Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

SHOW – THE SHOW November 4, 2012

Filed under: SHOW — solarblade @ 8:27 pm

Track Listing

  1. RUNNER
  2. Bounce!
  3. Dance in Paradise
  4. Stand Up
  5. STILL
  6. DANTE
  7. MAGIC
  8. Tarantula
  9. I Just Wanna Love You
  10. See the same sky

1. RUNNER

Opening the album, is the promotional track, RUNNER and it really sets the tone, though it’s awesome how it opens as this whole escaping bit (makes sense with the title).  I love the beat of the song and Show sounds really smooth through the song as well.  Yeah, this is a great song to kick things off with!

2. Bounce!

It’s nice he followed it up with Bounce! which includes some interesting things besides its upbeat dance arrangement.  I mean Show is rapping somewhat in the song which is pretty cool to hear even if it’s slightly messy.  At least the chorus comes in and it’s just pretty awesome.  There is a dubstep breakdown in the middle though it’s pretty short.  Yeah, it’s a nice track but I prefer “RUNNER” more.

3. Dance in Paradise

He’s just keeping the energy going huh.  Dance in Paradise does sound a bit like “Bounce!” That being said, the song is more of what I liked about the last track but it doesn’t have as many hooks and Show isn’t doing any rapping either so it’s kind of like toned down version of that.  Not bad overall though.

4. Stand Up

I was starting to hope Show was gonig to bring something new to the table and with Stand Up, it’s got a heavier beat and more of an intriguing arrangement by being more edgy and gritty but also having some sense of light flair (with the flutes and the other Oriental instrumentation).  It’s a pretty nifty track even if he repeats ~stand up~ a bit too much and the dubstep breakodwn is empty as hell.  Overall, sweeeeet.

5. STILL

By the fifth track, I was hoping Show was going to give us something different than dance tracks and STILL was that change since unlike the previous four, this is a slower track in R&B.  At first I thought it sounded like it was a FLOWER cover, but no it’s similar but totally different lyrics.  I like how Show made the song a bit darker and kind of depressing but still positive.  Not bad for a ballad!

6. DANTE

The next two tracks are both A-sides (why they put them so close is beyond me but whatever).  DANTE comes first (since y’know…it’s his first single).  I still really like the song since it’s upbeat and kind of bright in its own light.  Plus it stands out amongst the other dance tracks like the first four tunes.  It’s just that good!

7. MAGIC

The other A-side though is still kind of underwhelming to me compared to “DANTE” for sure.  I don’t know why, but the song just doesn’t connect with me and I personally think it’s the weakest of the dance tracks.  I guess it can be charming since the lyrics are so fluffy and happy…I just don’t like it much.

8. Tarantula

Kind of fitting for something like Halloween, Tarantula is another dark dance track but I really found it to be one of the more cooler songs on the album.  It has a lot more power behind it and Show sounds SOOO good with this setting.  It’s definitely my favorite from the album (at least as in new songs go).

9. I Just Wanna Love You

It seems like “MAGIC” has a twin with I Just Wanna Love You because they kind of more of the bright danceable tunes on the album.  It’s a song that grows on you though because I actually really like this track too because it’s cute but also quite catchy.  Really good here and without the cheese factor!

10. See the same sky

Closing the album, See the same sky comes and takes out the dance beats from the previous tracks and just lays out this pop track.  For a closing track, it’s not bad, but it’s quite forgettable when compared to most of the tracks which is not good.  I think Show’s voice sounds nice enough but meeeh.

Tracks Recommended

  • DANTE
  • Tarantula
  • RUNNER
  • I Just Wanna Love You
  • Stand Up

Song of Avoidance

  • See the same sky

SHOW’s debut album in Japan and for the most part he really did well!  I can see him being a dance-heavy persona because he can really pull off those songs with flying colors, the slower tracks do take some time to get used to but it’s not bad.  The album though is so short though (could it have really killed him to include both B-sides since they were jsut as good if not better than most of these tracks).  Still THE SHOW is a pretty good debut!

 

Leave a Reply

