Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Megumi Hayashibara – Tsubasa October 18, 2012

Filed under: Megumi Hayashibara — solarblade @ 7:19 am

Track Listing

  1. Tsubasa
  2. Amazing Grace
  3. Tsubasa (off vocal ver.)
  4. Amazing Grace (off vocal ver.)

1. Tsubasa

It’s strange to see Megumi singing with more of an anison tone for Tsubasa, but then again she also has been in this business for such a long time.  Tsubasa is a big surprise for me since unlike her previous singles, she sings with little background arrangement support.  It’s different and I really like this empty solitude of sound from Megumi.  As time goes on, sounds are added to give more life and broaden the playing field and it comes to a soft close.  Not what I was expecting from Megumi, since she’s been so upbeat with the A-sides from “CHOICE”.

2. Amazing Grace

Then I see this and I clearly start to frown.  Though I love the clarinet in the arrangement since it gives such a unique taste.  Then Megumi comes in and she sounds amazing singing this song even though Amazing Grace itself is so ugh-worthy.  Then she pulls a random card and starts to sing the song in Japanese and that made me notice pretty quickly that she took her time with this cover.  Then she stops singing and the song gets brighter and peppy for some reason….more woodwinds, a harp, and harpischord are suddenly thrown into the song…it just baffles me!  Once Megumi returns, the song goes back to the way it was from the starts and ends it….strange…

 

 

It’s been quite a while since Megumi has released a single on her own and Tsubasa was a giant switch of ideas that what I’m used to.  Both tracks being ballads and to actually say that I preferred Amazing Grace over Tsubasa is sheer sacrilage on my part.  It’s really because Megumi’s vocals were 10x better than in Tsubasa….her vocals in the A-side were rather high-pitched….overall it’s good….not what I’m used to but it’s good.

 

Leave a Reply

