Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Leo Ieiri – LEO October 30, 2012

Filed under: Leo Ieiri — solarblade @ 2:25 am

Track Listing

  1. Sabrina
  2. Last Stage
  3. Last Goodbye
  4. Shine
  5. Ashita Mata Haremasu You ni
  6. Second Dream
  7. Kimi Dake
  8. Bless You
  9. Fake Love
  10. Hello
  11. Mister
  12. Lady Mary
  13. Linda

1. Sabrina

It’s pretty awesome to see Leo begin her album with her debut, Sabrina which is still ridiculously catchy and fun to listen to.  I really came to love this song after I reviewed the single since it’s charming and hearing Leo sing the chorus with that hook of ~saburina ba ba ba la, saburina~, it’s just a very lighthearted yet fun song to listen to and is a great way to begin the album as well!

2. Last Stage

I kind of got Country vibes getting into our first new song on the album.  I guess it was from the overall feel of the song plus the strings that are in it.  I kind of enjoyed this rather sullen atmosphere since Leo expresses herself quite nicely.  The song oterwise doesn’t seem to have much of a hook like the previous songs I’ve listened to from her.

3. Say Goodbye

More Western twang on this album?  It’s that slide guitar that really throws me off at first.  As Say Goodbye was released as a digital single and was the promo song, it was a solid choice for them for sure.  Leo’s vocals once again comes in really powers the song nicely.  Overall it’s a nice mid-tempo track, but like with “Last Stage”, nothing to really grasp on for me.

4. Shine

We move into Leo’s second A-side and it’s grown on me to become one of the best tracks she’s done!  I just like the whole nostalgic trip this song gives me and it really worked for Leo since this song is just amazing from beginning to end.  Plus, Leo’s vocals are just perfect as well, sharing a lot of power and emotion.  Though I still question the ending being so sudden and ending with a camera clicking.  Beyond that, it’s such an awesome song.

5. Ashita Mata Haremasu You ni

Back to some new tracks, Ashita Mata Haremasu You ni kind of runs back into the whole country vibe which I guess is starting to slightly bother me, but whatever it is…at least the song kind of slightly grows away from it after a while.  It’s still a song with a whole lot of acoustic guitar and strings but a little more upbeat.  Not bad, but ehhh…

6. Second Dream

Oh, I really like the sinister vibes of Second Dream…it gives it an almost gothic feel to it which I very much am pleased with.  The verses really stuck out to me and then the soaring chorus as well.  It just seemed to really work here and it the first of the new tracks to really impress me here.

7. Kimi Dake

It feels like Kimi Dake acts as teh first ballad of the album since it begins so quietly with Leo and piano (with some underlying strings).  For a song that doesn’t have as much instrumentation like all the other tracks on the album, it really stands out.  It does at times feel like it’s a bit monotone and drags as well, but I kind of found its simplicity to be a breath of fresh air.

8. Bless You

Bless You comes next (her 3rd A-side) and while it’s my least favorite of the A-sides, it’s still pretty damn good otherwise.  I also noticed with this song, how powerful and awesome her vocals are because she sounds extraordinary here.  Another really good and memorable track off the album.

9. Fake Love

I think of the new songs from the album, Fake Love impressed me the most because it’s funky and not a slower track either which is a giant step up.  It just feels like it has a certain single quality that makes it stand out amongst the new tracks. 

10. Hello

Interesting that she chose one B-side for the album, but I actually enjoyed her choice of one of the better ones.  As the B-side from “Shine”, Hello is a relaxing mid-tempo from her and while I wasn’t impressed by the new ones for the album, Hello sounds nice and just has the right amount of things going on.  Not bad of a choice (though I think “Colorful” or “ripe” would’ve fared better).

11. Mister

Actually if you wanted something like “Colorful”, Mister might be your next best choice since it’s just as upbeat and cute like the former song.  It’s got such a catchy beat and Leo sounds alive in the track.  I still prefer the older track more than this, but Mister isn’t totally forgetful either.

12. Lady Mary

I really was surprised coming into Lady Mary because I really though the ideas from Leo ran dry.  Luckily, it came back at full rush with Lady Mary which sounds so amazing and full for her.  There’s just something about this mid-tempo track that really struck…maybe it’s from its sullen mood or it could be from the longing way Leo sings….it surprised me a lot!

13. Linda

Closing the album, Linda goes back to the country vibes from the earlier new tracks but kind of more hokey and a little more upbeat (not like “Mister” upbeat but it that general direction.  I did like Leo’s singing though since it was bouncy and fits the tone of the track…not a bad closing to the album.

Tracks Recommended

  • Shine
  • Sabrina
  • Lady Mary
  • Second Dream
  • Fake Love

Song of Avoidance

  • Ashita Mata Haremasu You ni

I came into Leo’s debut album with high hopes after the AMAZING singles she’s released for it.  What I got with LEO was that it’s for the most part good, but it wasn’t where my expectations were.  I think Leo should stay away from the whole pseudo Taylor Swift-brand of pop/rock/country fusion because those were honestly the worst tracks of the album.  The rest of the album though was pretty damn good though.  Her experiements have done her good, now I want her to build upon that for an epic sophomore album…just no more country-like songs!!!

 

One Response to “Leo Ieiri – LEO”

  1. Sounds like a better version of Yui combined with powerness of ayaka.
    I gotta say, I was impressed with her voice and a lot of songs from the album 😀


Leave a Reply

