think I hear TOMOMI and MAMI take the song entirely (mostly TOMOMI though) and I kind of dislike her as a singer and hearing her take lead is just a little painful since it doesn’t really work.  MAMI (if that’s who it is or is it HARUNA?), sounds great though and I would’ve preferred her to carry the song honestly. 

6. Kill the virgin

If you remember “Koi no Hajimaru wa Diet”, that synthy track, then Kill the virgin might sound familiar but it at least the band is playing instruments this time which is really awesome.  I don’t know why but the main vocals don’t sound like TOMOMI but is that RINA?  If it is, then her voice is just as tragic in this tune.  The only thing I felt was cool was the guitar riffs and the whispering parts (and the repeating of ~kill the virgin~.  Beyond that, this song was a trainwreck.

7. Koe

To make up for that hot mess, Koe comes up and I’m loving the fact that I hear MAMI sing in the front (or I think so…).  She sounds a little bit winded for some reason singing Koe but she tries and I like that she fits the sound of the song.  There’s not much else to really say about the song because it’s straightforward and it’s SCANDAL’s typical rock track just predominantly sung by one of the members.

8. Rising Star

I was thinking the middle of the album was kind of used to show off the other girls.  Rising Star brought back the four of them and hearing HARUNA back in lead was pretty nice since I’ve come to really enjoy her voice the most.  TOMOMI/MAMI kind of have similar line distribution while RINA is kind of in the back.  The song is actually quite catchy and I dig this more than most of the other songs. 

9. Bright

Well, I kind of hear guitars and synths fused together for our next track Bright which is unique and has a bit of a different atmosphere than other tracks on the album.  I mean HARUNA is singing in such a breathy and light tone and then the chorus comes in and it just sounds sentimental but pleasant.  It’s surprisingly really good and is probably one my favorite slower songs from the band.

10. Welcome home

As the only B-side to make the cut (it was really either this or “OSAKA” and that song sucked).  I’m really happy they chose this because Welcome home was hard hitting and the vocals were just a whole lot of win!  While it might not be powerful as “Queens are trumps”, this followed behind with nice style.  It fits the album quite nicely and while it has the line distribution like a couple of the songs, this actually turned out better here than on the single.

11. HARUKAZE

It’s been a while since I’ve heard the BLEACH theme and HARUKAZE being placed towards the end is nice since it’s lighter and a bit brighter than most of the other songs on the album.  The chorus is catchy but that’s really about it that I remember about it since it kind of feels too safe and not really all that intriguing (plus the girls don’t emote very well here).  It might be just as blah as “Pin Heel Surfer”.

12. Right Here

Ending the album is probably the brightest song on the album and Right Here really makes up for the lack of emotion in “HARUKAZE”.  I love that all four ladies get the same time to sing but the higher pitched girls get some frown points.  It really sounds like an idol track, but Right Here is good to close things up!

Tracks Recommended

  • Queens are trumps
  • Welcome home
  • Bright
  • Rising Star
  • Rock’n Roll

Song of Avoidance

  • Kill the virgin

SCANDAL’s 4th album and sadly I don’t think it’s as good as “BABY ACTION” was.  I mean I did like a good portion of the album which means it’s up there behind it, but that album didn’t have any BIG misses.  Here, the problem came in the form of  2 of the 3 A-sides being weak and the songs that focused on TOMOMI, RINA, and to a lesser degree MAMI.  They just didn’t work and RINA’s track was just bad…WHY…Not bad, but it’s a step down from their last album.

 

One Response to “SCANDAL – Queens are trumps -Kirifuda wa Queen-”

  1. accentcore8 Says:

    RINA doesn’t sing in Kill the Virgin. It’s TOMOMI. Bitter Chocoalte is TOMOMI and HARUNA with MAMI in the background. I’m pretty sure RINA doesn’t sing in Rising Star or Right Here. RINA really doesn’t sing at all. She sang in TOKYO (live version), Sunny Day Sunday(after the guitar solo), Rouge no Dengon, Shoujo M(background), and obviously Almond Crush’s songs. She also sang in SCANDAL no theme, and said “Hey!” in Space Ranger.


Leave a Reply

