Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Shiritsu Ebisu Chuugaku – Ume January 19, 2013

Filed under: Shiritsu Ebisu Chuugaku — solarblade @ 5:01 am

ume

Track Listing

  1. Ume
  2. Ganbatteru Tochuu
  3. Odoru Gariben Chuugakusei (Regular only)
  4. Pakuchi (Limited A only)
  5. Daisuki da yo (Limited B only)
  6. Ume (Less Vocal)
  7. Ganbatteru Tochuu (Less Vocal)
  8. Odoru Gariben Chuugakusei (Less Vocal)
  9. Pakuchi (Less Vocal)
  10. Daisuki da yo (Less Vocal)

1. Ume

After the excitement of their last single, Ebichu returns with Ume and I’m kind of surprised that they slightly toned things down for this.  It’s still quick-paced for the group but they also tackled the cute genre quite nicely.  It still has a lot of randomness to be found which shows they’re consistent.  It’s a bit safe, but I still enjoyed this more than “Karikeiyaku no Cinderella” and a bit less than “Go! Go! Here We Go! Rock Lee”. 

2. Ganbatteru Tochuu

The B-side found on all editions, Ganbatteru Tochuu sounds kind of like the normal idol-sound to me because it’s that whole sentimental mid-tempo track.  I’m starting to notice certain voices in the group and there’s some pretty good ones, but there’s some pretty bad ones as well as heard through the song.  I don’t know…I feel as if this was just generally tacked onto the single because it needed to be there.  It just wasn’t up to snuff.

3. Odoru Gariben Chuugakusei

I’m curious to why this single so far has been nothing but the group kind of playing it safe x.x  On the regular edition, we get Odoru Gariben Chuugakusei and even though this is a lot more cuter than the previous tracks, the distance between the good vocalists and the squeaky young’n’s are pretty wide and creates a riff of where I love the deeper vocals by a BIG shot.  I do like the synths solo but I have to get to it after such high and sharp vocals from the poor singers…ugh…not my kind of song!

4. Pakuchi

I hope I’m not the only that thought of Pikachu at first (since you can move the vowels around to spell it!).  This song has a bit more flash going for it because the arrangement is a bit quicker and the members are really trying to rap and throw something new and I have to say that I love the randomness out of this.  It reminds me of “Hobo Brazil” off their last single because the younger members play a bigger role.  Plus the ~pakuchi~ hook is ridiculously cool.  Love it and is probably my favorite from the single!

5. Daisuki da yo

I kind of figured the last song would’ve been a rather softer track.  What I wasn’t expecting though was the song to be one of their simplest tracks yet since it kind of has the basic acoustic guitar/piano/drums arrangement for it.  Kind of basic so it’s not very impressive to me, nor the voices chosen for the song were good (sans a couple)…still kind of plain.

 

 

Wow, after the fun and enjoyable time I had with their last single, Ume comes as a crashing wall for me.  I felt that 4/5 tracks on this single were playing it too safely and with that they became a bit plain and kind of boring in areas.  The only song I can remember clearly was Pakuchi since it had that Ebichu randomness and was surprisingly catchy AND well made…sadly, it wasn’t enough to make the single work for me.

 

Leave a Reply

