Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

chatmonchy – Henshin October 26, 2012

Filed under: chatmonchy — solarblade @ 2:27 am

Track Listing

  1. Henshin
  2. Hatena
  3. Thermae Roman
  4. Shoujo E
  5. Convenience Honeymoon
  6. Yes or No or Love
  7. Hatsu Hinode
  8. Aruku Object
  9. Kirakira Hikare
  10. Futari, Jinsei, Jiyuugaoka
  11. Utatane
  12. Mangetsu ni Hoero

1. Henshin

Cool that the duo started the album off with the title track for sure.  Henshin begins smoothly with a nice guitar intro that leads into one of their more different styled songs.  It has a bit of a chanting style (even though Eriko and Akiko do not sound great trying to be melodic together.  It’s a simple track overall but I don’t think it really stood out to me beyond the repetitive hook.

2. Hatena

I am SOOOO HAPPY that “Yume Mitai da” did not make the album cut (since it was an A-side and all as well).  Tying with “Thermae Roman” as the best A-sides of the era, Hatena really surprised me.  I think that it’s because it’s more energetic and both ladies are into the song (unlike in “Henshin”).  It was really fun and the track catered to Eriko’s distinct vocals nicely.

3. Thermae Roman

Which led to my other favorite A-side, the shower song, Thermae Roman also worked for the duo.  It’s nice as loud as “Hatena” but I really found myself loving the arrangement and melody of this track.  I still kind of wince a little at Eriko in the chorus, but this song is pretty friggin good!

4. Shoujo E

Moving on to another new track, Shoujo E starts off with a cool percussion beat and then Eriko comes in with guitars and the song kind of has this darker style which I instantly got hooked to.  Eriko’s voice sounds a little more stronger and less whiny which is a good sign!  Definitely an impressive track right here.

5. Convenience Honeymoon

As the 5th and final single from Henshin, Convenience Honeymoon is kind of strange because it feels like it suits more as the ending song rather than where it is here.  I think the song is reasonably good, but it’s nothing that we haven’t heard so it doesn’t stand out on the album unfortunately.

6. Yes or No or Love

Something about the song sounds nostalgic when I begin it.  It might be the keyboard that makes it sound a little old.  I also noticed there was a guy singing alognside some of the track which is nice, but this song is simple and doesn’t really get more exciting.  I just kind of forget about it in the end since it doesn’t really leave much of an impression.

7. Hatsu Hinode

The next track, Hatsu Hinode sounds like a mess to me since it also has a minimal sound to it but only with guitars and drums (and a lil bass).  There’s just something about the track that just doesn’t work and I think it’s Eriko’s vocals here.  The fact that it’s only slightly under 3 minutes helped, but the song is still underwhelming.

8. Aruku Object

Moving from one of the shortest to the longest track at almost 7 minutes, Aruku Object had me worried since some of the songs previous have not been good.  I do like the song is a slow one from them and it includes strings to king of make the song sound more complete (at least more than the previous two tracks).  It is a little long, but I liked it overall.

9. Kirakira Hikare

Funny how we go back to a short song (actually the shortest song on the album) which was also an A-side.  For being so short though Kirakira Hikare was pretty fast-paced and energetic.  Eriko’s performance is a little too shrill but for what its worth, it’s not a bad track.  I’d say it’s good, but a little shouty in areas.

10. Futari, Jinsei, Jiyuugaoka

Back to the final two new tracks, Futari, Jinsei, Jiyuugaoka is probably the closest I think the group goes to sound like something off their last album.  Sadly, like the other new tracks, it doesn’t really stand out nor does it really do anything positive.  It’s just kind of there…meh.

11. Utatane

The last new track, I was at this point kind of tired of the new tracks for being mostly unimpressive.  Utatane is another slow jam but I feel like they went a little too slow since it kind of moves at a snail’s pace.  Nothing exciting to listen for here either sadly….

12. Mangetsu ni Hoero

At least the album ends with Mangetsu ni Hoero. which was the first release they after Kumiko left the band.  It’s funny that I remember this song the most because of its chorus which Eriko screams out lol.  The song has grown on me a whole lot since I reviewed the single, but it’s still kind of loud sometimes.

Tracks Recommended

  • Shoujo E
  • Thermae Roman
  • Hatena
  • Mangetsu ni Hoero

Song of Avoidance

  • Hatsu Hinode

This album was bad…and I would assume it was from Kumiko leaving the band that’s affected the group in a negative way.  I thought they had it together with the singles for the most part, but they let the album tracks just fall flat entirely (cept Shoujo E).  This is a major flop when compared to their last album, “YOU MORE”.  Ugh….so depressed after this one…

 

2 Responses to “chatmonchy – Henshin”

  1. bladeblur Says:

    I am always surprised how much you like Chatmonchy, to me they are still Ki/oon Music’s black sheep. I think Negoto is the better of their female bands.

  2. glothelegend Says:

    To me, Yes or No or Love is ADDICTING. I sing that beat all day. I even cut it up so that I just have the beat…made a rap to it (I do that).

    Aruku Object is just…..amazing. Maybe one of my favorite songs that Chatmonchy has made.

    I love Mangetsu no Hoero until the stupid wolf noises. fucking dumb especially since I love the guitar solo.

    I thought that this album had some gems, but it obviously doesn’t compare to their last one. Without Kumiko the drums don’t sound the same at all. When I listen to songs, the drums are one part that I like to focus on while zoning out everything else. I find I do it every so often.

    I feel like you gave the individual songs pretty decent reviews so I was surprised that you thought it was so subpar.


Leave a Reply

