Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Kaela Kimura – Sync December 20, 2012

Filed under: Kaela Kimura — solarblade @ 9:39 pm

sync

Track Listing

  1. Mamireru
  2. HERO
  3. Sun shower
  4. coffee
  5. Hello, Goodbye
  6. sorry
  7. MY WAY
  8. Synchronicity
  9. so i
  10. Merry Go Round
  11. Cherry Blossom
  12. WONDER Volt

1. Mamireru

I’m quite unsure why Kaela chose to begin the album with Mamireru (though considering it was the firs A-side, makes sort of sense).  I’m still kind of on the fence because while I like this experimentive technopop song, that whole ~hey, lets roll and hey let’s go~ is just a bit abrasive, but the rest of the song is really catchy.  It’s slightly grown on me, but it still can be a nuisance when it wants to be.

2. HERO

At least we can really start the album off with HERO which takes out the electronic-ness from the first track and gave us this kind of Katy Perry-ish pop/rock track which really suits Kaela for some reason.  The chorus is really pretty though and I’m loving the mood of the song (even if it’s slighlty like “Teenage Dream”).  This is what I thought started the album!

3. Sun shower

Moving into the only other A-side released for the album, Sun shower was a total 180 after “Mamireru” because this song was a MUCH lighter affair.  It’s a pleasant track and I love when Kaela kind of pulls these kind of songs as they are sung strongly and has that great charm.  Still this is one of the better songs from Kaela ^_^

4. coffee

This cute and charming side of Kaela continues with coffee and it has a really interesting tone to it as being the more floaty and breezy track when compared to “Sun shower”.  I’m just loving the clapping, the acoustic guitars, and the other nuances of the song.  It just sailed very smoothly and I loved the journey ^_^

5. Hello, Goodbye

I would’ve loved if Kaela had chosen “BMX” over this because this was a pretty ugh cover to listen to and really just doesn’t have a place on this album (if there was a better place, it’d be after “HERO”).  Being a cover of that famous song from The Beatles, Kaela’s take is just kind of a mess and I’m not sure if I really enjoyed how they worked her voice in the song.  Plus, all that banjo-work and derpyness is really annoying…ugh this cover has gotten worse from reviewing it from the single it came from.

6. sorry

As the remaining songs on the album are entirely new, I was curious to as how the new tracks fared.  sorry is quite peppy and has a certain 80’s pop tone and I’m all kinds of nostalgic for that kind of music.  This is a pretty fun song to listen to, especially that boppy chorus…I was just loving the mood and bounce, and Kaela sounded really nice!

7. MY WAY

I guess to make up for “BMX” being absent, we get our rock song in the form of MY WAY and this isn’t a bad track, but it’s a little strange coming after “sorry”.  I just love her versatility on this album so far because she seems to really suit whatever she’s thrown into.  There’s even some keyboard which does make the switch from the previous track slightly easier.  I actually really enjoyed this song a lot!  One of the album’s shining moments!

8. Synchronicity

I feel like Kaela was going for a SCANDAL-like tone for the next track on the album and while I liked the energy Kaela put in the song, the guitarwork felt a bit shoddy and fluffy and some of the arrangement is a bit all over the place.  I suppose this would make a great live performance because it demands a lot of power and energy to pull it off, but the song does sound quite messy.

9. so i

I wasn’t expecting for Kaela to switch back into electronic mode with so i and it did rather throw me off with that wavy synth line.  I’m really happy though that Kaela went into electro mode for this song because it really edgy and Kaela luckily passed up the auto-tuning so this coming together is a really nice change of pace.  Well, she does have it going in the chorus, but it’s done really well.  It might be one of the more vague songs on the album, but it’s catchy and really fun…and the PV teaser is WTF win!

10. Merry Go Round

Keeping up with the quirky Kaela, Merry Go Round (can we stop using this title?) isn’t as heavy as the previous track, but this kind of has a similar edge like “Synchronicity” had but this has a bit more control and I actually like this bck and forth with the heavy chorus and the factory-ish setting of the verses.  Yeah, it’s a bit bipolar, but the song isn’t too bad.

11. Cherry Blossom

Ahhh, a starbucks song comes next…yeah the charming Cherry Blossom is really cute and I’m loving the ~churi-churi-choo-choo~ lines a lot for some reason.  I also found myself loving the band used in this song as they gave this loungy/jazzy feel to the song.  It’s really interesting song and stands out on the album in a good way! 

12. WONDER Volt

I never understood why Kaela would end Sync with this tune which was made for the Japanese release of Frankenweenie (which BTW was such a good movie!).  Anyways, WONDER Volt doesn’t fit the album because it’s darker tinge and overall feel just didn’t make sense (it would’ve worked if it had been on “8EIGHT8”.  Singularly, WONDER Volt is such a cool song and one of Kaela’s most daring tracks to date.  I love the whole dark laboratory feel and the song is just a wondorous track…one of my favorites, skip it…my favorite on the album!

Tracks Recommended

  • WONDER Volt
  • so i
  • coffee
  • MY WAY
  • Cherry Blossom

Song of Avoidance

  • Hello, Goodbye

Wow, for being not too impressed with the singles, Kaela released a REALLY solid album with Sync.  There was seriously only two songs that I wasn’t really enthusiastic over which were The Beatles’ cover and Synchronicity.  The rest of the album was just REALLY good and after “8EIGHT8”, this was a giant leap for her IMO…none of the songs were boring and Kaela brought some of her more unique compositions to light…yeah one of the bests of the year *RECOMMENDED*

 

One Response to “Kaela Kimura – Sync”

  1. rk_kzy_223 Says:

    I think you should make a tag for recommended single/album.


Leave a Reply

