Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

hitomi – SPIRIT October 9, 2012

Filed under: hitomi — solarblade @ 4:29 am

Track Listing

  1. Hands up!!
  2. Time Machine
  3. Private Flower
  4. 2010 ~Kanemoke no Heaven & Paradise~
  5. Lights on☆
  6. Spirit☆
  7. Sweet & Honey
  8. Love me♡ Love body☆
  9. Freedom☆
  10. Supernova
  11. Song for you☆
  12. Rollin’ wit da Homies ft. Rivers Cuomo

1. Hands up!!

Aiming to not start the album off slow, Hands up!! is kind of that party song that would get everyone on the dancefloor.  hitomi’s vocals are heavily filtered and auto-tuned, but the song has a gritty feel about it that I found enjoyable.  Plus, the song’s lyrics are ridiculously catchy!  It’s definitely an impressive song and the song has a lot of English (if not the entire song),

2. Time Machine

Getting a little more feisty, Time Machine moves away from the dance style to focus more on the rock perspective.  I actually think of Buono! when I hear the song because it has the pop/rock style going but it’s also genki and cute which is fitting for hitomi.  The only thing about the song that worries me, is the chorus only going through three notes which makes that a little bland but the song otherwise stood out to me.

3. Private Flower

LOL, we flip back to dance with the next track on the album which is pretty cool since Private Flower is kind of nice, but there are some problems.  I’m not a big fan of how her voice is treated in the song and some of it sounds messy in the arrangement as well.  It does kind of get better as it goes on, but not enough to really make me want to repeat it again.

4. 2010 ~Kanemoke no Heaven & Paradise~

So we get into the album’s shortest track at 2 and a half minutes, 2010 is poppy and has a similar feel to “Time Machine” with the use of guitars but there’s synths and hitomi is on some filters.  It’s not a bad song, but it just is a little too short (would’ve liked more out of the tune). 

5. Lights on☆

At first, I was wondering if the song had a bad quality, but no it’s the way the synths sound for the song which is a darker electro track (something I’ve been enjoying more from hitomi recently).  With hitomi also on auto-tune, the song really moves in a slick way and it just works for me…definitely a cool track.  Though the random rapping section was out of place >.<

6. Spirit☆

Then we get into the title track and I’m starting to see the pattern of synth songs and pop/rock tracks.  Spirit☆ would fit the archetype of songs that would sound like so much fun to hear live since it’s a jam for sure.  Not bad of a song abd like I said….maybe a live version should appear somewhere down the line.

7. Sweet & Honey

For the synths that fluorish the song, Sweet & Honey isn’t like “Hands up!!” but it’s a lot brighter and kind of charming in its own way.  hitomi’s lighter vocals really suit the song, but I think I could’ve lived without the layering effects on her for this one…it jsut seemed strange to listen to (at least up to the chorus),  Smooth and catchy, I kind of liked it!

8. Love me♡ Love body☆

I find myself enjoying Love me Love body right from the start since I enjoyed hearing hitomi without all the vocal gimmicks and this song has an edgier pop/rock sound which REALLY suits her this time around.  The power from the arrangement really gave hitomi that push to try to sound stronger than the guitars and drums…I loved this!

9. Freedom☆

Busting out another dance track, Freedom☆ is probably the cleanest of the dance tracks (next to Sweet & Honey).  Of course, I’m liking the arrangement and hooks of the song, but I kind of wished hitomi laid off the filters because I think it would’ve made the song cooler!  Minus my own meh thoughts on this, I did enjoy it for what it is.

10. Supernova

Supernova is more pop than rock and a tad slower than the other natural tracks on the album which is a nice change of pace.  That is until the chorus where the loud drums and guitars join in.  At this point of the album, I’m kind of annoyed of the back and forth between the song styles which I guess is nitpicking but still.  This song is good, but nothing like the other tracks on the album.

11. Song for you☆

I like that hitomi kind of breaks from the pattern for Song for you☆ since it’s the nearest to a ballad the album actually has.  I enjoyed the slower nature of the song and hitomi sounds rather nice in the song, but I don’t remember it much besides the fact that it’s the ballad of the album.

12. Rollin’ wit da Homies ft. Rivers Cuomo

What a WEIRD way to close the album out with a collboration with the lead singer from Weezer (that American band of course).  Of course hitomi isn’t strong in English so the song has a lot more Rivers in the song which isn’t surprising in the least.  The song itself actually screams Weezer too which is a little out of place on the album…weird way to close the album.

Tracks Recommended

  • Love me♡ Love body☆
  • Hands up!!
  • Lights on☆
  • Sweet & Honey
  • Freedom☆

Song of Avoidance

  • Rollin’ wit da Homies ft. Rivers Cuomo

As this is hitomi’s first album under a new indies label, SPIRIT is an album that had poor song placement for sure.  For 10 of the 12 tracks it just seemed to ricochets from electro/dance to pop/rock and it didn’t work because there was 0 flow to the album.  Though I do slightly prefer her electro stuff to her pop/rock, my favorite track was a pop/rock track (odd).  It’s not a bad album, but this could’ve had BETTER FLOW.

 

Leave a Reply

