Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Ayumi Hamasaki – LOVE November 3, 2012

Filed under: Ayumi Hamasaki — solarblade @ 8:05 pm

Track Listing

  1. Song 4 u
  2. Missing
  3. Melody
  4. Song 4 u (Orchestra version)
  5. You & Me (SHINICHI OSAWA remix)
  6. You & Me (Remo-con rmx – extended)
  7. Missing (Dubscribe remix)
  8. Melody (BROKEN HAZE remix)
  9. Song 4 u -Instrumental-
  10. Missing -Instrumental-
  11. Melody -Instrumental-
  12. You & Me -Instrumental-

1. Song 4 u

Oh hey, a new Tales of… theme eh?  I’m actually am happy with this because Ayu is pretty good with these songs and I’m kind of enjoying this song quite a bit since it has a nice sense of drama behind it and it moves nicely while mixing it up with the whole anison feel which is something she doesn’t do often.  I don’t know but it reminds me of songs that were released during “LOVEppears” or “I am…”.  It’s just a really solid song.

2. Missing

The next track, is your typical Ayu ballad which can be a good or bad thing depending on preferences.  To me, Missing is is going somewhere and I can see where some people will really enjoy it, but I feel like it’s a bit similar to past ballads (which she has so many of in the first place).  At least it does build up in the chorus into a pretty good mid-tempo which saved the song from being too mediocre.  Not bad overall, but not the best she’s had.

3. Melody

The third and final original track on this mini-album, Melody is the longest of the three but it also has the least amount of impact for me even though it’s like a less powerful version of “Missing” or “You & Me”…it just feels a little boring for me.  I don’t know…but this feels kind of strange to me…like it’s going back to her debut days.

4. Song 4 u (Orchestra version)

Moving into the many remixes, the first is a grandiose take on Song 4 u which starts off such a beautiful intro and then leads into Ayu singing the beginning which sounds with just only piano and then a lone violin.  It really works and actually if this was the main version, I actually wouldn’t be complaining because this is a pretty solid take (and it toned the song down nicely as well).

5. You & Me (SHINICHI OSAWA remix)

The next two tracks were originally digital releases which kind of seems stupid to put it on here but whatever.  We have two remixes for You & Me (which was originally the only new track from “A SUMMER BEST”).  The first done by Shinichi, starts off mysteriously with a simple beat and some cool synth instrumentation and then full synths replace it and things are just swell.  Though the song (like most of her remixes) suffers from too much music space and not enough of Ayu….it’s not bad, but not great either.

6. You & Me (Remo-con rmx – extended)

Then we get another Remo-con remix and I’m just coming off the one he did for AAA’s “good day”.  So coming to this, I was expecting this to be messy, but I’m actually surprised that it worked better, but I can still sense a little bit of a messy arrangement in some of the quirkier things found here.  I actually ended up liking this…it’s weird how that works hahah it just sounds strong and really made You & Me pop out to me!

7. Missing (Dubscribe remix)

With the title of the remix, I kind of feared the worst because it’s a dubstep remix and those I can’t enjoy very much.  It does start out innocently enough because it’s slow and light, plus the the song doesn’t scream dubstep before the chorus.  Then the drop happens and the song just kills it….it gets really absurd and totally inappropriate….it’s really one of Ayu’s worst remixes yet!!!!

8. Melody (BROKEN HAZE remix)

I remember BROKEN HAZE because they remixed “Dream ON” so I was actually curious to what they did to Melody and for the most part, it’s interesting and a little more experimental, but in a chill way which is passable for me.  It’s not a bad remix, though like the SHINICHI OSAWA remix, it takes too long to get places…but I liked this more.

 

 

Starting this whole 6 months of releases, LOVE is definitely weird being called a mini-album (it seriously is more of a maxi-single TBH).  The three main tracks aren’t bad and they are at most good Ayu songs, though Melody does sound somewhat dated.  As for the remixes, I’d say the Orchestra version and Remo-con remix is worth a listen.  SHINICHI’s is too mundane, the BROKEN HAZE remix is also somewhat mundane, and the Dubscribe remix IS JUST HORRIBLE!…..Lord Ayu stay away from dubstep PLZZZZZ!!!

 

Leave a Reply

