Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Chara – Cocoon November 20, 2012

Filed under: Chara — solarblade @ 4:18 am

Track Listing

  1. 18
  2. DADAAN
  3. Alterna Girlfriend
  4. Lita
  5. Kogarashi to Utau
  6. Waiting for You
  7. Planet
  8. Chouchou Musubi
  9. Itoshi Itoshi to Iu Kokoro
  10. Toku ni
  11. Cocoon
  12. Amaete yo (bonus track)

1. 18

The album opens up with 18 which is cool…but it’s a bit of a strange song since it kind of has this jazzy/reggae mix going plus with the intro with Chara under filters is strange.  There’s something about this song that’s kind of cute and unique for her…some of her tones is really gritty but I love the arrangement of the song and some of Chara’s singing isn’t too bad.

2. DADAAN

I feel like when I get into DADAAN, it’s like Chara is trying be a rocker chick and she kind of pulls it off but doesn’t as well.  The arrangement is kind of hazy and just a bit too filtered out to make it sound good.  Though I will say that hearing Chara trying to push her vocals as a rocker is a nice change of pace and she pulls that off.  I’m on the fence for this one.

3. Alterna Girlfriend

As the first single for the era, Alterna Girlfriend still is kind of also on the fence for me, but now it’s leaning towards more of the like side.  I’m surprised that it’s one of two tracks under 3 minutes (and yet it isn’t the shortest track).  I kind of like the sound of this track and Chara isn’t totally annoying as she has been in the past.  The chorus is still the worst part of the song…but it’s so short that it doesn’t really kill the song.  Not bad…

4. Lita

I’m kind of liking some of the electronic additions Chara has made concerning the album so far.  Lita starts off with some electronic bleeps but cuts it out for more of a pop/rock feel.  I’m actually enjoying this song since Chara’s voice isn’t a problem here…actually it’s kind of groovy in its own way.  Definitely a favorite off the album!

5. Kogarashi to Utau

Our next song begins with a clock ticking before this cute synth melody is added in.  There’s something mesmerizing about this song for some reason and I think it’s the whole Owl City-ish feel about the song.  I like how minimal everything is in this song…it just makes the song flow smoothly along.  There are some skectchy parts with Chara singing a little louder than she should but it’s a small discrepency.

6. Waiting for You

I’m surprised Chara actually sung in English for this track, but most of the time I feel like she’s babbling on and on with her strange vocals.  As for the arrangement, it’s got this kind of Beatles feel to it which is kind of just that simple rock feel.  It’s intriguing and something unique on the album, but otherwise it’s kind of forgetful.

7. Planet

As the album’s second single, Planet was a favorite of the singles, before “Chouchou Musubi” popped up!  Like “Alterna Girlfriend” it’s got such a unique sound to it and I’ve found myself liking the track for being so otherworldly.  I still do have moments where I squint because of her throaty and loud parts…but this is a really cool song otherwise.

8. Chouchou Musubi

Fitting to put the 3rd A-side after “Planet”.  As the only ballad that was released as an A-side, Chouchou Musubi is really soft and quiet and yet has this mysterious thing going on with the background knick-knacks.  Chara sounds really pleasant singing during the verses and the chorus is also softly sung as well.  It’s definitely the easiest A-side to take since she sounds really solid and doesn’t get catty…well one part…but it was like two words.  This is definitely growing on me and I consider it the best of the three A-sides released.

9. Itoshi Itoshi to Iu Kokoro

Back to the rest of the new tracks, Itoshi Itoshi to Iu Kokoro certainly fits coming after “Chouchou Musubi” because they’re both slower songs and both have good vocals (even though this one kind of has more risks going on),  This is actually quite calming and somewhat solid of a song (should’ve released this as a single to be honest),

10. Toku ni

I’m not sure why but Chara has been doing well on this album especially with the ballads here since they’re actually pretty good.  Toku ni though might be least favorite of them since the arrangement is incredibly bland and just has piano and Chara is kind of annoying in the song for some reason.  Sometimes simplicity, isn’t all that great….and in this case that’s true for Toku ni.

11. Cocoon

As the final and title track, looking at Cocoon’s time length is incredibly absurd.  Being over a little above 10 minutes, it’s like I’m dealing with another “Naive to Innocence” again!  I really wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into and from the intro it’s like a strange walk through nature and Chara😄.  I love the jazz/blues style for the song because I’ve always felt that Chara would work it better in this style.  A little after the halfway mark, the song shifts from the slow jazz into a rock song and that threw me off.  It’s not bad but Chara’s voice is kind of meh in many parts and the sudden shift felt like there was two seperate songs at play (I guess it could make sense since the song is called…Cocoon).

12. Amaete yo

The bonus track, Amaete yo is the shortest song off the album and this actually worked as the final track actually.  It’s really only Chara and acoustic guitar.  Unlike “Toku ni”, Amaete yo sounds really pleasant and she sounds actually good here for the oddest reasons xD. 

Tracks Recommended

  • Lita
  • Itoshi Itoshi to Iu Kokoro
  • Chouchou Musubi
  • Kogarashi to Utau
  • Planet

Song of Avoidance

  • Toku ni

WOW!  A Chara album that I don’t totally despise!  The sheer fact that Chara had joined Ki/oon is probably the main reason why this album was 100x better than “Utakata” and “Dark Candy” put together.  It was like Chara has some kind of mind explosion and she popped out Cocoon and it was actually good.  Granted, Chara still hasn’t grown on me in the vocal department, but the arrangements have won me over easily here.  Good job Chara, you’re not on my shitlist😄

 

One Response to “Chara – Cocoon”

  1. bladeblur Says:

    I thought you’d say something about the cover art, because honestly it is pretty ugly imo


Leave a Reply

