Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Haruka Tomatsu – Sunny Side Story February 5, 2013

Filed under: Haruka Tomatsu — solarblade @ 2:56 pm

sunnysidestory

Track Listing

  1. RUN
  2. Q&A Recital!
  3. Nagisa no SHOOTING STAR
  4. ♪Make Up Sweet Girl☆
  5. Baby Baby Love
  6. Yasashiki Hibi
  7. Mirai Girl
  8. Issai Gassai
  9. Hoshi no Stage
  10. Yume Sekai
  11. Oh My God♥
  12. STAGE
  13. Ashita Iro Parasol

1. RUN

Opening up the album, RUN kicks it off on a very bright and lively note with that cool brass intro before moving into something a bit more tame and Haruka-typical.  I kind of liked what I heard from this song and Haruka does sound really into it as well which together gave me a good intro feel…good way to start things off!

2. Q&A Recital!

Though quickly looking at the tracklist, I’m quite taken aback on how this album is filled with old songs >.<.  Starting with the last single that was released before the album, Q&A Recital! is a pretty good follow-up after “RUN” as it includes more brass and even has a brighter tone when compared as well.  I will say that the song has slightly grown on me because of the energy she’s putting out and spazzy arrangement.  Still not the best she’s released but it’s not bad at all!

3. Nagisa no SHOOTING STAR

To me it made sense that they’d put the first single to be released after her debut album right after the most recent.  It’s been a while, but I still really don’t like the song much even after all the time has passed.  It might just be me but the track sounds so elementary and plain and Haruka doesn’t sound all that good here (which is a surprise coming off those last two tracks).  It’s definitely my least favorite of the A-sides released.

4. ♪Make Up Sweet Girl☆

At least she makes up for it with our next new track out of 5.  I’ve been kind of wondering when she would pulled something a little more synth-based and ♪Make Up Sweet Girl☆ kind of fits that slot, but not heavily so.  It’s still a pretty cute song, but it’s not like the others…a little more tame I suppose haha.  I kind of like this track, but I don’t know why hahaha.

5. Baby Baby Love

I suppose it was smart to move this track away from the beginning, because it would’ve sound so bland and vanilla that it wouldn’t stand out.  As the second A-side released for the album, Baby Baby Love is still somewhere in the middle for me because it suffers the same plain vibe as “Nagisa no SHOOTING STAR” but the song is kind of adorable in its own right.  Especially that chorus, I really liked that!

6. Yasashiki Hibi

Funny that the B-side from “Baby Baby Love” is once again the track after!  I found the fact that it slows the album down a bit a nice change of pace for sure and this track did a solid job of showing off Haruka’s vocals.  I can’t say if it’s the best ballad she’s done yet, but I liked this track a lot and suited to be right after the last track!

7. Mirai Girl

Once again, smart choice to have the next new track, Mirai Girl come after as it’s still retains a certain lightness about it but isn’t a ballad unlike “Yasashiki Hibi”.  I did notice though that Haruka is singing under filters the entire time so it’s a bit odd in that respect.  I do love that it sounds like a perfect Springtime kind of song.

8. Issai Gassai

If there was a song that I considered a bit too random for the album, it would have to be the B-side from “Yume Sekai”, Issai Gassai.  I mean it has the same brassy energy of “RUN”, but the song just goes in so many different directions and has joyful kind of tone.  I quite enjoy it though since I still finding myself humming along and just having a good time with this…it might not fit the album, but I liked that Haruka chose this.

9. Hoshi no Stage

I also thought Haruka made another great choice in adding the B-side from “Nagisa no SHOOTING STAR” too!  It has been quite a while since I’ve heard this song though so listening to it, I’m starting to question why I liked this because it’s a lot like a bunch of the songs on the album (even though technically it came first).  The intro does remind me of Momusu’s “The Matenrou Show” but has less impact lol.  Not bad, and honestly the 3 B-sides that made the cut…were the best of the 5 released.

10. Yume Sekai

Moving into the 4th A-side released and Yume Sekai was the ballad single for sure!  Even though this track does have anime written all over it, it’s quite nice and flows smoothly throughout the entire song.  It might have not grown on me as much as I thought it would after the single review, but it’s passable.

11. Oh My God♥

Then we finally finish the old stuff with the 3rd A-side.  It’s funny because I also felt like this song didn’t seem to fit the album either because it’s the only track that I can classify as pop/rock (or at least I thought).  Oh My God♥ has slightly grown on my just because it is a fun rock song to listen to.  Plus Haruka does do a better job overall singing, but there are some weak notes for sure.  So I guess in a way it did grow better than before.

12. STAGE

I’m happy the remainder of the album is new tracks but only two? lol.  STAGE kind of takes the electric guitars from the last track and placed it in more of a mellow arrangement.  I do think “Yasashiki Hibi” is still the better ballad of the album because STAGE kind of moves a bit too slowly for my tastes.

13. Ashita Iro Parasol

The final song though mirrors the pop/rock genre “Oh My God♥” did with a bright pop/punk rock feel.  It’s actually got a cool melody and I can remember a lot of it more than the aforementioned track that’s for sure.  Haruka does a lot of shouting, but I feel like this song is strange as an ending to the album.  Still, a great song overall!

Tracks Recommended

  • Yasashiki Hibi
  • RUN
  • Ashita Iro Parasol
  • Issai Gassai
  • Mirai Girl

Song of Avoidance

  • Nagisa no SHOOTING STAR

With Sunny Side Story, I think Haruka (and her company) took way too long for this album to come out.  I know she’s a busy gal with being a seiyuu and working with sphere and all…but lord this took forever to come out.  Then we end up with most of the album being old stuff with is a bit of a bummer with only 5 new tracks to deal with.  Though this album wasn’t bad at all…I would go and say this is good…but not on the happier side…it’s more like in between just ok and good lol.  Hopefully Haruka can be quicker with her next album.

 

One Response to “Haruka Tomatsu – Sunny Side Story”

  1. This was the same problem for her first album, it was 5 singles to reach her album.
    But that’s how Lantis are managing the 4 sphere members.
    For example, it look too much for Minako for her album as well Aki.
    And just until now they did it for Ayahi Takagaki e.e

    I just bought this album, and is so great, i think from the new songs were great but the problem was that i wanted more, and I was grateful that Yasashiki Hibi was included ^_^


Leave a Reply

