Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

UVERworld – THE ONE December 1, 2012

Filed under: UVERworld — solarblade @ 5:34 am

Track Listing

  1. THE ONE (SE)
  2. 7th Trigger
  3. Don’t Think. Feel
  4. LIMITLESS
  5. 23 Word
  6. KINJITO (LIVE intro ver.)
  7. THE OVER
  8. Koko Kara
  9. REVERSI
  10. Barbell ~Koutei no Atarashii Fuku album ver.~
  11. BABY BORN & GO
  12. AWAYOKUBA-Kiru (LIVE intro ver.)
  13. NOWHERE boy

1. THE ONE (SE)

The album opens up with a short intro and boy was it a bit random.  It starts with this woman ad-libbing before howling out ~UVERWWOOOOOOORLD~ and then a short synth passage with beats jump in and it just ends.  Like I said, random intro for sure!

2. 7th Trigger

At least the intro slides into 7th Trigger quite smoothly ^_^.  As the band’s 2nd A-side for the album, I still pretty much love the hell out of 7th Trigger!  It was back to form, none of the weird experimentation that UVERworld was doing with the saxophones.  Just TAKUYA and the rest of the band!  It was cool and just rockin’ on all accounts.  Though I still think the whistling is a bit out of place, but still this song was great!

3. Don’t Think. Feel

Going into our first new track, Don’t Think. Feel kind of feels like it’s wanting to be another “7th Trigger” because it has the same kind of idea going on in the arrangement but this is a bit random with the synthesizers.  It’s like this song is trying to be the “GOLD” of the album and I respect that choice since they seem to impress me with those kind of songs.  It’s not bad, but the electronic stuff could’ve been toned down a little bit.

4. LIMITLESS

Well, it seems the saxophones made a return with LIMITLESS which while I like hearing them, they seemed a bit out of place with how much electronics and acoustic guitar lines…it was a free-for-all for the band here which is meaning…it was a little bit messy.  I tried to enjoy this like I did with the previous track, but this was more annoying overall of a song.

5. 23 Word

It just seems to continue to be weird when 23 Word starts up.  At first with the intro, I was expecting another “LIMITLESS” but the arrangement shifts to a more mid-tempo affair.  I have to say that I like hearing TAKUYA doing some rapping against shakuhachis😄.  Also the saxes appear but they aren’t as bold as they were in the previous track either.  This is actually a pretty cool track to chill out to…it’s very laidback and turned out very nicely for the band!

6. KINJITO (LIVE intro ver.)

Moving onto the secondary A-side from the first single released, KINJITO got edited for the album, but it’s a minor switch (well it’s a lot different, but the song is really only a couple seconds longer than the original).  The thing that impressed me the most is that the intro is a lot cooler and less quiet with the extra synths added in.  The added synths give the track a bit more life and it seems I really liked the changes (despite loving the track anyways from before the album) this jumped above and beyond for me.  Great song!!!

7. THE OVER

I’m just surprised that something as bombastic like “KINJITO” is before something like THE OVER because they are polar opposites in styles.  As the final A-side before the album’s release, THE OVER might be serious, but it’s a nice track from them because it’s handled a lot better than older ballads of theirs.  Not much else I can say, but this is nice.

8. Koko Kara

LOL TAKUYA’s intro monologue is kind of hilarious😄.  This track at first sounds so experimentive because of the blowing and the kind of beat-boxing that was going on.  Beyond that, the song doesn’t really do much for me and the melody doesn’t stick onto to me very well.  Though when the strings solo section happens, it turns the song into a quirky little thing.  It’s different, I can admit to that, but it still doesn’t save the song entirely.

9. REVERSI

As the song that’s going to be re-released (the album’s re-cut single), REVERSI had a lot to impress me on since it’s tied to Ao no Exorcist (and I LOVE the music from series).  Hearing TAKUYA under filters was quite cool and then hearing a more synth-heavy background mixing it up with UVERworld’s sound is really epic.  This song just has a lot of elements in it and stood out on the album!  Even though I’m roughly reviewing it again in a couple of weeks, this song was a great choice to be re-cut!!!

10. Barbell ~Koutei no Atarashii Fuku album ver.~

I knew that when I reviewed “7th Trigger” this B-side would make the cut because of the title of the song from the single kind of preceded that it would somehow get a new version on THE ONE.  I loved the single version a whole lot and was curious to what would be brought on the album.  For the most part, Barbell doesn’t seem to have gone through any changes at all!  There probably is but they’re quite miniscule.  Still a pretty badass song and I’m ecstatic to see it on the album!

11. BABY BORN & GO

I don’t know why but BABY BORN & GO never really impressed me much (probably because I initially thought this and “KINJITO” belonged on “LIFE 6 SENSE” more than on the current album).  As time went by, I enjoyed the latter track a lot more and BABY BORN & GO kind of fell behind and stopped being impressive.  This song though does have the most saxophone lines which probably bothered me the most.  It’s good that UVERworld wants to go back to the Sangaku Road days…but this is not cutting it.

12. AWAYOKUBA-Kiru (LIVE intro ver.)

As the other B-side from “7th Trigger” appears, I was elated to see the entire single because it was such an amazing single from them!  Then I look at the changes made and the original which clocked in at 4:35 is now 7:39 on the album.  Given that the song is going by the live version, the biggest change is the intro which has a LONG strings passage before the song comes into fruition.  To be honest the 3:04 seconds of strings was totally unecessary and UVERworld could’ve easily made this a seperate track (like an interlude) because AWAYOKUBA-Kiru itself didn’t really change much on the album IF ANY AT ALL.  The song itself is pretty damn good with a piano-heavy instrumentation tagged with the band giving this elegant, but powerful feel.  If it wasn’t for that god long intro, this would’ve ranked a lot higher on the album for me, stick to the original B-side.

13. NOWHERE Boy

Finally, the album closes out with NOWHERE Boy, the final new track from the album.  After dealing with the long track beforehand, I was curious to what they were going to finish up with and NOWHERE Boy sounds just as laidback and chill like “23 Word” which is nice and all, but not what I was expecting UVERworld to close the album with.  Still it’s nice and not really blaaah.

Tracks Recommended

  • 7th Trigger
  • KINJITO (LIVE intro ver.)
  • Barbell ~Koutei no Atarashii Fuku album ver.~
  • REVERSI
  • 23 Word

Song of Avoidance

  • BABY BORN & GO

I’m not sure what to think, but this is definitely not THE ONE for UVERworld.  In a way, it felt like it was the total opposite to “LIFE 6 SENSE” where most of the album was experimenting with different things and styles.  THE ONE had a lot of winners which does make this better than said album but I think if they had handled some of the songs better (and got rid of the horrid long intro for AWAYOKUBA-Kiru), this album would’ve been a great one…but as it stands it’s good overall.

 

One Response to “UVERworld – THE ONE”

  1. aqua Says:

    heyy. thx for the review. i kinda agree with you. I realized lately UVERworld sounds differently, with all the synthesiser and all.. I love UVERworld, but I prefer the old UVERworld much better (1st-3rd album era).


Leave a Reply

