Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

MONKEY MAJIK – If February 20, 2013

Filed under: MONKEY MAJIK — solarblade @ 10:24 pm

if

Track Listing

  1. If
  2. The Apprentice

1. If

I wasn’t sure what MOMAJIK were up to after “A Christmas Song” but it seems they’re returning with If and boy the fact that Maynard is leading the track has got me feeling quite happy.  The song itself is still kind of that sappy kind of feel, but this actually has some electric guitars and a bit more oomph than previous songs they’ve released.  I kind of really enjoyed this song for being a bit more progressive for the band and we had got something besides a mid-tempo kind of track.

2. The Apprentice

So I assumed that since the A-side was Maynard-heavy, Blaise took up the B-side this time.  Also, it’s entirely in English which might be the smartest since they did release “ENGLISH BEST” and all that.  I kind of like this song as well since it’s quite like “If” but with more strings.  It’s pretty cool and Blaise actually made the song work (with Maynard singing the chorus).  Not bad!

After “A Christmas Song” I wasn’t exactly sure what was happening with MOMAJIK honestly, but with If they’re still doing pretty damn well for themselves.  I love that FINALLY we get a Maynard A-side and it turned out really awesomely for them.  The Apprentice also turned out pretty damn well and I’m surprised that this wasn’t a double A-side because both were just good representations of the band!  Good job!

 

23 Responses to “MONKEY MAJIK – If”

  1. ryusenkai Says:

    *wanders in* I was pretty happy with this single – more than I’ve been with Monkey Majik since Somewhere Out There (which I loved). Interested to see where they’ll go from here.

    • solarblade Says:

      Yeah, they’re doing pretty well for themselves ^_^

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Aye. Not to mention that I actually really like the cover for this single. Very … artistic.

        Oh, and I should probably say nice to meet you xD

      • solarblade Says:

        Oh ^_^ nice to meet you too! and I’m a sucker for artistic covers lol

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Yeah. Artistic and environmental covers are usually what do it for me – which is probably why I like a lot of Bump of Chicken’s more recent covers (I’m a big J pop-rock person).

      • solarblade Says:

        I haven’t checked of their covers out hahah I might have to lol

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Well, my avatar is one … as are these:

        They’ve just got a certain style to them.

      • solarblade Says:

        oooo prettyfuls❤

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Yeah. The Singer/Composer drew the second one – on the whole probably one of my favorite covers.

        Anywho, I suppose the easy first question, despite having followed this blog for some time, would be to ask who your favorite artists are.

      • solarblade Says:

        my all-time is Nami Tamaki….beyond that, I’d say Morning Musume, Perfume, AAA, Hitomi Shimatani, uhhh there’s definitely a lot more prolly haha

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Mmmm, I’ve a friend that really likes Nami Tamaki. When it comes to me … I can name Mr.Children, Bump of Chicken, HY, RADWIMPS, B’z, Southern All Stars, Sakanaction, Monkey Majik … there’s a lot more, but generally that type of artist.

      • solarblade Says:

        Ahhh, so the artsy rock type? That’s pretty awesome.

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Mmmm, I guess you could call it that. I’m big into lyrics actually mattering in the music I listen to (I look for translations, since I’m only partway through first year Japanese thus far), as well as artists who care deeply about their work. Those, and being able to perform strong lives, since I like to be able to listen to those as well.

        Western fanbases for these artists tend to be smaller, but most of the other people I’ve met that like them tend to be nice. So, it’s a fair trade-off.

      • solarblade Says:

        OH! that works too, yeah I know what ya mean a lot

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Yeah, I’ve been with J-music around 8 years now. Starting following the Oricon charts around 4 years ago, Digital Charts last year xD Though the charts are no end-all, since there are a lot of good groups that don’t chart at all.

        I am always glad to see a group that I like do well though.

      • solarblade Says:

        Definitely, I’ve been around prolly just as long blogging for nearly 5 years I think lol

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Eventually you just become the characteristic “old man with a cane” when you’ve been around long enough. 😛

        Since you’re a fan, I’m guessing that you’re probably excited for Morning Musume’s new single on April 17th (titled “Brain Kakumei”, I think). I’m very much not an idol person, but rumors of releases tend to reach my ears. xD

      • solarblade Says:

        LOL I’m already considered an old man from various friends that know the blog xD

        I’m actually more excited for the new unit that was announced. I will say that being as it’s Reina’s last single…I’m quite excited hahah

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Hehehe For the moment, I’m most excited for Bump of Chicken’s live DVD/Blu-ray (Their first, after 13-14 years in the industry), Sakanaction’s new album (They had my favorite album of 2011 on the whole), and I’m cautiously optimistic about the new EXILE single, though their past couple haven’t been the best.

        Oh! And the english solo project that Radwimps’ singer is doing (he’s releasing an album in the UK – and has oddly perfect english).

      • solarblade Says:

        there’s just a lot of stuff to be excited for eh? ^^

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Yeah. We’re finally starting to pull out of the New Year music slump. March and April are historically very good months for the J-music industry.

      • solarblade Says:

        YES!!!

        anyway, I g2g but if you want you can add me on fb ^_^ http://www.facebook.com/solarblade

      • ryusenkai Says:

        Alright! Nice talking to you!


Leave a Reply

