Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

MEG – WEAR I AM October 3, 2012

Filed under: MEG — solarblade @ 8:30 am

Track Listing

  1. TRAP
  2. Natsu ga Owaru
  3. HIGHTEEEN
  4. Seventeen Rendezvous
  5. MISS MARTINI
  6. LOVE EMOTION
  7. ZZZ
  8. SOUTHPAW
  9. REPLICA
  10. WEAR I AM

1. TRAP

I love that MEG opens the album with the leading A-side because TRAP is really interesting for both her and the producer, Shinichi Osawa.  It’s got an interesting style and I think MEG sounds really sultry in the song which adds to the smokiness of the tune and classiness it holds.  A great way to begin an album for sure!

2. Natsu ga Owaru

Makes sense that the next track would be Natsu ga Owaru since it shares it accordion style with “TRAP” but this has more of a French feel which is pretty unique and interesting from MEG.  It’s really chill and the song makes me feel happy and breezy.  Plus MEG sounds really good for a song in such style.  Definitely an early favorite on the album.

3. HIGHTEEEN

Moving on to the shortest track on the album (at 3 minutes flat), HIGHTEEEN kind of pulls us out of the French atmosphere and gave us this synth/pop/rock mix which is pretty cool and I like that the energy is moving on up.  It’s a bit cute for her too for me which is new and her voice kind of sounds like later Nakata works.  Song is good, but there are plenty of others that I like!

4. Seventeen Rendezvous

We get the B-side from “TRAP” as our next track and I wasn’t sure it would add to the album because it didn’t really leave much of a mark on me.  I do get that MEG is singing in a filter that makes her sound like she’s singing far and there’s echoing going on.  It’s still a little too lowkey for me (and personally would’ve worked here if it had only been an instrumental interlude).

5. MISS MARTINI

After the last track, the rest of the album is full of new tracks!  MISS MARTINI really caters to that bossa nova/big band/jazz lovers because it holds itself with that arrangement.  MEG really sounds into this song and I can’t blame her because the arrangement is lively and charming and it just works for her.  Classy!

6. LOVE EMOTION

For the people that missed MEG’s more dance-heavy tunes shes got you covered with LOVE EMOTION.  I do find MEG under this weird filter kind of intriguing, but it kind of suits the song’s euro/funk mix.  I feel like the track needed a little more backbone behind it because it would sound EPIC with more bass behind it.  Still, this is quite good and reminds us of the old MEG.

7. ZZZ

With a title like ZZZ, I was kind of expecting a really lowkey ballad here but the song is actually really ethereal and soothing to the ears.  It’s kind of like the song is in this dream-like state and we’re floating in dreamscape (such a cool thing!).  It’s definitely up there as another one of my favorites of the album. 

8. SOUTHPAW

To wake us up from “ZZZ”, SOUTHPAW just blows right through and makes itself standout.  At first I thought it was a cover of that old song, but this actually isn’t which is cool.  The song is energetic and MEG kind of goes back to her weird vocals for this one which kind of took me out of the song (plus ~sousspahhh, sousspahhh, sousspahh~ gets irritating after a while. 

9. REPLICA

So we get towards the end of the album, REPLICA is actually the only song done by Nakata for WEAR I AM and of course, he gives her a pretty boring song.  I mean this feels like it was leftover “MAVERICK” material mixed with a little of Perfume/Kyary.  I just can’t seem to get myself interested with this song even if Nakata is involved…it just sounds lifeless and plain when compared to the rest of the album.

10. WEAR I AM

I like that she closed the album out with the title track (and promotional tune).  The song does sound interesting to me since it has this kind of Disney feel but with beats (plus the weird effects that it goes through) and MEG’s filtered vocals.  It’s a really strange song though (like the second verse)…it’s really messy and kind of trying to go through in these different directions.  At least after that section is over, the song does get back on track and gets better…plus MEG sounds pleasant with this whole orchestral arrangement.  Good way to close the album.

Tracks Recommended

  • Natsu ga Owaru
  • TRAP
  • ZZZ
  • WEAR I AM
  • LOVE EMOTION

Song of Avoidance

  • Seventeen Rendezvous

It’s been quite a while since I’ve reviewed a MEG album, (last was “MAVERICK”) and her first studio album under Starchild has definitely made it worthwhile to get back into her again.  I really thought her last studio album was a borefest and after going through her hiatus and going to France…she came back in a good way…I mean we got a taste of that with “LA JAPONAISE”, but WEAR I AM is all original stuff!  The album was good and is probably her best since “STEP”…a couple of songs were lacking but for the most part, this was good stuff!

 

One Response to “MEG – WEAR I AM”

  1. Dimitri Says:

    I stopped listening to her because her music was annoyng me, now I can listen to her again. This album is awesome, I hope she continues like this.


Leave a Reply

