Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Satsuki – LUMINOUS January 23, 2013

Filed under: Satsuki — solarblade @ 3:45 am

LUMINOUS jacket

Track Listing

  1. TWILIGHT
  2. DETERMINATION
  3. ROMANCE
  4. FATE
  5. AVEC LE TEMPS…
  6. INSIDE
  7. NVN
  8. MALACHITE
  9. AFTER GLOW
  10. IN A LUCID DREAM
  11. SYMPATHY

1. TWILIGHT

I thought opening the album up with TWILIGHT was a pretty interesting decision because it’s not what I was expecting.  At first glance it does kind of sound a bit weird with Satsuki under filters and the arrangement being mid-tempo and a bit empty.  After he sings the first couple of lines in the verses, the song gains a stronger backbone, but not enough to reach awesome status.  Odd way to open the album up.

2. DETERMINATION

I think the album really starts off with DETERMINATION since it’s a bit more true to Satsuki’s sound since he went solo and it’s pretty consistent of a track.  Add that it has a pretty awesome guitar riff and style.  I also felt like Satsuki himself a lot more stronger and into the song than he was in “TWILIGHT”.  Great song overall and one of the early favorites.

3. ROMANCE

So we enter our first of the previously reviewed songs with ROMANCE (which I think now was a digital release?) .  Whatever it was, I still am not too big of a fan of this track because while it has the same energy behind it like “DETERMINATION”, the song is a little more poppy and happy which is kind of strange when it comes to someone like Satsuki.  Add some questionable disc scratching in the middle 8…and it’s just a confusing and a little to the books for me.

4. FATE

So it seems that only two of the three physical singles made the album…(kind of sad that “INNOCENT” didn’t make the cut), FATE was the primary A-side of the second single of the era and boy did FATE impress me!  I’ve said that I loved RENTRER EN SOI’s stuff when they were still together and FATE kind of brought me back to their sound and it sounds incredible.  Mind you, Satsuki is under heavy filters at first, but when he breaks through it, it’s amazing and powerful!  It’s just a heavy-hitting song and really makes up for “ROMANCE”.

5. AVEC LE TEMPS…

Is that Latin?  *shrugs*, it seems like after the powerful “FATE”, AVEC LE TEMPS… starts off surprisingly quiet and grows when Satsuki comes in and wow, I’m just like impressed with his vocals here a lot since he has room to hit a wide array of notes.  Sadly when the chorus comes in, it becomes a lot like “TWILIGHT” when I feel it’s a bit lifeless and needed a boost of speed.  Suffice to say this is a bit disappointing and it kind of doesn’t fit after “FATE” either >.>

6. INSIDE

So the sister A-side to “FATE”, INSIDE was just as amazing because it was so dramatic and powerful and I’m a little saddened to have “AVEC LE TEMPS…” kind of break that connection because I personally feel this and “FATE” belong next to each other.  I’m just love the piano and guitars and Satsuki altogether like this.  Take out the slight disc scratching part and we got a perfect track!

7. NVN

Back into some new tracks, NVN kind of takes an interesting turn because this song sounds like a bit more punk/metal with little traces of V-kei.  It’s different which is something I kind of liked about the track, but it feel like it wants to reach to peak of pure rage and awesomeness but doesn’t quite make it?  I don’t know, it’s a solid track and all…but it could’ve been better.

8. MALACHITE

The shortest track and loudest track on the album, MALACHITE really comes out of nowhere for me with a furious arrangement and speedy tempo.  Unlike “NVN”, this is kind of what I expected said track would’ve been like.  Like “FATE” the song brings the filters back and the arrangement this time included strings.  For a song that’s only 2 and a half minites long, it sure made its mark on the album.  I’m still unsure where I sit with the song, but it wasn’t bad…just unexpected.

9. AFTER GLOW

Then we enter this song and I wasn’t expecting something so unique.  I mean it still has guitarwork and such, but there’s now synths.  It’s like “ROMANCE” done right because I kind of like this happier side of his music (even if it really doesn’t fit majority of the album’s sound).  I might be the only person that will like this song, but if it was an A-side this would’ve been great too lol.

10. IN A LUCID DREAM

I almost didn’t notice that I had reviewed this a long time ago! (it was a B-side from Satsuki’s debut single, “AWAKE”).  Obviously since there’s been nearly a 5 year gap, IN A LUCID DREAM has gotten updated.  The length of the track has nearly doubled and the arrangement has a bit more going for it.  The song itself doesn’t feel as if I’m listening to Satsuki ad-libbing for most of it (although he still sings at a higher pitch which might be strange to newcomers, but I’m used to this back in the days.  I love the haunting melody though and for all the changes it went through, there was nothing bad…a much needed upgrade (though one I wouldn’t have seen coming a mile away).

11. SYMPATHY

I will never understand why Satsuki would end the album with SYMPATHY because this song is probably the most basic track of his.  I mean there are the lyrics that might be the point, but the arrangement sounds a lot like “AWAKE”, “CRYSTAL”, and “ROMANCE” which really meant that this song did not do anything for me!  I would’ve rather had “INNOCENT” close the album than this one meeeh.

Tracks Recommended

  • INSIDE
  • FATE
  • IN A LUCID DREAM
  • DETERMINATION
  • AFTER GLOW

Song of Avoidance

  • SYMPATHY

Took him long enough, but Satsuki finally releases his first album!  LUMINOUS is OK overall, there were some amazing tracks and some really boring ones so they kind of evened out to this average level.  I feel like he does have moments of brilliance like the top 3 tracks I loved from this album, but when he doesn’t have it…it’s quite obvious.  Not bad, hope it doesn’t take 5 years for a full album…

 

Leave a Reply

