Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Shoujo Jidai – GIRLS’ GENERATION II ~Girls&Peace~ December 3, 2012

Filed under: Shoujo Jidai — solarblade @ 5:57 am

girlsgeneration2

Track Listing

  1. FLOWER POWER
  2. Animal
  3. I’m a Diamond
  4. Reflection
  5. Stay Girls
  6. T.O.P
  7. BOOMERANG
  8. Oh!
  9. ALL MY LOVE IS FOR YOU
  10. PAPARAZZI
  11. Girls & Peace
  12. Not Alone

1. FLOWER POWER

The album starts off with the 3rd A-side released for the era and I have somewhat started to slighly like it.  It’s still a pretty messy song and the lyrics are a bit sketchy, but FLOWER POWER does have some good parts throughout like the chorus.  Strange way to open the album up with, but it’s OK for now.

2. Animal

I guess we want to get through majority of the new tracks first huh?  Starting with Animal, I was mostly excited to listen to this song from the smash-up from the single preceding the album and this song is still quite impressive if not moreso because it has a cool beat and arrangement.  It’s definitely a memorable song for me.

3. I’m a Diamond

Something about our next track never really appealed to me during it’s short preview from the single.  I do like how they sampled that familiar melody that’s kind of played during deaths.  I feel like I’m a Diamond pushes the group into a new direction since it has that badass R&B kind of groove to it.  I like how aggressive it is, but the girls sound so…unattractive in it…and the chorus is a bit meh for me…

4. Reflection

Moving on to Reflection, I was initially kind of at a standstill with the preview of it, but it seems in full that the song is somewhat better than my initial thoughts.  It doesn’t strike as hard as “Animal” did but I can get behind this song even though it really is a song that stays on the same level the entire way. 

5. Stay Girls

As one of the three songs that didn’t have previews from the “FLOWER POWER” single, Stay Girls is kind of obvious to me why it wasn’t in the preview because unlike the other songs on the album, it’s one of the more slower tracks and I’m kind of enjoying it because the vocals have a lot more going for it than some of the previous tracks.  It does sound like something I would’ve came across on their first album so that’s pretty good.  I just love the vocals here!  Good song!

6. T.O.P

Our next track instantly reminded me of “I’m a Diamond” with the similar aggressive nature with the horns thrown in for kicks.  I guess it’s primarily the reason why I don’t enjoy the song very much which isn’t totally surprising but I don’t know, I’m probably going to need more time with it.  I’m just not really into hearing the girls chanting/speak-singing.

7. BOOMERANG

It seems that this track has been around for quite a while before the album’s announcement…hm…BOOMERANG is the album’s shortest dit at under 3 minutes.  It’s weird because this song actually sounds a tad weak and feels unfinished when compared to the other slick tunes off the album.  This is pretty damn weak of a song…why did they add this to the album anyway?

8. Oh!

So finally we get to the remaining A-sides to represent the album starting with Oh!  Y’know, it’s strange that it’s the only conversion song on the album (as in language edit from Korean to Japanese).  For being a pretty old song (EARLY 2010), Oh! actually stands out strongly on the album and strangely enough, it’s my favorite A-side from the era as well.  It really has their signature K-pop feel (which none of the other songs really have (or have little of).  It’s just really catchy and everyone sounds good and sexy too lol.  A little out of place for the album, but I love it nonetheless.

9. ALL MY LOVE IS FOR YOU

The sister A-side after “Oh!”, ALL MY LOVE IS FOR YOU is the slowest song on the album, but I think this was also a pretty good song for the album despite not bringing anything totally new to the table.  Similar to “Stay Girls”, it’s really more of a song to showcase the girls’ singing abilities and they shine here once again.  Of course they’ve got better ballads in their repetoire, but for this album, it’s a nicely done song. 

10. PAPARAZZI

When I dive back into the group’s first single for the era, PAPARAZZI really does sound like a T-ara song for some strange reason.  Not that I don’t mind because this song is kind of groovy and does try to stand out and it worked nicely even though it doesn’t really beat “Oh!” lol.  It’s a pretty catchy song though and was a great single to release after their first album.

11. Girls & Peace

Then we hit the title track and Girls & Peace has a pretty cool arrangement from the beginning and it’s the first evidence for me that auto-tune does a lot of work here.  It’s not terrible because it lightens up from it in the chorus which has a kind of nostalgic sound to it.  It’s a pretty cool song and is probably my favorite new song on the album.

12. Not Alone

The album finally comes to a close with Not Alone which is appropriate as it’s a ballad.  The vocals are filtered a smidge, but it’s a really smooth and pretty ballad from the group!  I like that it’s a little more dramatic than “ALL MY LOVE IS FOR YOU”.  I actually really liked this track for some reason and happy that it was the song that wrapped the album up in a bow LOL.

Tracks Recommended

  • Girls & Peace
  • Animal
  • Not Alone
  • Oh!
  • PAPARAZZI

Song of Avoidance

  • BOOMERANG

I was kind of worried about GGII when FLOWER POWER released because it just felt like this album wasn’t as strong as their debut and it’s true when I listened to the album in full.  It’s not a bad album, but this felt underwhelming comparing it to “GIRLS’ GENERATION”.  Even the great songs couldn’t match with the awesomeness that happened in their debut which is sad but true.  I don’t know, I guess I felt that they didn’t put in as much effort here which showed in some of the more experimentive tracks like I’m a Diamond, BOOMERANG, and T.O.P.  BTW, Oh! definitely does belong here, even if it’s a great song in its own right…it just felt strange as the only “Korean” song here. lol

 

Leave a Reply

