Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

Up Up Girls – First Album (Kakko Kari) February 26, 2013

Filed under: Up Up Girls — solarblade @ 9:01 pm

firstalbum

Track Listing

  1. overture (Kakko Kari)
  2. Ichiban Girls!
  3. Going my ↑
  4. UPPER ROCK
  5. Marvel Hero
  6. Barebare I LOVE YOU
  7. Mecha Kyun♡Summer ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ
  8. Yuudachi! Through the Rainbow
  9. Namen na! Ashi Girls
  10. Uppercut!
  11. End Of The Season
  12. Cyalume
  13. Uppercut! (super combo Remix)
  14. UPPER ROCK (ScreeeeeeaMix)
  15. PandaBoY DJ Mix

1. overture (Kakko Kari)

Opening the album up is an introduction and yes it has been used in lives.  overture has a pretty awesome arrangement of guitars and the melody is BANGING.  However, the only things the girls do is repeat the group’s name over and over and introduce themselves.  It’s a pretty cool track though, but damn this would’ve been awesome as a full song with lyrics.

2. Ichiban Girls!

I’m surprised the group decided to put the secondary A-side from their 7th single (which was the last to represent the album).  I do think it does a good job making how energetic this album will be because it is a VERY frenetic song.  It’s so loud and wild and most of the time, the music does cover the girls.  This song is kind of grating though because it’s so loud and everything is just messy.  Yeah, not a big fan of this.

3. Going my ↑

At least with this song, there’s more of controlled chaos to be found here.  This is the group’s debut song and today it still sounds really refreshing on this album.  It’s fun and the vocals are great to hear especially since all the members have lines and such (with Akari and Minami getting the most, I suppose since they’re the most well-known members).  The energy is a lot more easier to take than “Ichiban Girls!”.

4. UPPER ROCK

On the other hand, we move for their first song to their most recent song with UPPER ROCK.  You know it’s bad when this is the song that basically solidified my love of the group!  I’m a big sucker for electro-idol songs and this was a jam and a half!  It was heavy, the girls sound great and the energy from them really excited me (plus when they perform this, it’s AMAZING).  This really is their most unique song to date and I really love it!  It’s just something I hope UUG will do more of in the future.

5. Marvel Hero

Unlike the electro goodness, Marvel Hero is synthy too, but it’s more poppy and techno sparkly which is cool in a way.  In a strange way this song has slightly grown on me, but the song is still kind of underwhelming than most of the A-sides here.  I kind of like the song though since it’s sparkly and just a lot of fun…

6. Barebare I LOVE YOU

Before “UPPER ROCK” came around, Barebare I LOVE YOU was hands down my favorite A-side from the group and it’s understandable because it’s kind of like “Maji Desu ka Ska!” in it’s groove and flow.  That opening line is like such an earworm for me and it’s all over the place in the song too.  I also love that Azusa got to lead the song because she really put her all in this one and it’s great.  This was a great song for them for sure!

7. Mecha Kyun♡Summer ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

As the group’s 4th A-side, Mecha Kyun♡Summer ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ is a nice change of pace and slows the album slightly for this summery mid-tempo track.  I think for the group, this does a better job to show off the girls’ vocals, but I’m start to notice more that the group throws in the whole ~up up~ theme just a bit too much (I think most of the songs on the album do that >.>).  It’s not bad, but not very memorable either.

8. Yuudachi! Through the Rainbow

All I can think of when I listen to this song is how closely it reminds me of “Marvel Hero” because of it’s progressive synth idol pop sound.  Like I said in the single review, this song doesn’t have many solo lines (really Minami and Azusa have one while Akari has a big one in the second verse).  Yuudachi! also kind of fails alongside the previously mentioned track as it’s barely memorable to me and doesn’t have a strong chorus.  Oh well…

9. Namen na! Ashi Girls

Funny, of all the A-sides they’ve released, I barely remember Namen na!  Now going back and listening to the song now, I wonder why I didn’t like the song initially because this is kind of unique on the album with its mix of technopop and oriental themes…actually it could pass as a DDR song hahah.  It’s quirky and I really found myself loving this song or adding a more diverse track.

10. Uppercut!

Probably the group’s most recognizable song in lives, Uppercut! starts off slowly with some announcer and then becomes this dance track.  It’s got a bouncy arrangement and the chorus is nifty (and they kind of mentioned their first single in there too).  There isn’t any solo lines, but there are a lot of duo lines so that makes up for it.  Even though it’s a popular song amongst fans, I’m not the biggest fan of this track.

11. End Of The Season

The group’s 6th A-side comes next and I thought this song was another one of those odd dives into experimentation because there’s a lot of auto-tune present in this track.  It actually kind of sounds like it could be a Perfume song, but as I found out, it was produced by none other than RAM RIDER.  It’s an interesting song and the arrangement with including the steel drum is just strange but cool.  I’ve definitely grew to like it more nowadays and happy it’s on the album.

12. Cyalume

I’m surprised that only one B-side made the album lmfao!  Though to be fair, I’m happy it’s this song from “Mecha Kyun♡Summer ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ” that made the cut (even though “Rainbow” and “Beautiful Days!” are quite awesome too).  As the last original song on the album, this was a nice way to end it off because it’s so sparkly and cute!  Plus it’s another track that really lets the girls show off more of their vocal talent less so of their energy and dancing.  Good song for sure!

13. Uppercut! (super combo Remix)

Remixes?  Strange to be honest xD.  Well, I can’t argue too much because it’s something new on the album.  There’s some dubstep in the song but it’s not at Skrillex levels of atrociousness.  It does make the song slightly more danceable, but it’s still kind of forgetful (minus the bell dinging) hahahaha.

14. UPPER ROCK (ScreeeeeeaMix)

The other remix is for UPPER ROCK and I was wondering why it would have a remix when its original version might as well have been one hahah.  It has a lot of neat tricks up its sleeves and I loved the various buildups and strong electro arrangement.  There’s also some dubstep thrown in and a little ethereal stuff so it’s a very well thought out remix that makes it even more danceable.  So I quite liked this.

15. PandaBoY DJ Mix

The final track on the album is a medley done by PandaBoY who produced quite a number of songs for the group.  There’s a lot of songs to be found here and they all have different new quirks and arrangement changes so I found that to be good.  There’s I think 5 songs represented here not all of them I recognize because of all the new melodies and I haven’t really memorized the vocal melodies/lyrics except for “Going my ↑” and “Barebare I LOVE YOU”.  For a 14 minute medley, this was pretty cool!

Tracks Recommended

  • UPPER ROCK
  • Barebare I LOVE YOU
  • Cyalume
  • Namen na! Ashi Girls
  • Going my ↑

Song of Avoidance

  • Ichiban Girls!

Finally, UUG released their first album and I’m a little disappointed there was no new track lol.  Though most of the songs on the album were rather forgetful, but when they hit their good stride, it’s epic.  My only wish is that the group stop repping their group name in 90% of the songs…it’s just starting to wear thin for me.  Still, this album is good and since they’ve switched labels they can only go up.

 

Leave a Reply

