Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

EVANPONY – Just rock with me November 18, 2012

Filed under: Stereopony — solarblade @ 3:59 am

Track Listing

  1. Just rock with me
  2. Namida Nante Mishite Yannai

1. Just rock with me

So let me explain, EVANPONY is really just Stereopony with Evan Taubenfeld (a name familiar to Avril Lavigne fans as he used to be the lead guitarist).  So here we are with Just rock with me and I’m finding myself enjoying the song because it sounds like the band went for more of a punk feel ala Avril which is a cool mix of sounds.  Evan also has a little part of vocals (backup mostly) but he’s doing guitarwork.  AIMI sounds slightly different but there’s a reason for that which I’ll get to at the bottom of the review.  Overall, the song isn’t terrible, but the trio has done better.

2. Namida Nante Mishite Yannai

The good thing about the B-side is that we’re back down to just the three ladies and for a B-side, Namida Nante Mishite Yannai sounds like normal Stereopony which is great to hear and AIMI sounds like her older ways.  I really love that she showed her vocals a lot better here since I was wondering how she would do given her situation and all that.  The song has good flow and it sounds like a serious song with the mood and all.

 

 

As the first single under the name EVANPONY, Just rock with me is a good start…HOWEVER…things had changed up so quickly for Stereopony.  AIMI who had taken a break to get polyps surgery has called it quits and is leaving the band to SHIHO and NOHANA who said they will continue with Evan.  To me, I feel like they’ll both call it quits after a couple of more singles because AIMI did hold the group together…so it’s a sad single to listen to because it will be the final single for AIMI.  The single is good, though I like the B-side a lot more than the leading track. 

 

4 Responses to “EVANPONY – Just rock with me”

  1. Thank you for reviewing this single. I really love Stereopony, and it’s sad to see AIMI go. I’ve read that will go solo in the future, so I’m excited an curious what will be of her career.

    • solarblade Says:

      Yeah I’m curious as well with what AIMI will do with this solo career. As a guitarist she might be like YUI…but maybe she’ll surprise us…I’m more worried as to who will do lead vocals in EVANPONY…

  2. rsniteblaze Says:

    Just so you know, Stereopony is disbanding NOT as a result of AIMI’s surgery but because the band members’ goals changed after their experience from being away from each other for a month while AIMI rested.

    It seems like people are getting the wrong idea about what caused Stereopony to disband and are blaming it on AIMI’s surgery. But anyways, AIMI explains the matter in a blog entry, which has been translated at Very Good Days!

    http://forum.verygooddays.com/topic/4959150/1/

    • rsniteblaze Says:

      As for your comments on the two songs, I agree with you on everything 100%. While “Just rock with me” is pretty decent, I was honestly expecting something a little more like “Sk8r Boi” by Avril Lavigne.


Leave a Reply

