Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

PASSPO☆ – One World November 25, 2012

Filed under: PASSPO☆ — solarblade @ 5:02 am

Track Listing

  1. Departure
  2. Next Flight
  3. Final Vision
  4. Love Diary
  5. WING
  6. WANTED!!
  7. Natsuzora HANABI
  8. Kimi wa Boku wo Suki ni Naru
  9. 2DAYS
  10. Tap My Toe
  11. Pock☆Star
  12. Pink no Parachute
  13. Kimi’iro no Samba
  14. With XXXX
  15. Dear My Friends

1. Departure

Even though they have a single called “DEPARTURE” the group doesn’t legit have a track called that until now!  As it’s just the introduction to the album, Departure does really sound like something you would hear in an airport LOL.  The music is a mix of synths and guitars which is really what the album is about lol.  It’s a really cool intro actually and kicks things off on a good note!

2. Next Flight

Which continues with Next Flight which was the second A-side released here!  Before this song I wasn’t really sold on PASSPO☆ but when they announced the metal trilogy of singles, I was curious as to how the group would pull this off and Next Flight was badass and awesomeness jsut rolled up in one American Metal present!  The vocals were loud and full of energy and the arrangement was just as cool as well.  Definitely my favorite song from the group yet!

3. Final Vision

Our next two tracks are the first of 5 new songs on the album (yeah a little depressing when compared to “CHECK-IN”), Final Vision steps up to the plate first and I was kind of expecting something epic like “Next Flight” but the song is a bit to the books when it comes to PASSPO☆ songs out there. 

4. Love Diary

I guess the same could be said about Love Diary, but at least this one has a bit more attitude behind its execution!  I still will say that it does kind of have a certain “CHECK-IN” feel to it but I’m just loving the girls vocals in the song and this is pretty much idol rock done right, but I still prefer a couple songs above it lol.  Not bad!

5. WING

Moving onto the third of the trilogy and 4th A-side released, WING is about just as badass as “Next Flight” was so I immediately connected with the song since it stands out on the album for sure!  I’m not sure if it represented German Metal well because I don’t know much in the sense of the genre.  For what it is though, this is still pretty hardcore and PASSPO☆ sound good melodically oddly enough!  Another great track on the album!

6. WANTED!!

Another new track appearing on the album, WANTED!! to me sounds like it would’ve fit right after “Next Flight” because it has certain similar qualities about that both share.  I love the guitarwork and the aggressive nature is also a plus to listen to as it helps PASSPO☆ pull off some interesting tones like in “Love Diary”.  This is probably my favorite of the new tracks which is good!

7. Natsuzora HANABI

Released as the 3rd A-side and the second of the trilogy, Natsuzora HANABI represents as their Japanese Rock song which it kind of doesn’t make it unique since their sound was already cemented as such.  Maybe it does stand out because it’s energetic and all, but the song overall didn’t really impress me too much. 

8. Kimi wa Boku wo Suki ni Naru

Moving onto Kimi wa Boku wo Suki ni Naru (or the first single released in the era and is the outcast not being involved in the J-metal trilogy) it really doesn’t fit and it still remains as my least favorite of the singles.  I mean it fits on the album alongside the songs easily, but I don’t know there’s something about it that didn’t work.  It just sounds like “CHECK-IN” leftovers (which I have said before).  Blaaaaah

9. 2DAYS

I found it interesting that all the Handshake editions-only B-sides made the cut (which were only the trilogy singles, mind you).  2DAYS was from “WING” and I was most happy with that decision since it was my favorite B-side next to “RUIN”.  There’s just something about 2DAYS that ranks it up their with “WING” and “Next Flight”.  I think it has the American rock style down pat and it does somewhat sound like “Next Flight” as well.  Still, it’s a pretty well-handled track and one of the fun songs on the album…plus the verses are so cool!

10. Tap My Toe

Something about Tap My Toe just didn’t seem to work with me when I listened to it for the first time.  As I started listening to it more, I think it’s more of the vocals clashing that kind of pushed me away.  The song isn’t the powerful either which is a little strange, but some of the arrangement and chords were handled nicely!  It’s grown on me after the first time for sure, but there’s something missing here.

11. Pock☆Star

Our next track was the lone B-side off the Handshake edition of “Next Flight”.  From the single review, I’ve said this song is pretty standard for PASSPO☆ which still remains true for the album, but I feel like I’ve grown less fond of it because it’s rather plain and the vocals are kind of all over the place (even for PASSPO☆).  It could’ve been so much better!

12. Pink no Parachute

The same thing could be said about our next track as well (this being from “Natsuzora HANABI”), Pink no Parachute also has some problems but the song sounds almost a bit stiff and robotic which is a big difference from “Pock☆Star” being a bit weird.  Probably my least favorite of the tracks on the album, it just didn’t stick and the vocals were its weakest point.

13. Kimi’iro no Samba

It’s weird but our final new song off the album, Kimi’iro no Samba doesn’t seem to fit the albun at all because it has a unique style against the rest of the tracks with its Samba style which is nice to hear from the group and there is some light rock influences, but it just doesn’t fit the album (maybe it does, but the rest of the album tracks…it sticks out like a sore thumb).  It’s a fun song though, that I will say.

14. With XXXX

The last two tracks are actual B-sides (as in not Handshake only tracks).  With XXXX comes from “Kimi wa Boku wo Suki ni Naru” and honestly, I would’ve preferred “RUIN” from the single instead, but I can see why this song was chosen because it’s light and kind of poppy when compared to the rest of the album.  There’s not much to say about it, but it’s also slightly out of place on the album, but after “Kimi’iro no Samba”, this was a bit more like old PASSPO☆.

15. Dear My Friends

As the main B-side from “Natsuzora HANABI”, Dear My Friends was an appropriate way to close the album funny enough because it just has the ending quality to it and ends the album on a good note by being the energetic idol rock track.  Even though I didn’t find it very appealing on the single, it did grow, but I still think it’s like a SCANDAL song. 

Tracks Recommended

  • Next Flight
  • WING
  • WANTED!!
  • 2DAYS
  • Love Diary

Song of Avoidance

  • Pink no Parachute

First things first, I have to say that One World as a whole did SO MUCH better for PASSPO☆ than what “CHECK-IN” did.  I love that the group went with this heavier style and it worked for sure.  Of course a couple of problems were in the fact that really 1/3 of the album was new tracks so majority was old songs (though the Handshake edition songs were passed over by many in the singles).  Overall, it’s a major upgrade for them and I hope they continue to impress me with future releases!

 

Leave a Reply

