Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

HIMEKA – Where I belong October 24, 2012

Filed under: HIMEKA — solarblade @ 10:03 pm

Track Listing

  1. Where I belong
  2. Echoes
  3. Kami to Akuma to Tenshi to Watashi
  4. Where I belong (off vocal)
  5. Echoes (off vocal)
  6. Kami to Akuma to Tenshi to Watashi (off vocal)

1. Where I belong

With HIMEKA joining a new company in the wake of her first album, Where I belong marks a change for our Canadian wonder.  The song does remind me of “Asu e no Kizuna” since it’s pretty much you normal anison track.  We see a little more color from her voice which really stood out to me!  Though it’s not her best A-side, I quite enjoyed it!

2. Echoes

Things slow down for the first B-side, Echoes which is oddly enough a really pretty song…then again the accordion in the intro was really unique.  I thought HIMEKA did a much better job vocally here than in “Where I belong”.  Beyond that, the song is just a smooth and pretty ballad. 

3. Kami to Akuma to Tenshi to Watashi

The other B-side takes more of an upbeat and striking style unlike the other songs and I actually thought this was the best off the single because we don’t see HIMEKA in this setting very much (if at all).  I really loved HIMEKA’s voice because she’s using power and she just gave an awesome performance here and I loved the pop/rock style as well.  Epic track!

 

 

After “Himekanvas”, I was curious to see if SONY would want to continue with her but it seems they didn’t and now HIMEKA moved to 5pb. Records (pretty much a well-known anison company) and released her first single with the company, Where I belong.  Suffice to say it wasn’t too much of a change since HIMEKA was already anison so this was a smooth transition.  For a debut under a new label, it’s pretty nice.  The leading track and Echoes will be familiar to fans since it does sound like a bit like her SONY stuff so no worries.  HOWEVER, Kami to Akuma to Tenshi to Watashi was really awesome and pushed HIMEKA to her limits and it came out awesomely!!!!  You have to hear it.  Good single overall!

 

2 Responses to “HIMEKA – Where I belong”

  1. Listened to this single because of your review. Will probably look for some more stuff from her, loved her voice.

  2. niyouko Says:

    I agree with you… Echoes and KATW are pretty much more soldthan Where I belong I Find them better than Where I Belong


Leave a Reply

