Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Mika Nakashima – Hatsukoi December 4, 2012

Filed under: Mika Nakashima — solarblade @ 4:33 am

hatsukoi

Track Listing

  1. Hatsukoi
  2. Kioku
  3. Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara -World’s End Ver.-
  4. Hatsukoi (Instrumental)

1. Hatsukoi

In recent times, I haven’t been the biggest fan of Mika’s ballads (simply because she was doing too many weak ones for me to really take notice).  She tries to interest me with Hatsukoi and somehow I feel like I really enjoyed the song despite that its really nothing much.  Though my biggest complaint is Mika herself because she’s singing in a higher register and she just can’t pull off those notes very well…it’s very thin and pitchy all in one.  I like the arrangement, but if I wanted that, I’d listen to the instrumental.  Mika’s vocalwork, is just icky here.

2. Kioku

I kind of hoped that the B-side would’ve been the upbeat song, but it seems that Kioku is the kind of holiday track Mika would release.  I don’t find the arrangement to be as intriguing as “Hatsukoi’s” for obvious reasons, but once again the fault here is Mika’s need to try for high notes that she can’t hit…It’s OK, but it’s definitely in the lower spectrum of her ballads that I enjoy.

3. Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara ~World End’s Ver.~

So the single ends off with a new version of Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara and for the changes it had, they were continuing to make the song sound very dark and haunting which I feel it succeeded in keeping with this new version.  The original had less sound whereas this new version filled the background with a haunting fluff that makes the song a bit more creepier?  I don’t know but this is really nice and it’s a toss-up to as whether I like this more than the original.

 

 

Closing out the “REAL” era, Hatsukoi is probably my least favorite of the four singles she’s released.  There’s just something about both Hatsukoi and Kioku that doesn’t seem to work well and this time I think it’s mostly Mika’s vocals that turned me off this time.  I mean she’s done songs with high notes, but none that annoyed me until now…The single only really was kept afloat by the new version of Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara since it’s creepy and cool and Mika sounds amazing in that.  With the album coming up I’m excited for the prospect of a bunch of new tracks (hopefully)!

 

Leave a Reply

