Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Ayumi Hamasaki – again December 6, 2012

Filed under: Ayumi Hamasaki — solarblade @ 9:13 am

again

Track Listing

  1. Wake me up
  2. Sweet scar
  3. snowy kiss
  4. Ivy
  5. Missing (Orchestra version)
  6. Melody (Acoustic Piano version)
  7. Wake me up (Remo-con rmx)
  8. snowy kiss (Shohei Matsumoto remix)
  9. Wake me up -Instrumental-
  10. Sweet scar -Instrumental-
  11. snowy kiss -Instrumental-
  12. Ivy -Instrumental-

1. Wake me up

Finally!  I’ve wanted something a little more edgy coming from Ayu and starting the mini off, the song has a pretty cool tone to it and I’m loving the rockin’ side as well.  Though, as I’ve mentioned back on “Love songs”, her voice is completely changing from what it used to be and I’m not sure why it sounds like a totally different thing but it feels like she’s finally found the comfortable tone to work in.  I was actually quite impressed and now she’s finally caught my eyes again after so many mehs.

2. Sweet scar

I was expecting a ballad to come next with a title as Sweet scar.  I’m still kind of apprehensive with Ayu’s recent ballads but this seems to have the same spark like some of the ballads from “Duty” and “RAINBOW” so coming into this, it’s a really nice track and hearing Ayu’s voice kind of sounding a bit more higher than usual is quite a nice treat.  I did want the song to build up to something powerful, but otherwise it’s a nice track.

3. snowy kiss

Since it is December and all, it’s fitting to see a song called snowy kiss on the mini.  At first I thought it was going to be a darker song with that beat in the intro but then it becomes this dance track and I’m just like OMG YES! There’s some energy behind this and this is a real pretty song and one of the more impressive songs (finally something that’s just as good as most of the songs from “Rock’n’Roll Circus”!).  Great song!

4. Ivy

Finally, the last original track is the lone song that doesn’t get a PV with Ivy.  It does feel like a song that came from “Love songs” as it’s got this pretty arrangement and kind of fits the feel of the album.  Ivy though does kind of grow on you, but the song is definitely the least memorable of the 4.

5. Missing (Orchestra version)

Next are the remixes and new versions starting with an orchestrated version of Missing (one of the songs from “LOVE”).  Missing, to me probably didn’t need to have this happen but I guess they did.  I mean it’s all basic strings and orchestral stuff now, but I still feel the same way I did with the original.  I guess I do like Ayu’s vocals more here, but I think I’ll stick with the original.

6. Melody (Acoustic Piano version)

As it’s essentially a piano version, I also felt like this was a bit unnecessary to have, but Ayu once again proves me that her vocals is a lot suited for songs with less instruments but at the same time can fit with more bombastic arrangements as well.  It’s a nice rendition I suppose.

7. Wake me up (Remo-con rmx)

So we get another remix from Remo-con, but it seems that Remo did a much better job with this remix this (his?) previous remix…though he’s obtained the dubstep bug and at least this sounds a bit more interesting than the Dubscribe mix off the last mini-album.  It’s a pretty fun remix and it worked all over the place…way to go!

8. snowy kiss (Shohei Matsumoto remix)

I know Ayu worked with Shohei before in another remix (though where I don’t recall).  His remix of snowy kiss is really synth-heavy which is really awesome because it sounds a lot more cluh-friendly and the melody of the synths are awesomes!  Though it also has got the dubstep bug and it’s a tad more annoying but it’s not a songbreaker for me since this is one of the better remixes she’s had in recent times!

 

 

Wow, I knew with “LOVE” it was kind of a stepping stone, but with again she’s really found her place again and I’m loving this direction!  Wake me up and snowy kiss are great tracks and I found that I will end up loving them both as I listen to them more.  Sweet scar is good, but a little anticlimatic…while Ivy is just kind of there.  As for the remixes…the Melody and Missing revisions weren’t necessary but I guess they’re all right and the Wake me up and snowy kiss remixes were actually really good even if both have dubstep in them…Great release overall!

 

One Response to “Ayumi Hamasaki – again”

  1. rk_kzy_223 Says:

    I love this mini! Really love it!

    Every brand new songs just great. My favorite is snowy kiss and then Wake me up. Sweet scar reminds me with fated and I love fated more. Yes, Ivy is so fit Love songs.


Leave a Reply

