Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

alan – Love Song October 30, 2012

Filed under: alan — solarblade @ 5:29 am

Track Listing

  1. ~Shuijing Lian~ intro
  2. Fenghuang
  3. Yi Ai Aiangyi
  4. Love Song
  5. lan lan
  6. Zhang Da
  7. Wo Hualaile
  8. Gudu De Tian Fen
  9. Jingguo Nanqingshan
  10. Chuangwai
  11. BABY BABY
  12. Love Song ~Kitto Mou Ichido~

1. ~Shuijing Lian~ intro

Kicking off alan’s 3rd Chinese album, Shuijing Lian starts with some interesting chanting (Tibetan?) before the melody of the track begins which is so different and unique and so much cooler than her previous intros.  Though there’s this woodwind instrument that comes in and kind of takes the mystical feel away (would’ve rather had alan do her chanting, but whatever)…but once that clears up I feel it gets into this modernesque sound which is a cool way to segue into…

2. Fenghuang

Released as her 2nd digital single (of 5), Fenghuang starts off with Chinese instrumentation before alan comes in and slows things down.  It’s really awesome to hear her voice again since it seems like she’s gotten a lot better to do ballads.  The song slowly grows in pace to this mid-tempo track that has small amounts of synth in it.  It really grows on you and I seriously like the song for sure!

3. Yi Ai Aiangyi

Our next track also starts off slowly with a pretty melody and slight Chinese feel to it (whereas “Fenghuang” had a little more).  It’s a very atmospheric song for sure with how it’s handled but I really like the calming feel of the tune.  Like the last track, it does start to grow with more instrumentation and likewise, I feel like it’s so grand.  I like the previous track better but this is also quite good too!

4. Love Song

As the title track, 3rd digital single and the one that got a PV, Love Song doesn’t really speak the Chinese colors as much as the previous tracks which is a nice change (actually if it wasn’t for the lyrics, I would’ve deemed it as a Japanese track).  It’s a nice track overall but there’s just a lot of open spaces (where she could shock us with her vocals).  It’s good but not the best.

5. lan lan

As the 5th and final digital single released, lan lan is the longest track at a little over 6 minutes in length, but I felt OK with that because it’s a very nature-like song and I really like the flow of it (plus the electric guitar melody was a nice change as well)!  This song, while long, really sounds pleasant and just feels soft and peaceful and yet happy.  It’s a surprisingly good track!

6. Zhang Da

Our next track, Zhang Da tries to follow it up after “lan lan” but it somehow slightly misses it mark.  It does remind me of songs from “my life” with its light R&B and poppy affair but I think alan’s smooth vocals saved the song since she sounds good here.  I like it a lil bit but isn’t the best she has to offer on the album.

7. Wo Hualaile

The first digital single comes next and Wo Hualaile is kind of the simple ballad from alan which isn’t a bad choice but the song doesn’t seem to really leave much of a mark on me besides being that safe ballad.  However, after the first part is over, the song picks up and a male voice is singing alongside alan…which did throw me off at first😄.  It’s a good ballad, but nothing spectacular.

8. Gudu De Tian Fan

Which makes it a little funny that this track comes after the track because I feel that this track was more effective as a ballad.  Well slightly…  The song also kind of moves at a slow pace and alan’s performance doesn’t make me feel like it’s memorable but at least it’s more charming than “Wo Hualaile”.

9. Jingguo Nanqingshan

I’m kind of wanting to escape from the ballads at this point but Jingguo Nanqingshan changes it up slightly by being a little more than a cute track.  This track has more of a darker feel, but I like it since it’s slow and yet powerful (but not with powerful vocals from alan).  It’s different and I really enjoyed it for that reason!

10. Chuangwai

Another one?!?  I guess we can’t seem to escape ballad-land here.  Chuangwai is probably the one that’ll stand out because it has some Chinese elements and the the opening lines are so random lol.  I like how airy the song is, but that’s the only thing that I really took from the track, otherwise…it’s pretty forgetful.

11. BABY BABY

The last of the Chinese songs is also one of the more surprising tracks.  I wasn’t expecting a lot of synths to open the song up.  It kind of reminds me of “lan lan” but with more emphasis on synths and being upbeat.  The chorus though is catchy has hell too xD.  Different and it almost feels like it doesn’t fit on the album, but I liked it!

12. Love Song ~Kitto Mou Ichido~

What closes the album out is a Japanese version of Love Song *makes me wish she was still releasing in Japan*.  Love Song in Japanese actually makes sense because earlier in the review, I said that the Chinese version feels more like a Japanese track.  It sounds really pretty and alan sounds so good still.  Definitely the better of the two and a good way to end the album.

Tracks Recommended

  • Fenghuang
  • lan lan
  • Jingguo Nanqingshan
  • BABY BABY
  • Yi Ai Aiangyi

Song of Avoidance

  • Chuangwai

I have to say, Love Song is alan’s best Chinese release yet (yes, even better than “Xin De Dong Fang”).  I will say and with Sylfi explaining it better, I seriously am missing the wailing storm of alan in Japan, though with Love Song she put out good quality music even without the need to explode.  I will say the ballads are still her weak point, but when she gets them right…it’s soooo good.  Impressive, but I WANT YOU BACK IN NIPPON!

 

Leave a Reply

