Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

fripSide – Decade December 6, 2012

Filed under: fripSide — solarblade @ 8:17 am

decadefrip

Track Listing

  1. Decade
  2. way to answer
  3. fortissimo -the ultimate crisis-
  4. come to mind (version3)
  5. Heaven is a Place on Earth
  6. fortissino -from insanity affection-
  7. grievous distance
  8. whitebird
  9. a silent voice
  10. message (version2)
  11. re:ceptivity
  12. infinite orbit
  13. endless memory ~refrain as Da Capo~

1. Decade

I’m surprised fripSide decided to open the album up with the longest track at over 7 minutes.  Though as I’ve learned through some researching, this song is a duet between Yoshino and nao (the previous lead singer for fripSide).  That excited me a lot to hear both in one song!  I’m a little surprised at how similar both vocalists are to each other x.x.  You can tell them apart, but you have to try hard!  I think this song also had a pretty catchy chorus as well.  I do enjoy the song, but it is a tad bit long but it definitely kicked the album off on a real good note!

2. way to answer

Moving onto the singles, way to answer was the second and final single released before the album and the intro with Yoshino reminds me of well some of “Decade”.  At the same time, this song was definitely such an upgrade after how bored I was of “infinite synthesis” and the single after was so hearing guitars and an edgier approach was such a breath of fresh air!  It’s definitely one of the album’s shiners even though we’ve known it for a while!

3. fortissimo -the ultimate crisis-

Wait? What is the B-side from “future gazer” doing on THIS album?  It’s a bit strange but seeing as I loved this song on the single and was clearly sour it was passed up on the previous album, it’s a welcomed addition to Decade.  I do think nowadays it sounds more like something that should’ve been on “infinite synthesis”, but then I’m like…the album was boring as it is…no point in adding salt to the wound LOL.

4. come to mind (version3)

So the album also includes some self-covers (though it’s Yoshino covering it instead of nao).  come to mind is originally from fripSide’s first album, “1st odyssey of fripSide”.  Now I have never heard the original from nao but Yoshino’s take isn’t a bad track because it has a totally different feel then their previous efforts and I love sat’s arrangement and it really has a certain nostalgic feel (plus Yoshino sounds surprisingly well!).  I’d say this is a good cover, but I’m not sure how older fans feel….

5. Heaven is a Place on Earth

Moving to the era’s first A-side, Heaven is a Place on Earth is kind of forgettable on the album since it doesn’t have the same punch as many of the songs here do.  I did say that after the last album, this song was a small nudge up, but I also feel like it’s not anything special either.

6. fortissimo -from insanity affection-

Wait?  Another fortissimo on the album?  Well it seems like it doesn’t take too much from the other fortissimo much so this stands on its own and isn’t just a mere clone.  Though it’s about as exciting as it because it’s not as edgy but it also reminds me of “only my railgun” which is pretty much the standard for me.  Though when it goes in its mid-8 section and it’s a whole lot better…I wished it was a bit more stronger like how that section was…

7. grievous distance

Then we get into new songs that we haven’t heard of with grievous distance.  I like how immediate we get into the song with Yoshino singing the chorus (which is a bit lifeless).  We’re back to the whole typical sat production but with more guitars, like “way to answer” but the song isn’t very exciting.

8. whitebird

I kind of guessed that whitebird would be the album’s ballad and I was quite correct since it’s really Yoshino and a really light piano arrangement.  After all the synths and guitars, it’s a really nice song to calm things down (if only for a little bit).  I really like Yoshino’s vocals in the song and the song does grow into a mid-tempo track with added percussion. 

9. a silent voice

I liked how a silent voice came after “whitebird” because this has the same thing going but less ballady and more like a cutesy pop song with Yoshino singing in a higher pitch before the verses lower her down a bit.  It’s definitely the happiest song I’ve heard from fripSide since I’ve started reviewing them and I quite like the song ^_^

10. message (version2)

So we move back down to a ballad with the second self-cover, this one from “2nd fragment of fripSide” and it’s kind of surprising since this could’ve worked before “whitebird”.  I don’t know though, message isn’t really that great or memorable of a song to me. 

11. re:ceptivity

I was pleasantly surprised to see that nao had managed to get herself a song on this album and for good reason!  This song picks us up after the softer track and brings us back to more synth-heavy stuff.  At first, I didn’t notice this was nao because her voice here sounds a lot like Yoshino’s voice!  It has a bit more oomph than many of the other upbeat songs on here, but nao doesn’t sound all that enthusiastic.  Though it’s not a bad song and this will probably grow on me quickly.

12. infinite orbit

Yoshino returns for infinite orbit and it’s a lot like the previous track which is no surprise there!  She also suffers from the boring tone in her voice but I think my favorite thing about the song is the arrangement because it mixes guitars. piano. and sytnhs for a pleasant experience…though it’s ranked equally side to side with “re:ceptivity”.

13. endless memory ~refrain as Da Capo~

Ending the album, endless memory comes in and I thought we were dealing with a ballad which would’ve been nice, but we ended up with a mid-tempo track that really felt like “infinite synthesis” since it really didn’t stand out to me and Yoshino wasn’t as good vocally as she usually is.  Kind of a blah way to end the album.

Tracks Recommended

  • way to answer
  • a silent voice
  • Decade
  • whitebird
  • fortissimo -the ultimate crisis-

Song of Avoidance

  • message (version2)

As this is fripSide’s second album with Yoshino, I have to say this is a good step above what I thought of “infinite synthesis”.  There was just a lot more variety of arrangements here and that was the biggest problem with the previous album.  They sort of fixed it by throwing songs like whitebird and a silient voice, but still had some weak links to the album.  Also it was really nice to see nao again and maybe she can do more in the future like what she did here!

 

Leave a Reply

