Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

MISIA – DEEPNESS November 8, 2012

Filed under: MISIA — solarblade @ 2:38 am

Track Listing

  1. DEEPNESS
  2. Koi Gram
  3. DEEPNESS (GOMI’S LAIR REMIX)
  4. HEAL THE WORLD (GOMI’S UNITY OF LOVE REMIX)

1. DEEPNESS

When I first heard DEEPNESS, I thought it was a pretty cool and dark ballad from MISIA and with her ballads, she always manages to impress me in some way with her soaring vocals.  For a ballad, this beats out “Koi wa Owaranai Zutto” by a long shot, but still is kind of underneath “Kioku” but I’m still quite happy with this A-side…it’s a really strong ballad ^_^

2. Koi Gram

The B-side isn’t as powerful of a song like “DEEPNESS” was but this is more of a song with beats and your normal R&B slow song stuff.  It does kind of remind me of something that could’ve easily been on “SOUL QUEST” but otherwise this song didn’t do much for me.  At least her voice is consistent enough ^_^

3. DEEPNESS (GOMI’S LAIR REMIX)

Getting into the remixes, DEEPNESS gets one and GOMI returns to remix as well.  I feel like I’m loving the remixes GOMI does since he tries to make the vocal melody work with the arrangement.  Turning the song from a ballad into more of a danceable track is quite awesome and I really found myself liking this more than the original version.

4. HEAL THE WORLD (GOMI’S UNITY OF LOVE REMIX)

Like with her last single, HEAL THE WORLD gets a remix but the original is from her cover album and that said it’s also a Michael Jackson cover at that.  In this remix, HEAL THE WORLD has a little bit of a reggae feel and less dance.  It’s a nice remix, but I don’t think reggae should be mixed with such a classic like this.

 

 

With another single coming out very soon, we get DEEPNESS first and this single is good if not slighlty better than her last single.  DEEPNESS is a much stronger ballad than “Koi wa Owaranai Zutto” ever was and that stood out to me.  Koi Gram is OK, nothing totally special.  As for the remixes, DEEPNESS is the better one while HEAL THE WORLD is good but strange.  I can only hope her next single does wonders.

 

Leave a Reply

